We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chandrika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chandrika
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huge room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights to explore Yala National Park. Huge ground floor room in ?new annex. First floor rooms get a balcony but we had patio doors onto the garden and our own little pond with friendly frog. Perfect for afternoon tea. Our bathroom had a big bath and separate shower. Good pool. Extensive buffet served in the evening, which is good if you have a big appetite, or there is a limited choice of dishes, I ordered a club sandwich which came with chips and salad and was excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    219
    102
    17
    16
See reviews for
122
246
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel rooms are basic, toilet is basic though big, no balcony. Its located about 30 minutes from Yala and being a narrow strip of a hotel there is NO view! Just the room and one steps out into the corridor where all the other hotel guests are walking around. Just doesn't add up. Hotel food was tasty but excessive in salt and some in spice. Really budget travel. Id rather go and try a homestay experience. Good swimming pool though and the staff is nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShamsherMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virajfernando, Manager at Hotel Chandrika, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us.

We take all reviews very seriously and from them we learn, implement corrective measures and improve the service.

Our food may taste slightly over salted or spiced as we try to strike a balance on those aspects as we receive guests from all over the world and we need to cater for different palates. But we will definitely discuss this with our culinary staff and bring forward measures of improvement.

Our Standard rooms are basic from the look but are equipped with all modern facilities such as flat screen TV with satellite feed, air conditioning, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Mini bar and bathroom fitted with modern fittings with hot/cold water. Furthermore we offer 24 hours room service therefore looking at the amenities provided in the standard rooms we are definitely not a budget hotel but offer good value for money through our Standard rooms.

With all the respect to you, our garden is not a small one. We have a spacious compound with many trees.

For the traveler who expects added luxury we have our Deluxe rooms which are best in the area. So we are sure we are definitely not in the league of a home stay but a hotel which provides both good value for money and also super luxury comforts.

Thank you.

Manager, Hotel Chandrika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We are just back from two nights at Hotel Chandrika. The hotel is very nice with a lovely bar and pool. Our room was very spacious for three of us and bathroom was enormous with a bath and lovely tropical shower.
Best thing about this hotel is the Staff, they are all so happy and smiling and anxious to please. The food and beverage Manager Mr Kuruppu was outstanding, always there to make sure you're enjoying your food and even helped out when my daughter was requesting something not on the menu. We were also provided with a lovely well packaged breakfast box to take with us on Safari to Yala. Overall this is a great reasonably priced hotel for anyone heading to Yala.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms at end of garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virajfernando, Manager at Hotel Chandrika, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very much for your stay with us and positively recommending us with a fabulous review. Thank you very much indeed.

You stayed in our newly introduced deluxe rooms overlooking the garden and yes, as you correctly said the bathrooms are very spacious and the credit goes to our designers for their meticulous planning. We are respectfully proud about our staffs that are passionate on what they do. Will keep our Restaurant Manager Mr. Kuruppu about your complements.

Yes, we all at Hotel Chandrika go that extra mile to delight our guests and to make their holiday a memorable one.

Thank you once again and we look forward for your return to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 3 night there. The hotel is located in a quiet and peaceful area surrounded with trees. Rooms are clean, tidy and the bathroom is quite large.
There is a nice swimming pool.

Food is good, we had a great spicy curry there and there were several local dishes on the menu. Also you can be served food at any time of the day and they can prepare a take away lunch for your visit to Yala National Park that is not very far away.

Staff is super nice, very helpful

Only negative point is the flies in the restaurant and around the swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steflausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virajfernando, Manager at Hotel Chandrika, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very much for your stay with us and for your positive review.

Good food, cleanliness and service that delight our guests are our forte while providing the best value for your money.

We are indeed happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to Yala National Park which is located very closer to our hotel. We provide picnic meals for the guests when they go on safari in Yala National Park and we are geared to serve meals at any time of the day for the convenience of our guests. All ingredients of local dishes are sourced from local villages, farm fresh and cooked authentically and to suite the western palate.

Our staff is very passionate of what they do and we are humbly proud of it as we can see how genuine their hospitality is, true local village spirit.

We will seriously take corrective measures to eradicate flies in the restaurant area and thank you for bringing it to our notice. But it is somewhat challenging to get rid of flies in the outdoors as our location is very closer to a great wilderness.

Thank you once again and we look forward for your return to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battaramulla, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were at hotel Chandrika recently for our hotel staff trip,

We were amazed by the new wing they have constructed. Rooms are spacious, cozy and luxurious. All room amenities were available and housekeeping was very efficient.

Restaurant was very nice, buffet food was served on the day we stayed. Food was well balanced, massive variety, tasted very good.

We had a DJ and some entertainment organised. It was very well organised by the management.

Front office manager and the food and beverage manager were very helpful with all our needs.

Magnificent hospitality, job well done.

We will definitely return.

Thank you team Chandrika.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kánte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in the new rooms and ours was perfect. While we were there off season it was quiet. I would ask for a room away from the bar if it was in the busy time.
Staff were really helpful.
Didn't eat there, had a box breakfast to take on our early morning safari. The buffet dinner looked great but we were craving seafood, and found a perfect restaurant up the road.
The basic rooms looked just that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for one night on a trip to Yala National Park. We had a de luxe room and it was lovely. Really spacious and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower cubicle and a separate bath. The dining room was unimpressive with tables really close to the serving area which made it a bit difficult when several people were trying to get food. It had a "canteen" feeling. The food was average. In contrast, the packed breakfast we were given in the morning was excellent. The pool looked very nice although we didn't have chance to try it. Overall, a nice hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambidextrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.4 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandrika

Property: Hotel Chandrika
Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chandrika 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Chandrika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chandrika Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing