We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be if you need help quickly”
Review of Hotel Tissa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tissa
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Review of Hotel Tissa
The hotel is situated off one of the main junctions at Tissa with a pharmacy across the road and two banks a few yards away. The accommodation that we were staying in was a long way back from the main road and very quiet except for the sound of the birds of which we saw many varieties. We were in room 101 but there are probably only about 8 rooms altogether. The air conditioning and fan were excellent and the room was very spacious. The mosquito net over the bed was of high quality without any tears. The shower worked well and the bathroom was of a high standard. Mr Tissa who is a very nice man warned us to keep the door shut so that mosquitoes could not get in. In this whole area bites are a problem and you should probably apply Deet regularly, even in the day time if want to avoid them. The food was so-so and there was no wi-fi on offer from the hotel at the time we were there. I would say that the prices were fair.
Most people who stay would probably be wanting a trip to Yala so perhaps one should judge the place by the whole package on offer. The jeep-type vehicle was of the more comfortable type with cushioned seats facing forward. Yala is quite a drive and the road is bumpy both on the way to the park and within it. If like me you are getting on in age, the extra comfort is very welcome. We left Tissa at 5am. The way that it works is that the entrance price is fixed, but you have to pay again if you come out and want to go back in again. The park closes between 12 and 2 but you don't have to actually leave the park, since there is an areas you can stop rest and eat within the park during that time. Therefore the type of trip that Mr Tissa offers is a full day trip with food included. The park itself is amazing; very beautiful with lots of wild life. We thought that the our driver and our guide were excellent.
Unfortunately for us, when we stopped at a resting place, where you are allowed to get out of the vehicle in order to use the toilet and have a snack, my wife was badly bitten by a monkey. I understand that this does happen from time-to-time and only happens because some more aggressive moneys were accidentally introduced into the wild from abroad some ten year's ago. Obviously we were concerned about the possibility of rabies and needed to act quickly. Getting medical help in Sri Lanka, without local knowledge is not easy. It is here that Mr Tissa proved to be a real brick. He arranged transport to the doctor where we agreed on the appropriate treatment and then for us to be taken to the nearest hospital that offered the serum treatment that was needed. The hospital was a long distance from Tissa. The following day the second of a series of injections was needed for which we were able use the local hospital nearer to Tissa. We must now visit further hospitals as we travel for the follow up injections so we strongly advise staying well back from the charming looking monkeys!

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are back from the main block and start at 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Tissa hotel it's a small, centrally located property in Tissa. Rooms are basic but clean and in my opinion quite alright for a short stay (usual tourists pend 1-2 nights in Tissa for Yala safari). Rooms are large in size, aircon and spotless. The great feature of this property are the owners (and staff), friendly, welcoming and really with a great attitude. The food is amazing and quite original but local. We also booked the saferi with them and everything have been perfect.
I strongly recommend this property for a short stay in Tissa.
Ps. The location map in lonely planet guide of this hotel is wrong, better check directly with the hotel directions or get a tuk tuk

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iulia_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pepeijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Santinho007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malith G, Owner at Hotel Tissa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lora2lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yasser K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
1.3 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregory's Safari Bungalow Yala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tissa

Address: Main Street, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range: £8 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tissa is a beautiful hotel which is Situated Middle of tissa , filled with tranquil corners and blissful moments, set amidst the lush landscape of evergreen paddy fields, and a crystal blue lake filled with lotus flowers. It's the perfect setting for a long lazy holiday and the idyllic destination to explore the wildlife and nature reserves in the vicinity. Indulge yourself to the many comforts on offer and discover the inspiring wonders of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tissa Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing