We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to get away - to fish or just relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to get away - to fish or just relax”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My fishing buddy and I just returned from our second visit to Chesters in three years. As before, we had a great adventure on a do it yourself fishing trip. The inn is in a great location, close to many flats that can be accessed on foot, by bike, by kayak, or truck.

The accomodations are comfortable, the food excellent, and our hosts and staff treated us like family.

Chesters and Acklins is a great place to get away - it is only an hours flight from Nassau, but a world of difference from the crowded, touristy Nassau.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChestersHighwayInn, Manager at Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
THANKS for your kind comments.

It has been said that to fly fish the waters on ACKLINS, one needs at least 3/three months ... ....soooooo many bone fishing flats, the snorkeling, diving and deep sea fishing!

Your return again and again is humbling and speaks to the fact that you've had many fresh, unbelievable encounters on the flats!!

As a "Team", we aim, with much pleasure and joy, to have you experience relaxation, peace and continuous 'screaming reels' on the flats ....retiring in the evening with much excitement.!

Julius, Valerie & I are grateful, FAMILY, for YOUR return to home away from home!

BLESSINGS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My friend and I went to Chesters two years ago and we are going back in a week. The owner is a native that has returned from a successful career in Nassau. You could not ask for better hosts. The room was kept very clean. The meals were great with some local dishes served. They did everything to insure our comfort including keeping the bugs at bay. We were able to fish from the lodge if we wanted, use a kayak, bike, or truck if needed. We did not want to spend too much for fear our wives may seek revenge. It was very affordable. As a bonus there is some good birding. I saw my first Flamingo.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChestersHighwayInn, Manager at Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
We are humbled by your kind comments! Our purpose is to ensure that your fishing experience is always memorable....constant 'screaming reels' while keeping the no see'um' & company away!

ACKLINS is remote, virgin and tranquil...you will meet GOD here! Sorry about not having the shopping malls & ATM's! As you have exciting bone fishing days, your 'tales' of your expeditions must cause your wife some anxiety. A suggestion: plan to bring them along for 'a balance.' Our "Team" will 'play our role' however you may have to forfeit fishing time!

You're smart keep the cost at a minimum and affordable allowing daily options!

We're looking forward to your return...SEE YOU SOON !

BLESSINGS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

In the summer of 2011, my mother and I travelled to Acklins to visit a family friend. We searched the Internet for accommodations and came across Chester’s Highway Inn. Chester’s Highway Inn is operated by a friendly and efficient husband and wife team. The in provided transportation to and from the quaint airport in Spring Point, Acklins.
Chester’s Highway Inn located across the street from the bone fish flats. Traffic is not a problem! (The population of the island is approximately 450 persons. We ate all of our delicious home-style meals at the inn. The service was excellent. If you are not interested in bone fishing, you can relax on the porch with Scooter (the Chisholm’s friendly dog). Thank you Arnette and Julius for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The inn offers one-bed room apartments on the ground level. Depending on the temperature, you can c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChestersHighwayInn, Manager at Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
You Ladies are simply AMAZING! We were happy to make your acquaintance remain in contact since your visit to remote ACKLINS ISLAND! Thank You!

The beauty, remoteness and tranquility of ACKLINS is breath-taking! You will want to bring your lap-top to complete your projects & study while here the next time (!!?) These can be done only after shell collection, and caving! We will arrange to accompany you on a tour of Crooked Island...just 20/twenty minutes away.

You sent your delicious 'pastries' in the cooler of the Mail Boat for us & our late mutual friend! Kind ...generous!

Again, thanks for your kind comments !

BLESSINGS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acklins Island
0.0 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
0.0 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge

Property: Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge
Address: Chester's Highway, Acklins Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Acklins Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Acklins Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge Acklins Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing