We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kithala Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kithala Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Certificate of Excellence
Chengdu
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

so it's a really nice hotel, and relatively excellent in sri lanka.
the beds are small in width.
the geese (or ducks) are a little bit annoying but it's not a big deal, really.
the breakfast is somehow disappointing not to have fresh juice.
I like the decoration of the ceiling of the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Objectively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    209
    79
    35
    17
See reviews for
146
222
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

A great hotel! Agree with other reviewers that it is under-rated - it offers quality accomm at a value price. Great rooms, lovely staff, very good food. Wonderful pool and modern, clean faciltities - would have liked to stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracytrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Yes, it's a traditional hotel so it's different from the cottages that you can find in other parts of Sri Lanka but the rooms are nice and clean with a balcony, the service is very friendly and the pool is great.
When you visit this area, you are here for the Safari so nothig more to say really, just don't be scared to go to this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flebarbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel was superb and the atmosphere is awesome.Good value for money and they welcomed us with a good welcome drink. the buffet dinner and breakfast were simply awesome. I liked the place and the service too is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SFFERNANDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

On arrival we were offered cold towel and a soft drink. The rooms of good size well appointed, clean and modern. The grounds big and well looked after with a lovely swimming pool. The restaurant offered good choice for dinner and breakfast. The staff was very helpful. Our stay was very comfortable and I wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukrmiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

A very good hotel with a new and lovely pool. Several ducks and geese in the area who like a drink ( from the pool. All the rooms have a pool view. Nice restaurant - possible to eat on the patio. Good buffet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I went to this hotel as part of my tour round Sri Lanka. Very clean and nice large rooms and very comfortable.
Especially liked the pool, which didn't seem very chlorinated, and the view.

My only complaint was that the service was a bit haphazard. There seemed to be a lot of junior inexperienced staff. One waiter asked if I had finished my meal, when I had put my spoon down to drink my cup of coffee!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sussexART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kithala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kithala Resort

Property: Kithala Resort
Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka (Formerly Priyankara Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kithala Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kithala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kithala Resort Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing