We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveller rating
737
85
18
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
85
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool tango show martin and cecilia rooftop terrace private dinner our honeymoon outdoor shower hot water bottles andes mountains main building spa treatments buenos aires grape vines horseback riding moment you arrive car service relais chateaux
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 849 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I take a great deal of time in selecting hotels for my wife and I wherever we travel, to the extent that i often find a particular room in a particular hotel months before we book the actual flights to the destination. The style and decor of the rooms are of paramount importance to my designer wife, as is the feeling that there are more staff than guests inspired by the best boutique hotels, and last but not least an introduction to the local environment combined with delicious food and wine.

Cavas Wine Lodge surpasses all expectations, and the service can be summed up by our first night which was unfortunately marked by a torrential downpour and violent storm. The staff succeeded effortlessly in maintaining service inside for dessert following dinner and guided us to our room without complaint.

We met the owner Martin Navajas who was an engaging and friendly character and explained openly his future plans and how the project came to fruition. Details are evident everywhere of the artistic talents of the duo from the interesting use of ponchos and mannequins, to the shoes painted on wooden frames throughout the groundfloor and the winecellar.

Our room was a delight and gave us a perfect viewpoint towards the Andes, and of course the starlit rooftop with outdoor fire is a signature of Cavas. The quality of the concierge was clear in the booking of our wine trips, and perhaps one interesting additional service would be to offer more bespoke and intriguing tours outside the norm without prompting for the curious guest.

We look forward without hesitation to our return.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Austin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I must say that this is arguably the best hotel stay we have ever experienced. Other reviews have explained the suites, they are stunning and HUGE complete with our own terrace above the suite and plunge pool. I am almost at a loss for words. It is set in a working vineyard and we received a bottle of wine upon arrival. The breakfast is amazing with a full continental spread and then hot items as well. We arrived late our first day to a nicely chilled white wine, then the next morning(after a delicious breakfast which includes your own pitcher of freshly juiced melon) went out for a day of winery visits. I highly suggest that you stay put as much as you can do to the natural beauty here coupled with the highly personalized service from all of the staff. We were not hungry, but HAD to experience dinner which was out of this world. Try to beet risotto. We delayed our departure as long as we could on the last day so we could enjoy lunch with incredible service in the gorgeous setting. Every person is committed to providing a truly excellent experience for every single guest.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovetohike1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We stayed at The Cavas Wine Lodge which is set on its own vineyard. There are not enough words to express my love for this boutique hotel. It is run and owned by a husband and wife duo – Martin and Cecelia and you feel their family run touches throughout the hotel. From the moment our car pulled up the service we received was outstanding. We were greeted with a delicious glass of house wine. Every villa is a small hut with its own living area, open-log fire inside, beautiful bathroom overlooking the Andes and the vineyard as well as a terrace and plunge pool (this isn’t private). There is also an open-log fire and seating area on the roof terrace, if it’s warm enough you can sleep under the stars of the Southern Hemisphere - sadly it was too cold for us to try the pool or sleep under the stars! The bathroom has a very rustic feel with huge windows also overlooking the mountains and the vineyards, it has a generous bathtub as well as a rain shower (the amenities are L’Occitane). The service throughout the hotel from the reception desk, to the spa to the head chef in the restaurant was outstanding and we couldn’t fault it at any point. Natalia, the guest relations manager went out of her way to make sure our stay was nothing less than perfect. I would definitely recommend the spa, our treatments were very good and the therapists again did everything they could to make the experience perfect! The prices were also very reasonable compared to other 5* hotels.

The hotel also had various activities going on – we did a cookery class with their head chef where we learnt to make empanadas (we don’t eat beef so they organised veggie ones for us), Olive Oil tasting – this was a super fun experience as we were guided through various types of Olive Oil. There is immense pressure on the industry to increase production and quality so that Argentine Olive Oil can compete on the international market. They also arranged blankets, sleeping bags and pillows on our roof terrace with the log fire going so that we could stargaze – they even provided us with details on all the constellations we should have been able to see.

If you want to you can hire a bike and tour around the area, the hotel will also help organise various activities for you nearby including horse riding at the foothills of the Andes. There is also an outdoor pool as well as a full spa I mentioned above.

You should note that Cavas is not in Medoza city itself, there are other hotels in the city should you wish to be more centrally located.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank addicted2travelcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

What a truly wonderful experience, from the moment we were greeted with a chilled glass to the moment we left three nights later. Elegant spacious bedrooms are individually nestled in the vineyard. The rooftop decks (with fire if chilly) offer the most awesome space to relax and take in the beauty of the lodges location just beneath the mountains.
We enjoyed the use of bikes to ride to Ruca Malen for a lovely lunch and the packed lunch supplied for our white water rafting trip delicious. Dinner in the restaurant was OK, but we had better meals outside the lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed the Tango evening organised by the Hotel as well. With a lovely little spa facility the Cavas Wine Lodge is definitely somewhere I would return to.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Great location within the vineyard complete with stunning Andean scenery and we were blessed with two fine days of sunrises and sunsets. Your room has its own roof terrace where you can sip champagne, watch the stars in a sleeping bag with a log fire and the hotel leave a little card with the time of sunrise so you have no excuse not to pop up to the roof to see the Andes which glow pink for about 5 minutes on a fine, sunrise.

Large, comfortable rooms, plunge pools, fabulous spa, bikes to hire and a great Tango evening followed by an Argentinian BBQ. Friendly, capable staff who were happy to help with arrangements.

The restaurant has a lovely setting and a really good and extensive breakfast. Some of the meals on the limited evening menu were better than others but due to the huge choice in the area, one would probably not stay in for more than one evening so this did not detract from the experience of staying in this lovely, family run hotel. Charming owners with a great vision for delivering a boutique stay.

Room Tip: All of them looked lovely - ours certainly was despite there being 3 of us in there.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews