We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay on the way to south.”
Review of Taprospa Tissa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taprospa Tissa
Ranked #48 of 77 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Short stay on the way to south.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night on our way towards south coast, and for afternoon safari to Yala national park. We were the only guests, given spacious ground level room at the end of main building, facing towards the lake. Having tea and observing lake was very nice. The room was clean. Half board served in standard quality. The pool with some dirt on the bottom but was cleaned next morning. In summary, very nicely located hotel due to Tissa lake and national park. Would definitely recommend staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 585Petr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
25
28
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Taprospa in Tissamaharama for one night in the last week of June 2014. It is a small property with only 15 rooms and is definitely not a luxury resort. However, the Resort is located in a beautiful place facing the Tissa Lake, which gives the guest more than he asked for in terms of natural beauty and peace of mind. Almost all the rooms faced the beautiful lake and one could just gaze at the lake for hours watching the nature at its best. Especially in the night after the sun had set and in the early morning before the sun had arisen, the guest could feel the beauty around him, in this property. We spent a lot of time watching the lake and the birds and relaxed without getting disturbed.It indeed was a beautiful experience. The rooms and the bathrooms were spacious and clean.The food was not great but eatable. May be Taprospa should look at a brand new Menu in the future.The staff members were definitely friendly and courteous at all times. I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thushani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our room with lake view is quiet large. The bathroom is clean and we had a very good shower.
I wish I stayed in the room and enjoyed the lake view instead of going to the worst safari in my life time. Tissa is not as famous as Yala, but Tissa is a great place for relax and doing nothing and enjoy the quiet lake. I like Tissa more than Yala, and the hotel provided us a great place for relax. I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Earlier this year I stayed in Taprospa Palm Leaves in Jaffna, and I enjoyed my stay there very much. So when looking for a place to stay in Tissa- I trusted the Taprospa brand. This is what we found: an average hotel beside an above-average lake with below average food. The hotel is compact and feels intimate, the small pool looks over Tissa Wewa and the rooms are simple but clean. The newly updated bathrooms are wonderful (giant rainsoaker shower heads and endless wonderfully hot water.) The meals, however, were really not very good. The meals were heavy on rice, bread noodles and light on flavor. The dinner buffet was a mishmash of odd things, and, surprisingly, the only meat on the buffet was pork. If the meals had just been a little more thoughtful, this hotel would be a gem of a place. The staff was lovely, and the Safari the manager helped us arrange was well worth the money. Our advice: take B&B, not halfboard, and find your dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior doubles overlooking the pool and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaLenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This place is ideal for one night. If you are looking at going to the yala national park. The resort is facing the lake. We got a spacious room overlooking the lake. The room was clean. Service is also good, friendly staff. They provide packed breakfast which was very handy for the long early morning safari.
They also arrange jeeps for the park. The swimming pool overlooks the lake as well.
The area for drivers however was not clean and our driver was not happy with the driver room facilities there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeptisarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stay there for 1 night in March 2014. We got a nice and spacious room with own porch and lakeview. The room was very clean as well and the staff very friendly. We did not eat there except for breakfast which was good. We can recommend this hotel if staying in the Yala Nationalpark area.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank prapbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Taprospa Tissa made a perfect overnight stop between Uda Walawe and Yala national parks and, for £30 a night for a double room with breakfast, was excellent value for money.
The 70s-style modernist hotel is on the shore of the Tissa Wewa lake and has its rooms clustered around a peaceful garden and pool with views across the lake towards the 2,000-year-old temple poking up through the treetops in the distance.
Our poolside ground-floor room was tasteful, modern and spotless, with flat-screen TV, a comfy bed, a nice bathroom with good water pressure, and a kettle for tea-making (apparently the hotel has been taken over and is slowly being modernised by one of the bosses of the Mackwoods tea empire).
There were only a few other guests when we stayed, so the overabundance of friendly, attentive staff made for a very pleasant stay.
We arrived hot and dusty from our Uda Walawe safari, so it was nice to chill out around the pool with a cool drink. In the evening, the pool attendant took us on a wonderfully relaxing hour-long canoe trip (paddled by two of his friends) around the shores of the lake, pointing out all the wildlife along the way. We saw fish eagles, ibis, cormorants, kingfishers and crocodiles, to name but a few. It was heavenly, and also cost only 2000 rupees for two. If you stay here, it's a must.
In fact, we probably saw more bird species during this romantic sunset trip than we did during two and a half hours slogging round the tourist-packed Yala national park the next morning!
After setting off at 5.30am the next day for our Yala trip, we returned at about 11am and were kindly offered a late western breakfast after the hotel had stopped serving, which was a nice touch.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and would definitely return if in the area.
The only minor criticism was that the pool, while perfectly located, was a bit grubby and the tiles needed a good scrub to remove the "tide mark" around the rim.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vinylrichie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.5 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarind Tree
Hotel Tamarind Tree
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taprospa Tissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taprospa Tissa

Property: Taprospa Tissa
Address: 15 Tissawewa Road, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Water Front Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Hotel Class:3 star — Taprospa Tissa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Taprospa Tissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taprospa Tissa Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing