We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home if you do not expect mucuh”

Arhontiko in Arhanes
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arhontiko in Arhanes
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Home away from Home if you do not expect mucuh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

During a visit to the surrounding area for business and family affaires, we stayed at the Arhontikon based on reviews and recommendations.
The building is totally renovated by turning the lower storage areas into bedrooms and then accessing the higher rooms with an internal staircase. The renovation effort was very good with truly accurate depiction of the traditional old Cretan Homes with actual old pictures on the walls but kitschy doilies on the furniture. Wooden floors and ceiling beams, working fireplace and fully equipped kitchen allow for a very comfortable homey feeling.
We were not aware that there was no breakfast and so we did not bring any coffee or tea with us for the morning after. Our room was a very large apartment - operative word - about 60-70 sq.m with only one bathroom downstairs forcing us to go up and down the steps (in our estimation a small WC just basin and bowl could ve been placed on the Lounge area upstairs for convenience.
Surprisingly the bed was big enough to hold my very tall husband, saw a small moldy area in the corner of the bathtub and heavy dust on top of the wardrobe looking down from the raised sleeping area.

As in most Greek places, there is no hook on the wall to place the "telephone" shower so you hold it as you shower (!) and there is no separation by either a cheap liner or more elaborate glass panel to stop the water from going everywhere while one showers... Bring amenities with you. There was nothing but promotional size soap. We needed to take a shower in the evening after a whole day on the road but there was no hot water. Next morning, I had to ask the mother of the owner who lives on site, to turn on the water heater (It should be mandatory by Law that hot water should be automatically provided and nobody has to ask for such a basic service. There was no cleaning service during the two days we stayed.

Do not look for directions on the website. Both the zoomed in and out maps are simply not helpful. The sign to make a left from the main road is visible but then you are lost! We literally toured Arhanes thus seeing the whole village before eventually finding the building. There is only street parking. The place is not suitable for handicapped or elderly access and if you have children with you, be prepared to sleep on a separate floor. Also if you want to walk to the center of the village be aware that the building is up on a very steep hill and returning back in the evening would not be an easy task!

If you want to explore the stunning beauty of the area, visit Knossos (only 5 miles away), explore the wineries and other archeological sites, and stay in Arhanes instead of the nondescript Heraklion and stay in Arhontikon if you want to feel that you stay in your own home.
Overall we are vey happy with our stayat Arhontkon and having the cats jump up on our laps and sunning ourselves in the internal courtyard with the blooming Rosemary bushes..

Room Tip: If you suffer from incontinence be aware hat the bathroom is downstairs about 20 steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

was there on biz (yes an EU project with Archanes) so we 3 had 3 apts to ourselves. to start the taxidrivers from the airport did not know where it was, and the web map is misleading - it is not the 1st right from a grocery but very much higher straight up - in fact with any mobility issues forget it. (all bedrooms are down steep stairs in what can be called dark lovely basements). upon arrival 10 pm our colleague who had arrived earlier was entrusted with greeting us and giving keys. there was no other person - this is NOT a hotel. in fact throughout our 5 day stay an occasional older woman who spoke not a word of English was the only person we saw. it was tough in that for the 1st day there was no internet whatsoever (once finally connecting it was fine) but - be aware - no cell phone service - and we three from Europe cell phones.
it was still 36 C and no, the A/C in the three apts we had did NOT work. and no, we did not have such wonderful, warm family, encounters as previous reviewers had. We saw the older woman, she brought us each a plate of cake on the first a.m and obviously could not help us in English. We saw no-one else till it came to paying and we needed invoices which were arranged to our relief.
the apts are all just as lovely as they look on the website. except: all of the bedrooms are down in the 'basements'. all with steep stairs and then claustrophobic romantic or spooky - take your choice. It is a very steep walk back up from the town. once down you won't consider going back and forth and I saw no parking.
that said you get the cake, once, there is water in the fridge, raisins and nuts, even 'raki', and the apts are truly lovely. but for 78 euro, no breakfast, what on earth are you doing in Archanes as our taxi driver asked us? (we were on biz in Archanes) it's a lovely town, and the garden of the villa is too lovely, but even on biz.......and yes the welcoming family who are mentioned in previous reviews must have gone missing during our 5 day stay because we really..worried would there be someone to call a taxi for us
It's lovely, furnished so beautifully if you are not claustrophobic in the 'basement' bedrooms. it's a steep hill. I just want to add to the superb reviews previously posted because they raised my own expectations.
if you decide on Archanes, just know this is lovely, yet straight uphill and bedrooms in the basement

Room Tip: only one apt has a balcony - ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

http://arhontikoarhanes.gr/index_en.html will lead you to the website, whose photos are accurate. You might, like us, end up phoning Ktistakis Manolis for help finding Arhontiko Arhanes (the sign where you turn right is on the left side of the street). No matter. He'll meet you and lead you up. Then, after exchanging greetings, his mother (who lives onsite) might bring you dishes of her homemade apricot preserve. I think of her as Rose, but her name is longer (Rosoula, perhaps?). English- speaking Dimitra, a student and Ktistakis' daughter, will visit you, too. It matters to the Manolis family that you feel at home. Home is just as beautiful as pictured (our apt had photos of the family great-grandfathers, freedom fighters in the 1880s). If you like cats, Spot will befriend you. Either way, you can enjoy the surroundings and simply walk to the main square for restaurants, or you can drive north to Heraklion or south to the coast. When we brought our breakfast out to the garden, Rose came over with a plate of her special cookies to have with coffee, and Spot slept by my husband's feet. This is a terrific base for exploring central Crete.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colona1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

We spent 3 beautiful nights in Archontiko and we enjoyed every minute there. A bit far from Heraklion (20km) but if you are looking for a place to relax... you found it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gtrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xanthi.greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

very beautiful place,nice traditional village the hotel service was excellent.Comfortable rooms.I like it....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galanakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

traditional Cretan house, very friendly owners and great homemade desserts many thanks to Mrs. Rodoula and Mrs. Anna

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george5Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Arhanes is a beautiful traditional village.Arhontiko is such a wonderful and comfortable apartment and the owners were very friendly and kind!!we were excited with our accommodation!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleniktist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archanes
7.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
7.5 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#14 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
7.4 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Archanes
Villa Archanes
#1 of 1 in Archanes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eliathos Archanes Residence Houses
3.2 mi away
Petronikoli Traditional House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arhontiko in Arhanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arhontiko in Arhanes

Property: Arhontiko in Arhanes
Address: Bogiatzaki 11, Archanes, Crete 701 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Archanes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Archanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MANSION ARHONTIKO is 4-star traditional apartment Built in 1893, it is a fine example of 19th century inland Cretan architectureArhanes is a picturesque small town, built at an altitude of 380 meters [1280 ft] Arhanes is 14 kilometers away from the city of Heraklion and only 7 kilometers from the Palace of Knossos. The greater area of Arhanes is most significant for its numerous archaeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arhontiko in Arhanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhontiko In Arhanes Archanes, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing