We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a wine lodge and poor customer service”
Review of Cavas Wine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cavas Wine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lujan de Cuyo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a wine lodge and poor customer service”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel has many great attributes but it's not focussed on wine, as it would have you believe, and the service is not up to standard. There are plenty of good qualities about the hotel but wine and service are not included in them.
1. Wine - the sommelier knew his stuff and was clearly embarrassed by the wine pairing with the New Years dinner. He had no involvement in closing these wines and it was obvious to anyone who knows anything about wine that they were completely inappropriate for the food being served. If I were to guess I would say that it was purely a management decision based on best value wine rather than a proper food/wine pairing.
2. a) we almost missed our flight because the hotel car was over 30 mins late to collect us from the hotel, despite booking the car the night before. We ended up catching a local taxi as we couldn't wait any longer. Prior to this we missed breakfast because breakfast was served 25 mins after we ordered it and we didn't have time to eat it.
b) breakfast service was very, very, very slow....leave yourself lots of time if you want tea, toast or a cooked breakfast
c) prices are not provided for the extra's. Costs for the hotel car, tours, evening meals etc are not provided until you check out (unless you specifically ask). TIP - it's much better value to catch a cab to a local restaurant than use the hotel cars. Also 1884 is a much better place to eat than the Cavas
d) do your own research on which vineyards to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will_H_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverMendoza, Propietario at Cavas Wine Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Will_H_London, thank you for posting a review in Trip Advisor. Every guest review makes us strive to offer our guests the best experience at CAVAS

We would like to apologize for the delay on the car arrival on your departure date. This is a very rare event being that we are located 45 minutes from the airport our drivers always arrive to the hotel with additional time in case there is an unforeseen traffic event en route to the airport.

It is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy the New Year`s wine selection .All the wines selected for that night came from CATENA ZAPATA winery, one of the most prestigious wineries in all Argentina .Let me assure our selection of wines was not based on “best value” but on their quality (They also happen to be some of the most pricey wines in Argentina)

In reference to your comment on the additional charges, we hand a list of all the services we provide at the hotel and their corresponding charges at the time of check out.
Did you not receive one?

I would like to thank you once again for reaching out and letting us know the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us so we can better serve you on your next visit and all future guests.

All our best, Cecilia and Martin Rigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    71
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
486
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Cavas was a unique and amazing experience- you are actually sleeping amongst the vines of the wine you are drinking! The owners are very welcoming and happy to have you as a guest. We really enjoyed Cavas and would love to return! Their proximity to many of the vineyards is phenomenal.. you can truly get to many of the great ones within minutes. From the concierge to the drivers to the wait staff and spa services, everyone made our stay special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have stayed twice at the Cavas Wine Lodge. The accommodations, views, food, wine, service, and activities were all outstanding. We had numerous meals on the property, and were always surprised by both the quality and creativity of the food. The wine cellar holds some of the best wines of Argentina, and having a romantic dinner in the cellar was a highlight. Biking and horseback ridding through the vineyard was memorable. Organized wine tours were interesting. Spending time with the owners to gather their perspective about Mendoza, wine, and other activities was both informative and a very personal touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveler8085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Cavas for 4 nights in the run-up to Christmas and I would recommend the lodge to anybody visiting Mendoza. The casitas dotted throughout the vineyard, with private patios (inclusive of a small plunge pool) and a rooftop terrace make for a very private and relaxing stay. The staff were excellent, making every effort to remember our preferences. The food is great and I would call out breakfast as a particular highlight with table service and a la carte options rather than the standard buffet you would get in larger hotels. The private wine tasting on our 2nd night was also a nice touch, giving us an overview of wine production in Mendoza and allowing the sommelier to learn about our preferences when recommending wines for dinner. On the last night, the hotel set up a beautiful fireside dinner on our roof terrace which was a lovely gesture to cap off an excellent stay.

My only criticism would be that both the main pool and plunge pools could use a bit of renovation. The interior of the casitas was also slightly dark for my taste, but I appreciate that they were decorated to match the surroundings.

Overall a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katinka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Cavas is situated in a vineyard with a view of the Andes. The setting is beautiful. The service is very attentive and caring. The casitas are lovely and very quiet. Very, very conducive to relaxation on your own patio with a small pool and to getting a great night's sleep. Only a few minor complaints: Though we went to other restaurants a couple of nights -- remember you are at least 20/30 minutes travel time one way to another restaurant -- when we ate dinner at Cavas we thought the food was good though expensive. Service was excellent and relaxed but, again, we thought the food should have been at the next level. The gym is small and needed to be cleaned up some. Fresh towels should have been available with cold water. The spa is very nice, small but the service was, again, excellent. Not a five-star spa but fitting for the lodge.

Overall, we loved our stay there. Gorgeous setting, beautiful facility, attentive service, outstanding place to wind down and yet good to use as a base to tour Mendoza wineries and outdoor activities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tovah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

After a full day of travel from the US it was wonderful arriving at Cavas. The staff is exceptional providing five star service. There is no request too small. Food was amazing! The casita was lovely and very clean. The only sign of wear and tear was in the tile of the small plunge pool for our room and also in the main pool. The spa was excellent and massage and facial services were great. The Christmas dinner was memorable as all meals were and the Tango show on our last night there was fabulous. This is THE place to stay in Mendoza.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlel1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

PROS: The views alone deserve a 5/5. The hotel is simply beautiful from the decor to the landscaping. We were upgraded for our honeymoon stay to the grand villa which was way more than enough room for two people (more for a family or two couples traveling together). The roof top decks are not to be missed- enjoy a fire and wine or take in the sunrise/sunset. The food was also excellent.

CONS: The service can be a little slow at times, but as long as you are in no hurry it is not that big of an issue. For example, at meals we would see a waiter and then not see anyone for 20 minutes. Also, we had room service and put the dishes out side of the door, where they sat for our entire 3 day stay. Our biggest issue was that NONE of the doors to the bedroom and bathroom areas of the villa locked (were broken). With one pull, the "locked" doors could be pulled open. With security being an issue in the past, I would never have expected this. This is the only real issue that kept this place from being 100% perfect.

Room Tip: The huge grand villa is not worth the upgrade for a single couple staying here. While it is a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lujan de Cuyo
5.9 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
534 reviews
16.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,710 reviews
8.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
711 reviews
16.5 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,175 reviews
16.8 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavas Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavas Wine Lodge

Property: Cavas Wine Lodge
Address: Costa Flores | Alto Agrelo, Lujan de Cuyo, Mendoza 5507, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Lujan de Cuyo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lujan de Cuyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavas Wine Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavas Wine Lodge is located amid the snow-capped Andes Mountains and the fertile, green vineyards of Mendoza. It is the fist hotel in Mendoza dedicated to wine and all its secrets. Guests are drawn to the Cavas Wine Lodge for its privacy, tranquility and unmistakable romance. Guests are encouraged to indulge in wine, food, luxurious spa treatments and the surrounding natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cavas Wine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavas Wine Hotel Agrelo
Cavas Wine Mendoza
Cavas Wine Lodge Mendoza/Lujan De Cuyo, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing