We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious meal with a great host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Cabana

New Cabana
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small road side eatery in Tissa serving the best local food we tasted in Sri Lanka and at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious meal with a great host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My partner and I were looking for a tasty Sri Lankan meal pre safari and this little restaurant delivered! The host was lovely and all food was prepared fresh and despite the delay in arrival was delicious. This operation is a family affair with Mumma cooking, the son assisting and hosting and the family living next door. This was probably one of our favourite meals whilst in Sri Lanka...can definitely recommend! Their garlic Naan and Dahl is the best!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DMorgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    69
    30
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food but…”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Recently visited the New Cabana after reading all the positive reviews.

To start I would say the food was very tasty and I could recommend that. We had curry (wife and I) and my kids had grilled squid and chicken stir fried noodles. It was very good. The curry and accompaniments all tasted very fresh with lots of nice vegetable side dishes.

What the place does lack in is decor, atmosphere and presentation. I'm not being picky but tablecloths were really badly stained - imagine a massive oil stain in the middle of the table cloth and the restaurant is just grubby overall. Also no music which was a shame.

I won't dwell but just think they do themselves a disservice when they could compete for one of the best in town.

Good luck

John

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic Food & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on the 3rd April and were so impressed we ate here again on our Last night. Do not be put off by the rustic exterior the food is good unlike the decor !.
We had jumbo prawns which were huge and very tasty with local fresh fish and salad. The owner who is also the chef was extremely attentive and explained how all the dishes would be cooked and the spices that would be used. A definite culinary high point on tour of Sri Lanka.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food, despite outside appearance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant following a personal recommendation, and we were not disappointed. We had the fabulous jumbo prawns, and lovely salads and noodles. The chef was very friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed the food so much that we returned the following evening. He could not have been friendlier, and made a big effort to prepare a special table for us, and even brought along a friend to sing traditional Sri Lankan songs for us. This was the best food we have eaten in Sri Lanka and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

Helpful?
Thank Pahkirkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clichy, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Jumbo prawns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had excellent jumbo prawns there. Price is average but food was excellent! Jumbo prawns were served with a very good mango salad.
Even if the restaurant is not the best looking one, the flavoury familial cooking , with generous portions really worth the price. We even had a third jumbo prawn offered!
I would definitely eat there again if i ever come back to Tissa and recommand it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delphine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Cabana also viewed

Tissamaharama, Southern Province
 
Tissamaharama, Southern Province
Tissamaharama, Southern Province
 
Tissamaharama, Southern Province
Tissamaharama, Southern Province
 

Been to New Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing