We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy accommodation for carnival city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Road Lodge Carnival City
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brakpan
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family for a night to visit carnival city. Its a reasonably priced hotel with good amneties.

They should put an elevator for easy access of rooms. Rooms were small and crammed. The views of the carnival city were nice.

The reception area is small and not cosy.



Would definitely stay there again. .. strangely

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank impudzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the review. We're glad to hear that you found our hotel to be reasonably priced. We will look into the issues that you have raised. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Rooms, beds and toilets should be physically accessible to wheelchair users. I think porter or reception clerks should be trained or made aware of guests using wheelchairs to be booked on a friendlier used or physically accessible rooms. The front entrance was also not accessible. I hope you'll improve these areas cause I am member of Disable People South Africa and I would love to recommend your place in future. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MlungisiM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for bringing this to our attention - we will look into this on your behalf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Its a great place for a weekday getaway from the city rush,stayed for just 1 night,Rooms are lovely and clean, friendly staff, service is abit slow at the breakfast area. Overall - we enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krupa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thanks for your review - we are chuffed that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed at the Carnival City Road Lodge with my spouse, for one night. The staff were very friendly and checking in was a breeze. We stayed in a non-smoking double room. Whilst the room was not big, it served its purpose as a quick place to rest our heads.

The room was spotless and we could see that attention is paid to cleanliness. The double bed was very comfortable and there was an additional sleeper chair, as well as an airconditioner. The room also had a wall mounted, small, flat screen tv.
The room got quite cold at night, as we were staying on the ground floor, but this didn't deter from the experience. There was also a vending machine and an ice machine which we had access to.
A great experience overall, I would recommend a stay here, for those that want comfort on a budget, or that just need to crash somewhere decent for a night or two.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

As we all know, the Road Lodge is aimed at the budget travel market and it achieves that purpose. The hotel is well kept, clean and the staff are friendly and curteous. Well pitched at the rate charged.

The breakfast was also average (no bacon :-) ) and there was enough to have, but the coffee machine makes horrible coffee. it was worth the price though, keeping in mind that competitors charge R160/p.

Critique would include the following: the shower and especially the toilet are really quite small - nothing can be done about that but it needs to be taken into account when planning a trip. I know it is a budget hotel, but no coffee?? Really! There were 2 soap cakes (2?) but no shampoo - why not change a soap cake for a shampoo? And instead of writing, printing and laminating so may notices warning people that the electrical shaver socket is not for cell phone chargers, and pasting them on the shaver electrical socket, why not just just provide 2-point plugs? The thing that really bothered me, though, was the quality of the linen (sheets and towels) - it does not mean that one can use frayed linen even if it is a budget hotel.

On the whole, a budge-type experience with a bit of a twang

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
8  Thank Jacques S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

stayed at the road lodger carnival city
room is ok sixe but toilet and shower is small
the bed is a double but good only for a sungle person.
the breakfast was nice and cheap R60 ( no bacon ) but worth it
iam a scrmable egg fan .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ashley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Although very conveniently located next to the Carnival City, this hotel is not exactly 3 stars! The rooms are very small, a tiny shower tary, and have a tiny 14inch TV that shows only 4 channels. There is no high speed internet in any rooms. You can get wi-fi in the lobby area only up to 9.00 pm. The strangest thing is that the phones in the room cannot be used to make any calls outside the hotel! Coffee or breakfast is not included in the room rate and the staff makes sure they charge you for it. On weekends this hotel gets very crowded and very noisy. The hotel rooms also get very smoky because of very poor ventilation. You have to make sure that you ask for a non-smoking room well in advance! I guess this hoetl could be okay for a couple of days but definitely is not comfortable for longer (4+ days) stays. The big advantage is that the Carnival city mall is next door and has a bunch of restaurants and bars and other entertainment within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SVG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brakpan
1.4 mi away
The Carnival Club Hotel
The Carnival Club Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brakpan
18 reviews
5.7 mi away
Towers Lodge
Towers Lodge
#7 of 7 in Germiston
8 reviews
4.7 mi away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Birchwood Hotel
Birchwood Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boksburg
684 reviews
3.9 mi away
SUN1 Benoni
SUN1 Benoni
#2 of 5 in Benoni
10 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Carnival City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Carnival City

Address: Carnival City Complex | Off N17 Cnr Heidelberg Road, Brakpan 1541, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Brakpan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brakpan
Price Range: £32 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Carnival City 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated within the hub of the Carnival City Casino Complex with all amenities such as restaurants, cinemas, shopping and entertainment. Located approximately 20 minutes from Johannesburg Airport and 30 minutes from Johannesburg’s CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Road Lodge Carnival City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Carnival City Hotel Brakpan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing