We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Shangrila by a majestic lake”
Review of The Yala Adventure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Yala Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A perfect getaway in a picturesque setting - we sought a refreshing holiday and that's exactly what we got. Amidst the chirping sounds of birds and panoramic views across a "gigantic lake" (as appropriately titled in Sinhalese), what we also got were luxuriously designed tented accommodation with air-conditioning that had most of the amenities of a standard luxury hotel room. The view of Tissamaharama from the top of the action tower is breathtaking.

Late afternoon, we set off by a canoe with rows larger than us. It did give me a workout of sorts. We docked on a deserted island on the middle of the lake and was amazed at the sheer privacy of this island which provided a perfect backdrop for a camping site. Alas ! we hadn't brought our equipment with us to enjoy a sojourn in this island. we promised ourselves to come there again. Our return trip back to the mainland resort produced further thrills with a five minute dip in a shallow area of the lake - however we were warned of straying crocodiles !

Back at The Yala Adventure we freshened for the evening and midst a bonfire we had a barbecue with spirits. The resort staff took all pains to see that our stay was a wonderful and an enjoyable one. However, we did not have sufficient time at the resort to engage in the fun-filled action packed activities like abseiling, ariel roping and of course a game drive at the nearby Yala National park that are also part and parcel of The Yala Adventure that should not be missed. We promised to be back there for all of this...

Room Tip: The air-conditioned tents beside the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

28 th June v suddenly planed to visit Katharagama n v booked ,This yala adventure n wanted to give surprise for my children giving accommodation at a tent. They never had experience b4 in this type of luxury living at a tent. Its very very clean n comfortable. The green environment gives more relax. kids enjoyed with Archery n they wanted to stay longer. Now planning again to visit(smiley). V enjoyed Sri Lankan food made from fresh vege n fruits from the garden.
Finally I should write this is very very eco friendly place should visit n feel this experience.........

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Indika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Yala adventure for a night in June 2014. We had a warm welcome and a lovely Sri-Lankan lunch. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We stayed in a Luxury tent that amazed us. Within the tent a big king-size bed and a spacious bathroom- very clean. The staff left us an abundant fruit basket with assorted fruit.
On the adventure front, or more an exercise front we rappled from the tower, tried our hand at archery and went for a walk along the lake which was 100 metres from our tent.
It ended with a barbecue lakeside by a night bonfire.
A few points to note - request for the built in AC tent rather than the portable AC, although it was not hot in the night, we prefer it cooler.
Great one day stay , we recommend this as the stop spot for your Yala safari. The property is lovely and rooms maintained well but what was the icing on the cake was the warm hospitality of the staff.

Thanks to Mr. Chintan and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celine1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was in The Yala Adventure with my family . this elegant concept compound with the nature plus all the modern luxurious facilities' truly
​made our holiday an unique as well as a comfort one . As they provide free Wi Fi facilities I was able to do my office works via internet without any hassle . while swinging in hammock with your laptop & doing your works is a amazing experience .
Thank you & wish The Yala Adventure the very best of luck in future

Room Tip: Tent accommodation is a new experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamanUdagama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Vegetable & fruits plucked from their own organic home garden. Environment friendly concept. You must see the bird eye view of their Agilent tower. Picturesque view.
The Yala Adventure is a very peaceful place. Birds everywhere. No one is there
to disturb you. They are highly concern about the security & the privacy. Foods & specially fruit juzys are mouthwatering.

" Truly an amazing experience in Yala coupled with nature . mesmerizing surrounding & cozy accommodations. The worm hospitality of the friendly staff is something more than i expected. This is a
place you have to go definitely . I would not think twice to spend my next holiday at The Yala Adventure .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravisam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Vegetable & fruits plucked from their own organic home garden. Environment friendly concept. You must see the bird eye view of their Agilent tower. We stayed in the second floor. Picturesque view. They arranged us a nice candle light dinner on the roof top on the tower. Dinner above 60Ft from the ground..!! Rooms are tidy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronan123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Yala Adventure is a very peaceful place. Only the sound you can here is the sound of Birds. No one is there to disturb you. They are highly concern about the security & the privacy. after a long journey the warm well come we rsvd make us fresh. Foods & specially fruit juzys are mouthwatering.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalpa_Rajapaksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.9 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
369 reviews
6.2 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
395 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
601 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Safari Inn
La Safari Inn
#1 of 87 in Tissamaharama
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yala Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yala Adventure

Address: Waweyaya, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Tissamaharama
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yala Adventure 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you luxury room accommodations & tent accommodations face to the Yoda lake with nature surround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yala Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yala Adventure Sri Lanka/Tissamaharama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing