We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we stayed at in Sri Lanka”
Review of Kithala Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kithala Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Of the 6 hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka this was the only hotel not a 4 or 5 star 'international' hotel - but I think I enjoyed it best of all.
First of all I should point out there are 2 types of rooms, newly renovated rooms and grotty unrenovated rooms. The renovated rooms are excellent, No problems at all and more comfortable than some of the old 4 star 'character' hotels on the island.
Free WiFi that worked well and staff always smiling and eager to please.
Very nice swimming pool from which we saw nearly as much birdlife as on the safari trips.
Room had a nice balcony overlooking the pool with chairs.
Its a small hotel, so not the very large buffets you find at the larger hotels, but should be something there for everyone. For hotel snobs, the fact they do their own thing may be a problem. Personally I found jelly with bananas as a sweet option refreshingly down to earth, only wish more hotels would go back to basics sometimes in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handfordr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for Kithala Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

This is a little piece of luxury. Infinity pool looking out over rice fields, great service, clean spacious rooms with AC and satellite TV. Fantastic shower and access to Yala. Couldn't of asked for more

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stayed here 2 nights and got robbed by staff!!!! We had some cash hidden in our suitcase in the wardrobe of our room, we went to yala for the day only to return to find our suitcase had been ransacked and all our cash taken!! To avoid an experience like ours i would strongly advise people to stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonneturner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This hotel is set up for the one night traveller who is going to 'do' Yala. Our room was clean and modern. The buffet style dinner was the poorest of all the hotels we have stayed in this trip. Limited choice and lukewarm.
The whole of the hotel had zero atmosphere, it felt like a large waiting room. Any business with such a fast turnover doesn't have to try too hard as there is little chance of repeat custom and that sums up the staff, 'not trying too hard'
I can't comment on value for money as this was part of a pre paid trip, but I wouldn't want to have paid too much to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComeonAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We slept only one night in this hotel and it was a relief to leave this place. The pillows and a bed were so bad and old, mattresses were yellowy... They have Internet connection but it's not stable. Welcome drink from was undrinkable and staff really stay in your room until you give tips and it was after we asked better room and they didn't even try to ask reception. We had dinner outside hotel in a small local cafe Cabana, it was tasty.
This hotel is definitely not worth money they charge.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etecouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

On first glance thsi appears to be a lovely hotel however it really isn't worth the expensive prices they charge. Our mattresses had one thin sheet on them through which you could easily see that they were badly stained (I dread to think with what!!).

I complained to the manager who was extremely unhelpful and even argued with me that we couldn't have an extra sheet to cover the mattress with.

When we lifted the mattresses we found a beetle and other small insects. We also found a flea in the room which was rather alarming!

This was one of the most expensive places we stayed in Sri Lanka and also the dirtiest! I would definitely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyr0ne_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The Priyankara is one of the nicest new hotels I find in Sri Lanka. ( except the old english luxury ones) . It is quiet, the pool is big enought, the view on the paddy fields is lovely, the service is good,the rooms are large , perfect bathroom, very clean, the restaurant maybe the best one of the town. It is also very well located to visit Yalla and Bundala National Park. Bundala is incredible for bird watchers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianneLGaillac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
308 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
546 reviews
5.0 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kithala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kithala Resort

Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka (Formerly Priyankara Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range: £35 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kithala Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kithala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kithala Resort Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing