We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valuable shopping opportunity” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portal de la Marina

Portal de la Marina
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Ondara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An universe of fun and shopping. A building of 90,000 square meters, bringing together the leading names in fashion and accessories, services, specialized shops, home items and decor, restaurants, leisure, food and a giant Hypermarket. PORTAL DE LA MARINA is conceived as a shopping center that clearly reflects the Mediterranean character, custom-tailored to the needs of the area. The complex has been designed to try to capture the magical, mysterious effect of the streets in the cities of southeastern Spain. In short, PORTAL DE LA MARINA is a synonym for innovation, not only for its original appearance but also for the new elements it introduces in the technical and conceptual fields.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Valuable shopping opportunity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This relatively new mall is a great place to shop and enjoy some air-conditioned comfort when the temperatures are nearly 40 deg C. Good selection of international retailers including Zara.
However, the music selection is the worst from of musk. Also it prevents parents hearing their children if in trouble.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    90
    30
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A great place for a rainy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

As good as La Canada above Marbella, this is super spot when the weather turns nasty. At the tail end of October, it can and has.
It is massive with all the big names. The ladies will love it - H & M, Zara, Massimo Ditto Tec. Lots of places to eat and stacks of free car parking.
It is in my nature to recommend shopping but this fits the bill. It would be a sin in good weather.
Also a big Eroski supermarket.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLP555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The dreaded shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The last thing I wanted to do on holiday was shop!!!!
We had a full day of rain so asked about anywhere to look around. Got directions to here, the women loved it, bags, shoes, clothes. Even a C&A I was informed??
It was actually ok for a stroll around and actually bought a couple of gifts for Christmas, must be mad. Once we had had enough we found a bar upstairs and had a couple of drinks. The wives were very happy and bought a few things that were much cheaper than in the UK. They loved the bag shops, making our wallets a lot lighter. Ok for a rainy day, was a cinema but not sure if it is open in the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Coreybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flower Machine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

There is now a fresh flower machine in the centre. It is a large unit with 14 separate compartments
In each compartment there is a fresh flower arrangement you pay your money into the machine i think you can pay by cash or card, select your arrangement and a door opens and you take the flowers out. What a brilliant idea. There were some arrangements as low as 8 Euros and they were lovely, Well done shopping centre.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A rainy day option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

The shopping centre at Ondara opened a few years ago, and it was great to have more choice of shops locally to our location in Pedreguer. It is located just off the N332 and junc 62 of the E15 motorway, signposted Denia, Javea, Ondara, near the toll.

There are good and bad things about this centre. Firstly, it is only open on a Sunday generally throughout the height of the summer season; I.e. July and August . Overall the shops have a tendency to be on the expensive side, although we have managed to grab a few bargains this year, particularly in C&A, H & M and the fab sunglasses shop Soloptical, first on the left when you go in (McDonalds is on the right - which by the way are few and far in between in this part of Spain if you are a fan) - have got some good deals on raybans there! - cheaper than England). Also a cheap sports shop.

Other shops worth a visit in my view are Zara, Jack Jones, Ale-Hop ( a kooky shop loved by kids and adults alike- although be aware there are a few adult bits and pieces in there too), and Casa - a kind of Spanish Habitat style store. There are also lots of shoe stores, a Spanish supermarket - Eroski (a bit like a Spanish Asda)' and a food court, with a big variety of food from American, to traditional tapas to kebabs ! There is also a cinema.

There is also plenty of parking at the centre, both outdoor and underground, if the weather isn't very good.

There is also a cheaper petrol station next to the shopping centre.

If you are coming from the Pedreguer direction, take the turn off the N332 toward Denia, Ondara and E15, as you come off stay in left hand land, ignore Denia and E15/motorway signs, and don't go to Ondara, follow shopping centre signs up to roundabout - can be a little confusing till you have done it once or twice, as you kind of have to cross lanes. Sorry tried to be as clear as I can.

Anyway, in closing, a great place on a rainy day, but don't promise to treat the kids till you see if there are any sales on as you may regret it.....although if you do strike lucky there are occasional great bargains to be had. Also lots of phone shops if you are having mobile problems while away.

The place stands out well in the distance, looks like a shopping centre equivalent of a bull ring.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portal de la Marina also viewed

 
Moraira, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Portal de la Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing