We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude manager , Awful rooms and more over worse customer service...!!”
Review of Hotel Tissa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tissa
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We booked three family rooms which said to be with all facilities.. but when we checked in the rooms which we got was the worse rooms ever. The A/c was not working, the beds were broken and most of all there was no water in the washrooms. when we talked with Mr.Thissa who is suppose to be the hotel manager was his reaction was... to say that its how hotels are serve rooms for the guest and that its approved by the tourist board. may be its good for guests who hasn`t being to a hotel to accept those facilities in a fully facilitated room. Any how this rude manager couldn`t face the truth and finally he chased us out of the hotel. i don`t know which government provided certificates for hotels who chase their guest with no due respect. we were never treated and felt like guests.
**** If anyone planning to accommodate this hotel PLZ DOn`T... Worst hotel ever met in Sri Lanka.. Such a disappointment

Room Tip: !! Really don't recommend it !!!
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Vihanga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalithG, Manager at Hotel Tissa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

BAD LOCAL PEOPLE.
HOTEL TISSA is a small hotel with 9 Rooms & with the Ceylon Tourist Board Approval. ONLY 11 Hotels in Tissamaharama got these approval to operate as a Hotel by CTB. There are more than 300 Hotels, Guest Houses & Bungalows operates in here.
Tissamaharama is a SAFARI Village.
Mr. HK Aruna Nandalal From 1062/1, Pothuarama Road, Malabe make the reservation by the phone on 12th April Saturday.
Because of the bank closed for New Year he didn't pay an advance for the reservation. He asked about the rooms.
The Rooms were 18" X 12" Sized, New king Size 2 Beds, 24000BTU New AC, Hot Water In the Bathrooms, Mini Refrigerator, TV, Table Lamp, Dressing Table Wardrobe, Sitting Chairs.
Also we given Our web site to check the photo's of the rooms.after that he called again & confirm the reservation by the phone without any advance.
This day 15th of April is very busy day to tissamaharama. All are coming for holiday.
They came around 11.40am with 16 Persons 2 Vans 2 Drivers. We speak to them we are cleaning the rooms & they can check-in 12.15. But we are warried about the too much people in three rooms.they speak they can mange it. They were unloading the baggages, they came as pilgrimages with Rice Cookers & Cooking Accessories. They take all those items to one family room.
We don't allow to cook inside our rooms. When speak with them about that they tald us there cooking everywhere they went. but I told that we cant allow it to be done.
After that we told OK you cook the lunch & leave from the rooms.
They use 3 rooms & 3 bathrooms until 2.30 & they leave the place without any payment.
Actually I have to say this PLEASE DON'T COME People Like you.

People who like to feel & enjoy the Nature are always welcome to HOTEL TISSA.
Tissa-Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tissa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed there for 1 night. We wanted to go to Yala National Park for safari and there are few places to stay in Tissa. Our room was back, in the garden area so despite we were in the city center it was really quiet. Room had an a/c but you have to pay extra to use it. Room itself was really standard - just a bed and a shelf and that´s about it. Floor was dirty, there were holes in the sheets - like big holes.
The staff was nice - a bit cold compared to others but that was even a bit refresshing.
The wifi worked only in the recception area.
Safari was great. At first we payed for safari for 2 persons (in 4 persons jeep) but we went to safari on a 6 persons jeep so they gave us money back (ok, they gave us a smaller check for the room).
We met an Italian couple there and neither of us understanded the hotel´s policy about check-out. Safari starts 5 in the morning and takes 7 hours so you arrive back to the hotel 12 o´clock. Check out time is 11 - so you have to back your bags in the morning and leave them to your room and when you come back from the safari the staff has brought your bags in the recception area. They said that if we want we can take a shouwer and use the toilet in the rooms next to recception area. Didn´t quite understand the logic behind that - everyone uses that hotel to go to safari so why can´t the check out time be a bit later..and when bunch of people arrive from the safari at the same time then 2 bathrooms to use..
Overall - great safari (saw 4 leopards and suprisingly many animals) but poor rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have not been happy at all of my stay in hotel tissa.
The manager was so rude, he yelled at me a few times, never smily, very grumpy. I really didnt feel like a guest/client. The hotel is not nice, rooms small and bed very dirty!!!
The safari was overpriced after we compareted to others people, and we didn't see much !!!
Really don't recommend it !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A well frequented and reasonably priced mid-level place near the bus station, with cheap rooms and four air conditioned ones in a clearing at the rear (well worth the extra for the wildlife!). They do their own wildlife tours at reasonable cost and the only thing that disappointed me was they charged 10% service on the hotel rate as well as the food & drinks - hopefully an error, but i didn't spot it at the time.

Room Tip: go for the ones at the rear
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hullmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Clean, tidy rooms, excellent food, crisp beer and importantly best in class safari tours- without doubt.

I whole heatedly recommend, would go again straight away and wouldn't consider looking any further at second rate alternatives.

We were there when some other punters were complaining in December and disagreed with their points of view as they were rude, unreasonable and ultimately embarrassed themselves and other travellers (review 9th December).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Lady that greeted us was very nice, we had a lovely, clean and spacious room at the back. Nice atmosphere. It was nice staying here. Perfect location close to bus station and restaurants. Despite what LP recommends I would stay here rather than Tissa Wewa area. Restaurant directly across the road did great food.

Make sure you check your receipt as they try to add 10% service charge to cost of your room, she did tell us this was an accident, however, I noticed others have mentioned this in their reviews too.

We also took a safari with Hotel Tissa, it was reasonably priced. We were told we would have an English speaking driver, but he didn't speak to us once. It was a race to get to the national park, we almost crashed into a herd of cows passing on the road as he was driving so fast, we felt very unsafe with his driving skills. The park was full of jeeps, very difficult to spot wildlife. I understand it was a safari and there is a chance of not seeing many animals, however the driver seemed to just follow others and know little about tracking. It consisted of continuously driving to various waterholes, sitting for 30seconds and then speeding off. Another examples was when we passed a tree full of monkeys, the driver was getting impatient that we weren't seeing anything so he stopped and revved the engine for a while to startle the monkeys to make them jump - not what I would assume a skilled safari expert would do.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are lovely, in garden area.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This disgusting hotel is mouldy, full of insects and spiders. It was the worst room we stayed in in our entire stay in Sri Lanka. The owner is aggressive and unpleasant. The safaris are fine but much more expensive than equivalent tours with any other company. Stay away, there are so many options around, it would be foolish to spend a night in this unhealthy putrid hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
1.3 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
374 reviews
4.0 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tissa

Address: Main Street, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tissamaharama
Price Range: £7 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tissa is a beautiful hotel which is Situated Middle of tissa , filled with tranquil corners and blissful moments, set amidst the lush landscape of evergreen paddy fields, and a crystal blue lake filled with lotus flowers. It's the perfect setting for a long lazy holiday and the idyllic destination to explore the wildlife and nature reserves in the vicinity. Indulge yourself to the many comforts on offer and discover the inspiring wonders of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tissa Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing