We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kithala Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The food and drinks are far too expensive. If you go on safari and get a breakfast pack, make sure it's actually arranged. Breakfast packs were pretty ordinary. Staff were not friendly. If you arrange a safari through the hotel they charge 6000rupees where as elsewhere it's 4500!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 000leigh000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priyankara W, General Manager at Kithala Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We don't arranged safaris from the hotel. when some one asked safari tariff we guided with approximate cost inclusive of the entrance fees and Tracker fee and jeep Hire not only the Jeep hire.
As a hotel policy we don't handle safari tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch on route to kataragama. Ordered basic veg rice ad curry meal. It cost lkr 1200 per head which is ridiculous!!!!! Lkr 500 is the max for that meal ad even that is pricey by local standards.... The prices in the a la carte menu were more expensive than a 5 star hotel in the heart of colombo.... Craaaazy prices... Definitely will not return...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Arunikaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priyankara W, General Manager at Kithala Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Our Ala care Menu prices are equal to any other 3-4 star hotel in sri lanka nothing expensive than the standred hotel prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Good location for exploring Yala National Park. Rooms were very good, as were their facilities, pleasant surroundings inside and lovely outside, surrounded by paddy fields. Hotel provided huge packed lunches and good dinners, buffet style. Loud music one night which was dificult as safaris need early mornings! Staff oblidging but aloof. No alchohol served on public holidays inc Christmas which wasn't an issue due to those early mornings.

Room Tip: further away from main reception/dining area to avoid music
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is well located to visit Yala park and Kataragama temple.
Rooms, dining hall and swimming pool are overlooking rice fields which are full with birds. the hotel is clean, modern, spotless clean with friendly staff and tasty food. excellent value for money

Room Tip: more privacy on second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnatfromIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Nice and clean, but expensive and we found that the place lacked character. The setting is okay (and the pool is nice) but nothing that justifies the price tag. No mosquito nets in the rooms and when the staff came into our room while we were at dinner for an (unnecessary) evening turndown they let mosquitos in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AB_and_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I had a marvellous time in the Yala National Park and after a long day we were looking forward to go back to our Hotel Priyankara.

Lovely setting just next to paddy fields, nice pool and lovely ambiance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcolino888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I can recommend this hotel for the holiday And the nice view with the pool and Nice room good for the what you paying
And also very very friendly staff and
Foof very good if some one like to visit sri lanka don't miss this hotel go and enjoy your holiday with this hotel and yala national park

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jaliya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kithala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kithala Resort

Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka (Formerly Priyankara Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range: £44 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kithala Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kithala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kithala Resort Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing