We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Auberge Provencale
Nearby Hotels
US$237
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Castel du Roy(Breil-sur-Roya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
18
61
28
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
61
28
9
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights on our mountain biking trip to Sospel and the hotel is handy, willing, and definitely trying hard to improve but still has a way to go.

Good would be...easy to town, v friendly young chap running the place, clean, good shower (in room 7 anyway).

Disappointing points...breakfast served on nasty red plastic trays (omg !!!), v v poor representation of what you are going to get in the rooms from the professional photos they've put on trip advisor, toilet doors leading off bedroom 1 inch off the floor letting noisy toilet noises and smells into the room (aghem !), poorly finished decorating in rooms, slightly bonkers stuff in the restaurant (clothes rail !!) and the list does go on.... Oh and the breakfast was good for croissant and coffee but nowhere near enough on goodness for our biking trip as we needed real food and lots of it but no chance it seemed.

They are building a new patio on our trip, no issues with the builders and it's going to make for a good entrance to the place but I really hope it's finished properly in detail as true attention to detail is what this place seriously lacks which is a great great shame as they are spending on so many upgrades to the place.

I'd stay again but it's not cheap for what you get, but trying hard it seems hence my 3 instead of 2 or 1 star rating. I'm sure they will get there though in the end.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mikerobinson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in L'Auberge Provencale last September with 8 persons.
Very nice updated rooms and a nice H/B presentation.

The view over Sospel is very nice. Positive supprissed!
Owner: Please add a swimming pool, then i will come back and i give a 10!

Room Tip: Nice terras for long summer evenings. If you are here, please drive over the Col de Turini and visit the restaurant on the top; It's a Monte Carlo museum.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

There is a lot to like here, fantastic views, lovely modern room, comfortable bed, delicious food but the service is 'patchy'.

We stayed here during a walking holiday, it is a lovely area and the village is great too. The packed lunch we had from the hotel was fantastic!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have not been modernised, make sure you don't get one of them!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrumpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Perched on a hillside just above the town the views from the terrace are amazing, the bathrooms, pretty new and fresh, the furniture for the most part attractive provencale type, nice modern outdoor furniture. But this is marred by tacky artifical flower arrangements (why not just use dried lavender), cliched sculptures, bad art in the entry and no art in the rooms, threadbare printed sheets. Just a bit more investment and a critical eye and this would be an infinitely better experience; Ditto in the kitchen -- no reason to use bottled salad dressing (if it wasnt, why make it taste like it was)? The croustillant au fromage resembled frozen food for fussy children. However house wine was good and reasonably priced. Still probably the best place in Sospel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancyjanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived in Sospel in the pouring rain. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the town and at first we had trouble finding the correct road to get there from the train station. (we were walking)

Of course we were completely drenched when we finally made it to the hotel. The staff was warm and friendly and we felt right at home. They showed us to our room immediately so we could take a warm shower. The room was adequate, but clean. The shower was wonderful! It was a large walk in shower with great water pressure.

We ate dinner in the restaurant inside as the weather was not good for sitting outside on the terrace. The view from the terrace was gorgeous but, everything was wet from the rain. Dinner was excellent with a buffalo mozzarella and tomato salad and a mixed vegetable and fruit salad. We also had a spaghetti entree and a veal entree. I don't remember what we had for dessert, but I do remember they were excellent and we ate every last drop of them!

There are 2 men who run the place. I believe they might be the owners and I cannot stress how nice they were. It felt like they wanted us to relax and enjoy ourselves.

Although we had booked for 2 nights, we ended up staying only one. At the last minute, we decided to take a side trip to Monte Carlo --it was close, we had the time, and we had not been there in years.

We purchased lunch from them for our trip and they prepared a delicious lunch with generous amounts of food. You could tell they took time to make it a nice meal for us.

I cannot stress how hospitable this place is. They were the nicest people with a wonderful little gem of a hotel. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UptownGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews