We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for visiting Yala NP”
Review of Kithala Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kithala Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good base for visiting Yala NP”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel and had an attractive upstairs room in what seemed to be the newest section. Our room was spacious, with a smart modern decor and a lovely balcony overlooking the gardens, lagoon and paddy fields. However, there were a few minor maintenance issues with the room (e.g. a very loose and slightly damaged toilet seat which the staff tried but failed to fix). The hotel's swimming pool was very nice, with a beautiful outlook.
This is not a big hotel and it is not surprising that the dinner and breakfast buffets are more limited than elsewhere and some of the food rather bland, but the hotel does its best to satisfy a range of tastes. From our experience, it is probably best to stick to bottled drinks as the service of other drinks was very slow - six fresh juices ordered by our party at the beginning of dinner were not served until we had nearly finished our dessert. Despite this, we found the waiters attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    222
    84
    38
    17
See reviews for
154
237
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a refreshing oasis from the hot and dusty Yala reserve park. The pool, although small, is delightful for just chilling out in the hot and dry weather. It is ironic and lucky to have a watering hole here while the rest of the region is experiencing drought, even the pond water levels are low.

One minor inconvenience is that Wifi connection can only be accessed on the main lobby. Service is also pretty unresponsive, I had to walk to the reception and call to get more shampoo but they STILL did not send to me any.
Other than that, It's good fuss-free stay here, rooms are pretty decent and basic. Restaurant has good view of the pool and paddy fields.
Ask for a special table by the pool for dinner if you want a special romantic night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alvin_Liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Yala National Park - itself an amazing experience. The room was clean and spacious with a lovely patio with lounger and easy access to the pool; we were on the ground floor. Other members of party had balconies - all were happy with the design and atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff. Yes, they are swift to clear the table but we found this in most of the hotels we stayed in while travelling around Sri Lanka. Easy tuk-tuk run into Tissa village.

Room Tip: Ground floor gives access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I had a wonderful time in Priyankara hotel. Everything was great. Nice room with nice view over the pool. The hotel is located in between Bundala national park and Yala national park so it has the perfect location.

I spend 2 nights there and I had breakfast and dinner included in my hotel package. You can choose between american breakfast or Sri Lankan breakfast. When it's time for dinner there will be 3-course menus to choose from. The restaurant is located on ground floor and you can sit indoors or outdoors.

The room I got had AC and a extra fan on the roof. Nicely decorated room with flat screen TV and complementary water bottles and tea and coffee option in the room.

When I was there they were renovating the front desk area, so now they must have a new fancy reception.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

I have written a full review of the hotel here: http://betravelsmart.net/2014/08/09/priyankara-hotel-for-wildlife-seekers/ there are lots of pictures of the hotel, the food and the rooms.

This hotel is at the moment on number 1 on TripAdvisor for this city. I think they really deserve this place. Everything was great. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mysan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon, doing a round-trip of southern Sri Lanka. We might have just gotten unlucky, but the fact remains that the room we was given looked like something that hasn't been touched for 20 years.

The pool was nice.

The AC wasn't working properly and had to be restarted for the remote to pick up the signal, after which it was either freezing or not doing anything (if there was a power outage, we had to get up in the middle of the night to readjust the whole thing, which took about 5 minutes of concentrated button-pushing).

The TV was a joke with no international channels (I don't think I've ever seen a CRT TV in a hotel) and a big blue stain in one of the upper corners of the screen.

Staff never helped us, for example even though the hotel arranged the driver for us, we brought our own gear from the room to reception

The food was ridiculously expensive. I think I ate the smallest burger of my life here for about 10$.

We had no real choice in terms of accommodation, as it was a last minute reservation, but if I were you, I'd avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeafoodSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brabant Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the beautiful Priyankara Hotel in Tissa. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, the pool is nice and clean and the people working there very friendly (except for the restaurant employees to be honest). The bellboy especially was very helpful and friendly, he was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
204 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

It's located lose to Tissamaharama town, near to Tissa wewa, by the side of the road towards Kataragama, 40 rooms, all amenities included, WC rather small and a bit dark lighting need improvement, some rooms have view but no balcony, medium sized swimming pool, views from hotel long Green rice fields, reception small, seating at lobby for about 15 people, good staff friendly and helpful, meals could improve by variety taste ok specially dinner, breakfast good range of green salads need to Improve, through the Tangalle and to Matara traveling via highway to Colombo distance 305kms approx 4hrs, overall it's a good small hotel in the area and no hesitation recommending a stay here. Room service is not the fastest, the room service crew don't know what the kitchen has to offer as we ordered some pork dish two said they have, one said they don't, again one said they have and finally it was not available, they need to know what they have and have not to offer to guests without causing delays, Mr.Priyankara the owner is hospitable as ever and is a very friendly gentleman.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gavin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
283 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
513 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kithala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kithala Resort

Property: Kithala Resort
Address: Kataragama Road, Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka (Formerly Priyankara Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kithala Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kithala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kithala Resort Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing