We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in Sri Lanka”
Review of Richard's Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richard's Cabanas
Ranked #4 of 88 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Without a doubt, the best place we stayed in Sri Lanka! Beautiful cabana, great dinner and breakfast. Very likeable and helpful owner gave us a great deal for safari to Yala. Check out the spices and vegetables in the garden. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vakantiegangers010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Bungalows are newly built with very nice bathrooms. Everything is immaculate. Each Cabana has a small terrace facing the little river. You can watch the magnificent birds from your terrace or enjoy a perfect dinner of very delicious and homemade rice and curry. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_M_L_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We have booked 2 nights in this lovely place.
Unfortunately when we got to the place we understood something went wrong with our online reservation and the guest house was fully booked..
We did not have the pleasure to stay in this lovely place, but anyway the owner do his best to arrange for us (at the same price) another incredible accommodation...
He took care of us for everything, transport free of charge, safari and transfer back to the coast...
What an incredible professional man!!!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fra1579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

just arrived home after a fantastic trip to sri lanka- the highlight for us being a 4 night stay at richards cabanas. so much so, that we have joined trip advisor for the sole reason to thank ajith and his family and friends for such a memorable experience.
after reading some negative comments on the internet about yala, we decided to source our own safari experience and with the help of ajith, decided on an overnight camping trip taking in both 'block one' (which is the most popular part of the park, due to most tourists wanting to see the leopards that inhabit the area) and also 'block two'; the wilder, less explored part- teeming with birdlife and many animals. our drivers and guides all had many years experience of working in the park and consequently, we had the most amazing experience, one that will stay with us forever.
richards cabanas is a beautiful place and even without the safari, would have been memorable enough in its own right. we are seasoned travellers and have visited many places and until now, said we wouldn't return to the same place twice as there is so much of the world to see, but we've just found the exception to that rule

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank combatpeterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I'm very surprised by the poor review I've just read, about it not being clean, and bugs and all that. I spent a night at the cabannas on my way to Mattala airport to go on a business trip, and I found the place spotless. I had a huge homely Sri lankan dinner, and Ajith clearly knows his stuff and is really concerned about the environment. He drove me to the airport and then picked me up on my return at a very reasonable rate, and let me leave my car there for the 4 days I was away. And it is truly good value for money.

I didn't write before, but seeing the negative review made me want to come in and counter that. It's a good place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flora_dora010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardcox52, Manager at Richard's Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hello, Flora Dora

Very many thanks for your comments.

I hadn't replied to the writer of the negative review, as, of course, one does not argue with customers.

It was upsetting for Ajith and his wife, as they spend hours scrubbing and rubbing the cabanas to make sure we maintain the reputation for 'spotless' cleanliness.

As far as the 'bug' is concerned, I wonder what the nature of the beast was? We do get the odd gecko - and though people unused to these can mistake their intentions, they are helpful little things, as they eat flies and prefer to stick to the walls.

In respect of hard selling by the host on the safari tour, we do not provide safari tours - we don't have a vehicle to do this. If clients want to do a tour we happily contact one of the tour companies to provide it.

Once again, thank you so much for helping us maintain our reputation!

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Not as good as described. The room was not very clean. A bug crawled onto our bed, good that we saw it before we slept, but my girlfriend could not sleep well because of it.

We got quite a lot of sales pressure on the safari tour from the host.

Will stay in other places next time, like Tangalle, and do day trip to safari. Tissa is too commercial and overpriced.

Room Tip: Stay in other cities close by, then do the afternoon safari on a day trip. Tissa is too commercial...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank VLoveCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Coming to Tissa, we didn't expect very much. We wanted to see Yala and were planning to travel further as fast as possible. That's until we arrived at Richard Cabanas! We knew we could trust Ajith when he arranged a safari for us for a very competitive price without any bargaining (and without pushing us). And yes, we did saw a leopard!!

The place is peaceful, in a way you can't imagine in Europe. The garden is well kept and when you enter the 'secret garden' in the back and settle in the birdwatching mud hut, you must be in heaven.

The Cabanas are spotless. You know you've come to a good place when you enter your cabana and you immediatly wish you had this at home...At the moment Ajith is building a bigger cabana, to accomodate families! The way he oversees the workmen, you can understand how the cabanas are nothing less than perfect.

Another big plus is the amount of privacy! You have your own terrace and can eat/drink there. Very romantic!

He speaks fluent English and learns his guests about ecotourism, birds and Sri Lankan specialties.

We stayed two nights and wished it could be more...!

PS: take the free (!!!) bikes for the tour Ajith marked on the map, you'll be amazed

Room Tip: You can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelgianLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Yala Peace Cottages
Yala Peace Cottages
#2 of 88 in Tissamaharama
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Edge Holiday Inn
Lake Edge Holiday Inn
#3 of 88 in Tissamaharama
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coconut Gardens Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard's Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Cabanas

Address: 38 Galmadawwa Road | Ponchiakurudoga, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range: £32 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richards Cabanas is located amidst calming greenery and peaceful natural surroundings. It provides complimentary parking and rooms with free WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Richard's Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richard's Cabanas Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing