We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very annoying atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tissamaharama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Lake Side Tourist Inn
Ranked #56 of 77 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very annoying atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night to go to Yala.
We just hated it! The rooms are ok, very dated and basic but clean.
We could not be in the hotel for 5 minutes without being disturbed. They all wanted to offer us safaris, transport, dinner,... They even knocked at our door or followed us outside. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panacea214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    19
    44
    13
    22
See reviews for
22
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights so we could take a full day safari trip.
The hotel rooms are plain but good with hot water if you wait long enough. It has a pool which is really nice on hot days. Restaurant staff was not always nice, giving us a feeling we had to rush our dinner they even presented us the bill while we hadn't even finished eating yet and still wanted to order a dessert! The food itself was good.
For our safari they did give us a breakfast package, although this was a bit plain..
You have to pay for Wifi (50 LRK for 2 hours).

It is a nice stay, to meet other travelers and from which you can go on safari but 1/2 two days is more than enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniël B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The place, for whatsoever reason, we think is beloved by the driver. We guess is because it is a good place to depart for a safari in the Yala national park. In fact it is (we find a super safari driver!), But not worthy to stay more than one night. The room was acceptable, but a little bit damp. Unfortunately not so comfortable (our room had small bed). There was hot water, but at a very low flow rate. For dinner we had curry & rice...terrible. There was a swimming pool: we were tempt to jump in, but once we took a look into the water, we changed our mind. We planned to stay 2 night, but we left at 5.30 am the very next morning. In conclusion: ok for 1 night, but you can really find a better place for less.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todajoia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tissamaharama hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Tried to stay here for a night, but the place was so awful, we packed up and went to a different hotel. The rooms are very dark and dank, the walls COVERED in squished bug guts and ants and insects overtaking the bathroom. It was simply gross.

While looking for a new hotel, we went to the restaurant. The glasses were disgustingly dirty and they brought me a diet coke can with bugs all on top of it. REALLY?!? They didn't see all the bugs on the lid while carrying it to the table? My husband ordered a chicken sandwich which had bones in it and was all oil. We couldn't even eat it.

Don't stay here. Go around the corner to Serene Park, which is a beautiful new place to stay for about the same cost.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twaterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I have been a regular visitor to Lake Side over the past several years. When I saw it for the first time I thought it looked very dated and run-down, but this was misleading since the rooms have been modernised. Apart from the former Tissa Rest House (now called The Safari) over the road this is the only large Tissa hotel with a view of Tissa lake. The hotel grounds are beautiful with tall coconut trees and many birds. Lake Side is famous throughout Sri Lanka for the quality of its food and the restaurant serves many tasty dishes. Many of the staff have worked here for many years and staff morale is good. The hotel is a popular choice for wedding parties for locals. The pool is small and basic but fine. Overall I would recommend Lake Side for the setting and the view, and of course the rates are more affordable which helps too.

Room Tip: The best rooms are upstairs in the main block adjacent to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon20London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel is perfect for starting a trip to Yala National Park. We stayed here 1 night, unfortunately we didn`t had a chance to try the pool. The room was a bit small and the bathroom a bit smelly and without hot water. The food was good, very nice breakfast! Also the dinner was good, but the menu if you have HB is limited. The atmosphere around the hotel is nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank znj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is a budget hotel which is a bit dated. The good thing about it is the location across from the lake and handy to organise a trip to the Yala National Park. Food was also good but not many other guests around so felt like we were eating on our own. They were good that we could have our free breakfast after we completed the Safari about 10.30am. We had an upstairs room which had a large open seating area outside it with plenty of comfy chairs to sit and relax in rather than being in the small room. Mosquito's were not a problem while we were there in March and we also enjoyed cooling off in the pool. You needed to ask for the Internet to be turned on.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.9 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
565 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
283 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tissa
Hotel Tissa
#11 of 14 in Tissamaharama
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lake Side Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lake Side Tourist Inn

Property: Hotel Lake Side Tourist Inn
Address: Akurugoda, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hotel Lake Side Tourist Tissamaharama
Hotel Lake Side Tourist Inn Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing