We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place, lovely people.”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #59 of 85 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the family that run it did everything they could to help us. It's in a beautiful location by the lake and perfect to explore Yala national park from. Affordable, i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alihare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at Lake View hotel for one night after visiting the nearby Yala National Park, bit difficult to find but it is clean & staff are very friendly, breakfast was freshly cooked & very nice, rates were very reasonable. But by far the best reason to visit is the view over the lake which is breathtaking, with a herd of water buffalo contentedly immersed, wish we could have stayed longer but we had to move on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Without a doubt this is a nice hotel. The room was very nice and clean and comfortable. The reception staff were very kind, excellent and helping for the guests. The owner, Mahesh is very nice person who helped us a lot to arrange our full day to trip nicely. As well this is perfect base to explore the Yala National Park as the hotel is far closer to the main gate. The safari jeep is new and very comfortable. The jeep driver Upul is very friendly, talented youth who knows everywhere in the park that animals are mostly behave. I highly recommend this hotel if you are searching a budget hotel that is clean and comfortable around yala national park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saman_weeratunga527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Overall one of the best hotels we stayed at during our trip to Sri Lanka. Our room was wonderful, the bed was comfy, the mosquito net was good, it was cool (AC) and clean. Right next to our room/bungalo there were both papaya and mango trees housing a few fruitbats during the nights. The fruitbats are harmless and doesn't make a sound so we appreciated them. As soon as you step our of the room you are met by a great view over the lake area. The breakfast and the dining area was really nice with a great view over the lake. The staff was very friendly and helpful!. We stayed here two nights and washed our clothes in the sink and let them dry under the AC-unit.

Positive:
* Food
* Service
* Rooms
* View
* Location (ok startingpoint for going to Yala safaris)

Negative
* Can't really think of anything. Would have been great if they had a swimmingpool, but a cold shower after the Safari was almost as good

Room Tip: If you have any advanced food requests let them know in advance (a few hours ahead)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niklas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Apopost1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Katarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank François Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Wind Hotel
Lake Wind Hotel
#24 of 85 in Tissamaharama
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serene Park
Serene Park
#12 of 85 in Tissamaharama
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
310 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 60 Lake Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range: £25 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake View is a charming hotel in front of the Tissa Lake, near by rice fields and temples. Our family offers different services: safaris, boat tours, good restaurant...and a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing