We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable and relaxed”
Review of Richard's Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richard's Cabanas
Ranked #4 of 88 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

They were fully booked when we arrived so we came back the next day for two more nights. Having seen the competition we were even more grateful for the warm welcome and friendly service at Richard cabanas. The room was superlative for its price range, the bird watching from our veranda a pure joy. Had we been there for our first night then we would definitely have organised our safari here too, as our host had great experience in the field, respects the nature park and the animals in it and would have considerably reduced the chances of a safari marred by wild driving and animal chasing. Richard cabanas is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very nice and quiet place near yala. The owner speaks very good English, the houses are very clean and the jeepsafari can be organised by the enthousiastic owner. We did a daysafari but a half day safari is sufficiant, or make two safaris to different parks. Good food served on your terrace!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marinaooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

If you are going on a safari this place is great. The manager is very friendly and helps you arrange anything you want. He is very knowledgable about the parks and wildlife so he can answer all your questions.

The rooms are big and very clean. Good A/C, fan and mosquito net. The food we got served was very good, maybe a bit pricey, but not more than other places around.

We did a whole day safari, and he arranged sandwiches for breakfast and the best curry we've had in Sri Lanka for lunch.

The safari was good, but a bit expensive, and not negotiable prices, the lunch as mentioned was also good, but pricey. We payed 18000 + 3500 for lunch. The driver was good, but the jeep/truck was not the best around. It's an Indian brand, and I would guess the that the HiLuxes and Mitsubishis has a bit better suspension, but the seats are just the same so I don't think it's very noticeable.

So I recommend this place, but if you are on a strict budget, you can get by a bit cheaper if you stay somewhere else and/or arrange safari somewhere else.

Richard is a good business man, so he knows how to earn money, but he is not pushy, and let's you arrange safaris with others if you want.

+ for having a big cooler with water and beer in the jeep :)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank espenhogbakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We decided to stay another night, because it was so nice over here! We stayed in the cabana near the river. We were given binoculars and a bird book to watch the birds that were flying around over here. Also, the owner showed us around in his garden. The room was very spacious and clean. Dinner was very good, we loved the curries. We rented bikes from the hotel to go around in Tissa city center, which is very nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelien90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Richards cabanas. Ajith, the manager is friendly and helpful. The welcome juice was delicious and he chatted with us about doing a safari in yala national park. He organized it and made a pot of tea for us at 4:30am before our safari. The rooms are thoughtful and detail oriented and I would only suggest that they add some more lights because the room was a bit dark. The safari was good but I would suggest that if you want to see other animals beyond a leopard make that clear with the driver because, understandably, they are very focused on finding a leopard for you. Ajith also loaned us a pair of binoculars and bird guide book that was helpful. Wished that we had more days to stay there!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank travel4fun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a fantastic time staying at Richard Cabanas. The host Ajith was fantastic and welcoming. The room was large, clean and modern and surrounded by nature. There were two peacocks in the stream next to our room when we arrived.

Two things for us set this place apart. Firstly Ajith's wife cooked us the most amazing traditional Sri Lankan dinner and we had a wonderful breakfast also. The food is amazing and the best we have had in Sri Lanka.

Secondly, Ajith himself was a safari guide for over 20 years and has strong connections with the safari drivers. As a result he was able to book a tour with a very experienced driver to Yala National Park. Where other drivers just drove past, ours would stop and spot something. We saw all the animals we could wish to see including a leaped multiple Elephants. This connection alone is worth staying at Richard Cabanas.

The price is very reasonable also. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lachlan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Truly a gem tucked away in Tissa. My parents and I stayed for three nights and used it as a base for Yala. There are two very special things about this place: Ajith (the host), and the beautiful natural setting of the cabana (by a canal, surrounded by trees and many many birds!) Ajith's wife prepared our meals, and the food was very tasty. We especially enjoyed breakfast on the verandah with hoppers and fresh fruit! Dinners were great too, and Ajith tried to accommodate all our requests. Also, several birds were nesting in trees in Ajith's garden, and it was fun to sit on the verandah and watch them (with the binoculars that Ajith lent us)!
The place is very clean, and excellent value for money. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Request the cabana closest to the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Yala Peace Cottages
Yala Peace Cottages
#2 of 88 in Tissamaharama
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Edge Holiday Inn
Lake Edge Holiday Inn
#3 of 88 in Tissamaharama
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coconut Gardens Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard's Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Cabanas

Address: 38 Galmadawwa Road | Ponchiakurudoga, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range: £32 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richards Cabanas is located amidst calming greenery and peaceful natural surroundings. It provides complimentary parking and rooms with free WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Richard's Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richard's Cabanas Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing