We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, robbery in between, but solved by administrator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Plaza de Tequisquiapan
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tequisquiapan
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed at this Hotel this february 2013 as I attended a camping and educational session there. The hotel is nice and just in the center of Tequisquiapan, which makes it a very nice place to stay. Food is good specially on sunday morning during the buffet. Unfortunately my laptop and DSRL camara was stolen from my room while I was out having dinner. The lock does not seem to have been broken and forced, which is weird, and I did not left it open or unlock. For my fortune, the manager took this case very serious and she offered me to apply for the insurance of the hotel (fortunately I had receipts of all my equipment, otherwise i don know how I could have applied for the insurance). The manager followed up all the insurance process, sending me all the communication with the insurance company and keeping in touch. Not many hotel managers do that. At then end I could recover part of the expenses (resting depreciation and deductible). I would stay at the hotel next time, but always keeping my equipment and valuables with me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

I went to La Plaza to spend some days with my friends. The rooms were very clean and the food was excellent! The best part of all was the buffet and the location of the hotel is really really good.

Muy bonito lugar, los cuartos son rústicos y limpios. La comida en el restaurant La Valentina es excelente

Room Tip: You should choose the rooms with jaccuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel in Sept. 2009. Went with friends and HAD MY LAPTOP, IPOD,CAMARA, CELL PHONE AND CHARGERS STOLEN. The manager told me that the police did not work on weekend so I needed to file my report in a town an hour away, went there twice and waited for 5 hrs. to file the report! The hotel manangement made all sorts of promises but never followed thru on anything. It has been over a year and to this day they have never contacted me. The person that stole my things had a key to get into my room , and ripped my suitcase open. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
8  Thank MCL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This is a small but nice hotel with friendly service, rooms are fine, they´re clean but rustic. The breakfast was the best part, I expected an ordinary small buffet and I found it excellent, the waiters are very kind and efficient The location is excelent! right on the main square with lots of things to do around. try the Freixenet bar next door

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

In general, hotels in Tequis are about twice as expensive as one would anticipate, and the Plaza is no exception. In addition to a hefty fee, we were required to pay over $20 extra just to have our daughter sleep in the same room, even though the room already had an extra double bed. No other hotel on our 3-week Mexico trip did this.
The primary problem, however, was a lack of hot water for showering our first morning there. The building is old, and we expected slow hot water flow, but when there was naught but tepid (and I use the word generously) water after 15 minutes of flow, I call management and was told that they would reprime the heater. We left for breakfast, and on returning over an hour later, being reassured the problem was fixed, there was still no hot water.
We left for the day and returned to discuss this with the woman apparently in charge of the hotel. She demonstrated to us that there was now indeed hot water on tap, and was incredibly brusque in her attitude, as if we were somehow at fault. Our shower worked well after only a few minutes' warmup the next morning.

We asked for a 50% discount on our first night's lodging and were begrudgingly given a 10% decrease. We would not stay at this particular hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottSattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank SofMoraninie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador M, Atención a clientes at Hotel La Plaza de Tequisquiapan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank paocolmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador M, Atención a Clientes at Hotel La Plaza de Tequisquiapan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tequisquiapan hotels
0.9 mi away
La Casona Tequisquiapan Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Tequisquiapan
Hotel Rio Tequisquiapan
#3 of 13 in Tequisquiapan
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Granja
Hotel Boutique La Granja
#1 of 13 in Tequisquiapan
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tequisquiapan
Best Western Tequisquiapan
#5 of 13 in Tequisquiapan
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Rinconada Tequisquiapan Hotel
La Rinconada Tequisquiapan Hotel
#7 of 13 in Tequisquiapan
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Vino
Hotel Casa de Vino
#10 of 13 in Tequisquiapan
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Plaza de Tequisquiapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plaza de Tequisquiapan

Address: Avenida Juarez Poniente No. 10 | Centro, Tequisquiapan 76750, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Tequisquiapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Tequisquiapan
Price Range: £44 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Plaza de Tequisquiapan 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the magical and quiet town of Tequisquiapan, Hotel La Plaza offers you a confortable stay in its typical colonial architecture. Our hotel has 17 rooms, garden, pool, two restaurants and a sports bar with the best service to offer you a pleasant stay. We are located in the main square beside Santa María de la Asunción Church, within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Plaza de Tequisquiapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing