We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are we missing something here?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenuta Le Sorgive - Cascina Le Volpi
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solferino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I have just come back from this farm stay and I have to say that we were pretty astounded with what we found compared with what some of the reviews say! While we would concur that the hosts are wonderful and the building attractive the price they are charging and what you get for it just don't add up!

On the surface of it the rooms are nice enough, but look a bit more carefully and you find dust in every corner and mould in the grouting in the showers. The pool is distinctly shabby, untidy and when we went there taken over by a large group of teenagers who were shouting and playing loud music. (We could only assume they were friends of the owners children who were sitting there with them at the time) Worse of all however - there were two manky looking farm dogs in there aswell!! How they can advertise this pool as being for guests enjoyment is beyond me!

Breakfast, again was a huge disappointment. Having worked and stayed in different types of accommodation all over the world for years now, I can honestly say this was one of the poorest I've had... Stale tasting bread, lukewarm 'hot' water, butter missing, chipped mugs and toaster so old and decrepit that I'm amazed it didnt burn the place down. Flies everywhere (understandable given its a farm, but my god - buy a kitchen fly killer, plug it in and pull a net curtain or something over the door!)

All this for 110euros per night! I can only imagine that the (very nice) owners have got very complacent over the years - or that or they are just over it. Sawdays really need to take this one out the book!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCWParigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here with our two kids (10 & 12) and another family with kids (10 &7) and we all loved it. The owner Vittorio was super helpful with suggestions of things to do nearby. Omberto, his son, is in charge of Archery at Le Sorgive...which we all loved. The breakfasts were fresh and amazing. The rooms were clean. The grounds were clean. We loved the hammocks, ping pong table and pool. We didn't take advantage of the barn and horseback riding- perhaps another time! And their wine is good as well!

Room Tip: I think the downstairs room might have been cooler, which is where we were. No air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed the apartment which is simple but has a modern and useful kitchen, and I cooked dinner everyday and we had wonderful times at their garden. Also we enjoyed the meal at the restaurant, Volpi, every lunch time.
There is a big supermarket near Le Sorgive, and it helped us a lot. Vittorio and Adreana were kind enough to let us use their washing machine, and that helped us a lot, too.
My husband and I enjoyed the horse-back riding for an hour along the mountainside, while my 9-year-old son was enjoying the lesson for half an hour. It was very kind of them to look after our younger children during the time. Everyday we enjoyed the swimming pool and it was impressive that whole the family members at Le Sorgive and Le Volpi got together at the pool area after their work and had a good time there. Their lifestyle is beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank take_koji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Very well situated for trips to Lake Garda and lots to do. This is a great family destination. We took an apartment for the week which suited us well though we ate out as the food and wine is so good around here. Both Vittorio and Adriana were very friendly and full of great ideas on where to visit and eat etc. Vittorio's sister Anna runs the restaurant and she was very welcoming. We did a horse riding lesson with her son but didn't manage to to do any archery. The best thing in my kid's opinion is probably the swimming pool! We will definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We came back for the second time this year with our 3 daughters(ages 3-7) and we felt very welcomed even before we arrived - when Vittori and Adriana have done their best to help us with the neccessary adjustments we asked for. The farmhouse has offered us both the ecitment of horseback riding, Archery, use of the charming pool which is a few minutes walk from the farm house and at the same time also morning walks to the grapefields around the farm, relaxing in the great Hammock outside the room and use of the Gym in the building behind the farm . We liked their wine and bought a few bottles. The breakfast is very tasty and the restaurant Le Velopi( a few minutes walk) also offers good food for reasonable prices (ask for the lake fish which is not mentioned in the Menu). Vittorio, Adriana and Umberto(their son) are great hosts and will do everything to help you - I know it may sound like an adv for the place but the reality is that we realy enjoyed it there and strongly recommend the place. A/C - we, who come from very warm weather are used to A/C in every place but it is not needed at night or in the early morning hours but if you plan to stay in the room during the day - it might be slightly hot

Room Tip: ask for the appartment at the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanFarhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vittorioserenelli, Proprietario at Tenuta Le Sorgive - Cascina Le Volpi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Dan,
thank you for you kind words.
It was a plesure to have once more time among our guests.
We hope to meet you in future.
Kindest regards

Vittorio and Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Vittorio and his wife offer a warm welcome, and are always available for advice and tips about visiting the region. The rooms are clean, the pool excellent and the garden plus hammock pleasant. Downside: I wouldn't recommend this as a romantic hideaway for a couple, but yes for families. Other families can make a racket and the rooms aren't exactly sound-proofed. Also, we had to wait 2 days for the right towels to be delivered after bath towels weren't left in the room. A bit far from Lake Garda if you have come just to visit its environs. The restaurant (owned by Vittorio's sister) isn't great shakes but there are other opportunities in Castiglione (Le Sorrento) or at the nearby hypermarket which sells cooked food. On the whole though we had a lovely stay and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodders78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

this was our second visit, it didn't disappoint. The children ( AGES 7- 14) all love it here. A great location, loads of space.lovely pool. Fab food. on the down side, no air conditioning but there is a portable fan for the bedroom. Very limited kitchen equipment. Our apartment had no cooker or microwave, but my sisters' apartment did have a microwave.Beautiful home made produce such as honey and wine to take home.
They could do with upgrading the apartment equipment and sofas now, but tthose are the only negatives.Victtorio and his family are extremely welcoming and he speaks very good English!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solferino
1.8 mi away
Dunant Hotel
Dunant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castiglione Delle Stiviere
505 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Dei Tigli
1.1 mi away
Locanda Avanguardia
Locanda Avanguardia
#1 of 2 in Solferino
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Chervo Golf Hotel Spa & Resort
8.6 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Boschi
Agriturismo Cascina Boschi
#1 of 2 in Volta Mantovana
286 reviews
6.1 mi away
Agriturismo La Casa del Mandorlo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Le Sorgive - Cascina Le Volpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Le Sorgive - Cascina Le Volpi

Address: Via Piridello 6, 46040 Solferino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Mantua > Solferino
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solferino
Price Range: £70 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siamo a Solferino, nella verde oasi delle Colline Moreniche in provincia di Mantova, a 10 chilometri dal Lago di Garda. Uno scenario naturale incontaminato che fa da sfondo a suggestivi borghi medioevali, pievi romaniche, antiche ville e castelli...Il complesso agrituristico dei fratelli Anna e Vittorio Serenelli è inserito nella vasta tenuta della famiglia, le cui tradizioni agricole si rintracciano nella storia della nobiltà veronese fin dal XII secolo. Fra boschi, campagne e ampie distese di vigneti vi sono gli edifici del compesso: "Le Sorgive" e "Le Volpi", due cascinali ottocenteschi ristrutturati che offrono l'opportunità di una vacanza all'insegna del benessere, del relax, del divertimento.Gli ospiti possono soggionare in confortevoli stanze o in miniappartamenti. Il ristorante, grazie alla varietà dei prodotti dell'azienda, offre le delizie di una cucina genuina in ambiente curato e ospitale.Per i più dinamici sono a disposizione palestra, maneggio, spazi e attrezzature per ogni svago all'aria aperta.La struttura può ospitare anche meeting aziendali . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tenuta Le Sorgive - Cascina Le Volpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing