We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise for backpacker prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Richard's Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richard's Cabanas
Ranked #4 of 74 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise for backpacker prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful, memorable stay at Richards cabanas for 3 nights. Amjith arranged a whole days safari at Yala for us, his knowledge and advice were essential for an amazing safari. We were lucky enough to see a leopard walking beside our jeep for a good 5 mins, and there were only 2 jeeps there.
The cabanas are very high standard, comfortable and cozy. There is a beautiful garden with a small river behind with an abundance of beautiful tropical birds, which you could sit and watch for hours.
We ate at the cabanas every evening, the food was the best we ate on our whole trip. The rice and curry was fabulous! Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Officegodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    24
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
160
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Holy wow. This is one of those "if only I had found this place earlier" / "I wish I could have stayed longer" reviews. Tremendously friendly welcome, amazing room, they could easily have charged much more. Oh, fantastic food, too. Let's add "best food I had in my entire stay in Sri Lanka". Because it's true.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

There are two cabanas/bungalows in a nice little garden (sadly not lake-front). Each cabana has its own terrace and large room with twin beds. The bathroom is also large and absolutely spotless! Hot-water with good pressure. The rooms are airconditioned. My only negative comment is that they are a bit dark inside and could do with more lighting.

The owner, Ajith, is very friendly and helpful and can also arrange a jeep for the Yala safari if you wish. We ate a rice and curry dinner served on the terrace and it was one of the best I have had in Sri Lanka. Fresh food and generous portions. All in all good value for money and will most likely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielfernan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Without a doubt, the best place we stayed in Sri Lanka! Beautiful cabana, great dinner and breakfast. Very likeable and helpful owner gave us a great deal for safari to Yala. Check out the spices and vegetables in the garden. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vakantiegangers010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Bungalows are newly built with very nice bathrooms. Everything is immaculate. Each Cabana has a small terrace facing the little river. You can watch the magnificent birds from your terrace or enjoy a perfect dinner of very delicious and homemade rice and curry. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_M_L_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We have booked 2 nights in this lovely place.
Unfortunately when we got to the place we understood something went wrong with our online reservation and the guest house was fully booked..
We did not have the pleasure to stay in this lovely place, but anyway the owner do his best to arrange for us (at the same price) another incredible accommodation...
He took care of us for everything, transport free of charge, safari and transfer back to the coast...
What an incredible professional man!!!
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fra1579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

just arrived home after a fantastic trip to sri lanka- the highlight for us being a 4 night stay at richards cabanas. so much so, that we have joined trip advisor for the sole reason to thank ajith and his family and friends for such a memorable experience.
after reading some negative comments on the internet about yala, we decided to source our own safari experience and with the help of ajith, decided on an overnight camping trip taking in both 'block one' (which is the most popular part of the park, due to most tourists wanting to see the leopards that inhabit the area) and also 'block two'; the wilder, less explored part- teeming with birdlife and many animals. our drivers and guides all had many years experience of working in the park and consequently, we had the most amazing experience, one that will stay with us forever.
richards cabanas is a beautiful place and even without the safari, would have been memorable enough in its own right. we are seasoned travellers and have visited many places and until now, said we wouldn't return to the same place twice as there is so much of the world to see, but we've just found the exception to that rule

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank combatpeterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.2 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coconut Gardens Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard's Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Cabanas

Property: Richard's Cabanas
Address: 38 Galmadawwa Road | Ponchiakurudoga, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richards Cabanas is located amidst calming greenery and peaceful natural surroundings. It provides complimentary parking and rooms with free WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Richard's Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richard's Cabanas Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing