We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this mouldy mess!”
Review of Hotel Tissa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tissa
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Multiple
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Avoid this mouldy mess!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This disgusting hotel is mouldy, full of insects and spiders. It was the worst room we stayed in in our entire stay in Sri Lanka. The owner is aggressive and unpleasant. The safaris are fine but much more expensive than equivalent tours with any other company. Stay away, there are so many options around, it would be foolish to spend a night in this unhealthy putrid hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    35
    26
    10
    19
See reviews for
15
60
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, in a clean fan room around the back. When we arrived they brought us a cold complementary lemonade which was much needed after out hot bus journey from Ella!

We considered looking elsewhere for a safari but after talking to the owners, decided to do it with them and pay a little more 5,000Rs each (5 of us in Jeep)

We left very early next morning for the safari (4.50am!) however we were the first jeep on site. Our driver was excellent and the owner came with us and was a brilliant guide. He had lots of knowledge of all the animals we saw. We barely saw any other jeeps (unlike if you pick a cheaper option and they all stick to the main park roads!) we drove through all the back roads and saw (among other things ) - Elephants, a leopard (which is apparently quite rare - even the owner was excited!), water buffalo, warthogs, deer, eagles, toucans, crocodiles, monitor lizards, stalks, monkeys and much more.
They also provided breakfast and snacks on the safari for us.

Would recommend to others

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sus704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We've been travelling for almost 3 months and this is by far, the WORST hotel we've stayed at. Firstly, our room was overpriced for what is was. Unfortunately there isn't much to choose from in Tissa and so we had no choice. Secondly, like other people have mentioned on here, the owner got angry when we decided not to do the safari with their hotel as we wanted to see if we could do it cheaper with another company. He offered to make our room cheaper if we took the tour with him but when he asked him later if that deal was still available, he said to us very rudely "pffft, I can make an extra $1000 rupees by asking other tourists wondering around outside" and stormed out. This made our stay there very very awkward. His wife also confronted us after we didn't want to eat at their restaurant and across the road instead, telling us lies about tourists getting food poisoning there. Even if they weren't lies, we would have gladly taken the risk anyway if it meant they weren't going to get another cent out of us.

Tip: For accommodation, try the Travellers Home up the road. They were really friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalithG, Owner at Hotel Tissa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
I am the owner of HOTEL TISSA. We are doing this hotel for Last 18 Years. I met this couple last 7th around 11.00am at the hotel. They were very friendly at that time. They were agreed to get the room with us & agreed to do the SAFARI with us 7 Hours tour witch is cost Rs. 6900/= for each.But we didn't got any advance. After few hours there not confirming the booking & telling me to Make it cheaper. after that I told them that if somebody came afternoon i will arrange to sharer with them. Then we got another 3 persons in the afternoon. then the price was dropped to 4900/= per person. then the other 3 persons payed the total price as advance, this couple came & ask from me "can you deduct 500/= Only 2 of us & we don't speak it with the other 3 ". I was really at a bad situation.
I believe this comment will effect my business, but I exposed my situation. travelers can decide what should do.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tissamaharama hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

we slept there for two nights and made the safari tour with them.
took a fan room that was reasonable but the pepole next room didnt sleep all night because their fan was making lots of noise, we heard it too in our room.
Mr. Tissa made everything to sell us the safary and was very nice. when we complained about the binoculars he became very agressive.
when we got the bill we found out he charge us 10% more for everything including the safary. all in all, definitely would say - avoid meeting Mr. Tissa and the place

Room Tip: just dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 501maya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and given a free welcome drink which, after 5hrs of traveling, was much appreciated. Despite agreeing a fee of 2500R for our room we were upgraded at no extra cost for the first night as the owner allowed a single lady to take our room. We moved to the other room (both around the back of the hotel) for the 2nd night and both rooms were pleasant enough.
We did the 7hr safari and our guide - Jenna - was really helpful & friendly. He managed to get us to be the first jeep to enter Yala! As a result we saw a leopard too which was great.
The owners of the hotel are really friendly and chatted with us quite a lot, with Mr Tissa sitting down with us after dinner, sharing a couple of drinks & also played pool with him. Mrs Tissa home cooked the food for us - vegetable curry & rice which was lovely.
As a 2 night stopover to do Yala I would recommend this place and their friendly & helpful staff.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobbio1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had just one night here, arriving on a bus from Ella and getting a tuk-tuk (100 Lkr) from the junction to our hotel.

We had room 106A, the last one of the newer block at the back 2500Lkr + 10% service charge?!!! We arrived at 11:30am and went straight to reception to discuss a safari. We were pursuaded to go out straight away because there was a leopard and her cub lounging around one of the rocks in the morning which might still be there. We were out on the road in our own jeep by 12noon (11500 Lkr all in for two people in a six-seater, forward facing jeep). At Yala National Park we saw lots of birds, mongoose, two elephants, crocodiles, wild boar, deer, a chameleon and eventually, just before we left, a leopard which crossed the road ahead of us and walked into the bush. We were back at the hotel by 6pm.

We planned for dinner in the restaurant but one meal came well before the other (the chicken curry was last) and, although initially the chicken curry tasted great it was raw inside at the bone – red blood flowing! I ate elsewhere although I did receive an apology afterwards. The Sri Lankan breakfast of hoppers, daal, egg curry and coconut sambal next day was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliechariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Staff were exceptionally helpful, spoke fluent English and made us feel at home. Organised the safari for us, and although we probably paid a tad more than the other jeeps it was well organised and we had a great guide. Rooms were so tidy, and there was fast wifi in the restaurant, overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kallista90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
1.3 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
283 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
565 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tissa

Property: Hotel Tissa
Address: Main Street, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tissa is a beautiful hotel which is Situated Middle of tissa , filled with tranquil corners and blissful moments, set amidst the lush landscape of evergreen paddy fields, and a crystal blue lake filled with lotus flowers. It's the perfect setting for a long lazy holiday and the idyllic destination to explore the wildlife and nature reserves in the vicinity. Indulge yourself to the many comforts on offer and discover the inspiring wonders of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tissa Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing