We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly, beautiful hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flower Garden Lake Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Tissamaharama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

An exquisite, low-key "resort" (it actually has only about 5 or 6 "cabanas" in total.) Set among beautifully kept gardens, next to a lake you can walk around, watch local fishermen, buffalo and other wildlife, do some ad-hoc birdwatching (kingfishers abound in the flower meadows alongside). The quality of the food emerging from the kitchen was amazing (two of the three of us are veggie). The pool is small, with little bridge going over it - very picturesque. The place is down a series of little tracks away from the town of Tissa(maharama) - about three quarters of a mile to a mile away - so it will ideally suit peace & quiet lovers (like us). Cabanas were large, beautifully and tastefully furnished, with everything provided. Extremely well-priced too. Staff are quiet and unassuming, very helpful despite struggling a bit with English.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Threeberthcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel is a bit far away from Tissa so you need to take a taxi or a tuk tuk to get there. The hotel itself is great. The cabins are spacious and clean. The food is good and the service exactly as it should be. I stayed at the hotel for two nights and had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights in one of their lovely cabanas.

This hotel is situated a little out of town but it is in a lovely location next to the lake. The water level was quite high when we were there so you couldn't do a lot of walking next to the lake but the birdlife was superb with lots of Sri Lanka's typical waterside species to be seen and it was great to watch the farmer herding his water buffalo. It was also very nice to walk around the nearby footpaths.

The rooms are large, comfortable and well maintained.

The meals were generally good. The staff are very helpful although not a lot of english is spoken and they all work hard to keep things spotlessly clean. There is a nice little pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is a little difficult to find and is not the most centrally located hotel in Tissa. However, this has it's advantages as it is very quiet with the lake right behind the hotel (we actually saw water buffalos bathing in the lake!). The rooms are big and new with all the amenities required. The pool is also a great place to relax after long days at the safari and the actual garden is lovely. Our main reason for staying in Tissa was for the safari at Yala and our hosts were able to put us in contact with a safari company, which is the best way to organise your safari. In our opinion, we received fair rates and our driver had good knowledge of the animals. The hosts were attentive and really did try to help out in any way they could although speaking English was not their strong point so it was sometimes a little difficult to communicate. The food which was served both for breakfast and at dinner was really tasty. They have a wide variety of choices on the dinner menu and we ended up preferring our meal with the hotel than in town. Overall we had a great stay as it was very relaxing and perfect for our main purpose of going to Yala for the safari.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HWAP_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights because I wanted to do Yala National Park safari. It's honestly off the beaten track. A small muddy lane leads to the hidden resort by the lake.
The pool is nice. All guests get an individual hut. All is modern is well kept. We were lucky enough to board a fisherman's boat right at the lake outside the hotel. The lake is seriously not a tourist attraction, hence, honestly authentic. I simply love it. The boat was a great experience.
The boys at the resort are helpful. I would recommend this place to everyone. And this resort has a nice subscription of TV program! HBO for example. Many good English channels. Very good to wind down at the end of the safari day.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KevinChen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Tissa as a base for our Yala Safari, but the flower garden lake resort ended up being one of our favourite places we stayed in. The staff were incredibly attentive and the food was some of the best we've had - made even better by the beautiful evening setting. The rooms are clean and well finished with air con and a near silent fan! Highly recommend this place - sitting on the porch in the evening watching the local farmer Shepard his water buffalo in to the lake for an evening bath was truly memorable.

Only two very small concerns - no mosquito nets in the room, but we didn't get bitten. And the staff could do with their own private room to kick back in in the day when they aren't need by guests as they tended to look a bit lost in the main eating area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anouska13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Have just finished 2 nights at this wonderful resort and wish it had been more! The rooms are large and finished to a very high standard, certainly ahead of many of the other hotels I have stayed in, in Sri Lanka. The staff are lovely, so helpful, and the food absolutely delicious, could not fault this place at all. The resort is on the lake and hidden away from the main roads, so you would not necessarily find it, unless looking for it, perfect for relaxing next to their nice pool. Great stay, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissamaharama
0.5 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
280 reviews
5.5 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
331 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
576 reviews
11.6 mi away
Jade Green Hambantota
Jade Green Hambantota
#2 of 5 in Hambantota
41 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Lake Resort

Address: Tissamaharma Road | Weerawilla, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Tissamaharama
Price Range: £25 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flower Garden Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Flower Garden Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Lake Resort Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing