We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavas Wine Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Entre Cielos(Lujan de Cuyo)
US$576
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrim's Rest(Chacras de Coria)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Glebinias(Chacras de Coria)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Borravino(Chacras de Coria)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Francisco(Chacras de Coria)(Great Value!)
US$424
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lares De Chacras(Chacras de Coria)
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
689
83
18
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
83
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pooltango showmartin and ceciliaroof terraceprivate dinnerthe snow capped andesoutdoor showerour honeymoonhot water bottlesmain buildingbuenos airesspa treatmentsgrape vineshorseback ridespecial dinnerrelais chateauxmoment you arrive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel has many great attributes but it's not focussed on wine, as it would have you believe, and the service is not up to standard. There are plenty of good qualities about the hotel but wine and service are not included in them.
1. Wine - the sommelier knew his stuff and was clearly embarrassed by the wine pairing with the New Years dinner. He had no involvement in closing these wines and it was obvious to anyone who knows anything about wine that they were completely inappropriate for the food being served. If I were to guess I would say that it was purely a management decision based on best value wine rather than a proper food/wine pairing.
2. a) we almost missed our flight because the hotel car was over 30 mins late to collect us from the hotel, despite booking the car the night before. We ended up catching a local taxi as we couldn't wait any longer. Prior to this we missed breakfast because breakfast was served 25 mins after we ordered it and we didn't have time to eat it.
b) breakfast service was very, very, very slow....leave yourself lots of time if you want tea, toast or a cooked breakfast
c) prices are not provided for the extra's. Costs for the hotel car, tours, evening meals etc are not provided until you check out (unless you specifically ask). TIP - it's much better value to catch a cab to a local restaurant than use the hotel cars. Also 1884 is a much better place to eat than the Cavas
d) do your own research on which vineyards to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will_H_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverMendoza, Propietario at Cavas Wine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Will_H_London, thank you for posting a review in Trip Advisor. Every guest review makes us strive to offer our guests the best experience at CAVAS

We would like to apologize for the delay on the car arrival on your departure date. This is a very rare event being that we are located 45 minutes from the airport our drivers always arrive to the hotel with additional time in case there is an unforeseen traffic event en route to the airport.

It is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy the New Year`s wine selection .All the wines selected for that night came from CATENA ZAPATA winery, one of the most prestigious wineries in all Argentina .Let me assure our selection of wines was not based on “best value” but on their quality (They also happen to be some of the most pricey wines in Argentina)

In reference to your comment on the additional charges, we hand a list of all the services we provide at the hotel and their corresponding charges at the time of check out.
Did you not receive one?

I would like to thank you once again for reaching out and letting us know the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us so we can better serve you on your next visit and all future guests.

All our best, Cecilia and Martin Rigal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Cavas was a unique and amazing experience- you are actually sleeping amongst the vines of the wine you are drinking! The owners are very welcoming and happy to have you as a guest. We really enjoyed Cavas and would love to return! Their proximity to many of the vineyards is phenomenal.. you can truly get to many of the great ones within minutes. From the concierge to the drivers to the wait staff and spa services, everyone made our stay special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have stayed twice at the Cavas Wine Lodge. The accommodations, views, food, wine, service, and activities were all outstanding. We had numerous meals on the property, and were always surprised by both the quality and creativity of the food. The wine cellar holds some of the best wines of Argentina, and having a romantic dinner in the cellar was a highlight. Biking and horseback ridding through the vineyard was memorable. Organized wine tours were interesting. Spending time with the owners to gather their perspective about Mendoza, wine, and other activities was both informative and a very personal touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTraveler8085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Cavas for 4 nights in the run-up to Christmas and I would recommend the lodge to anybody visiting Mendoza. The casitas dotted throughout the vineyard, with private patios (inclusive of a small plunge pool) and a rooftop terrace make for a very private and relaxing stay. The staff were excellent, making every effort to remember our preferences. The food is great and I would call out breakfast as a particular highlight with table service and a la carte options rather than the standard buffet you would get in larger hotels. The private wine tasting on our 2nd night was also a nice touch, giving us an overview of wine production in Mendoza and allowing the sommelier to learn about our preferences when recommending wines for dinner. On the last night, the hotel set up a beautiful fireside dinner on our roof terrace which was a lovely gesture to cap off an excellent stay.

My only criticism would be that both the main pool and plunge pools could use a bit of renovation. The interior of the casitas was also slightly dark for my taste, but I appreciate that they were decorated to match the surroundings.

Overall a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katinka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Cavas is situated in a vineyard with a view of the Andes. The setting is beautiful. The service is very attentive and caring. The casitas are lovely and very quiet. Very, very conducive to relaxation on your own patio with a small pool and to getting a great night's sleep. Only a few minor complaints: Though we went to other restaurants a couple of nights -- remember you are at least 20/30 minutes travel time one way to another restaurant -- when we ate dinner at Cavas we thought the food was good though expensive. Service was excellent and relaxed but, again, we thought the food should have been at the next level. The gym is small and needed to be cleaned up some. Fresh towels should have been available with cold water. The spa is very nice, small but the service was, again, excellent. Not a five-star spa but fitting for the lodge.

Overall, we loved our stay there. Gorgeous setting, beautiful facility, attentive service, outstanding place to wind down and yet good to use as a base to tour Mendoza wineries and outdoor activities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tovah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews