We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge
Clarenville, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I spent 3 short days at Chester's Highway Inn. I wish we could have stayed longer. Arnette and Julius ferried us to and from the airport, provided wonderful home cooked Bahamian meals and catered to our every want and need. They provided us with bikes which allowed us to get off of the roads and explore the mangroves. We took a fast 10 minute ride on a 'ferry' with the bikes and toured around Crooked Island one day. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. I reminded me of how the Bahamas was back in the 60s. We loved it. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a very relaxing, laid back vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Arnette and Papa Chiz were very gracious hosts; very sweet, warm people who are genuinely interested in making sure you're comfortable and successful! JJ is an A-one guide with an uncanny ability to spot fish for you! Four of us spent 7 days at Chester's and fishing the flats for bonefish. The lodging was very clean and comfortable and we had everything we needed to count our trip as a great time and superb success. The meals were excellent and there was always plenty of cold beer waiting for us upon our return each day! I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJPATTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Very clean modern accommodation with a/c, excellent showers/loos.
Arnette looked after this pair of fisherman just like our mums would!

Good food but limited menu probably due to remoteness of Acklins and weekly supply boat.
Bikes and kayaks set us free to fish where and when we wished, either on the doorstep or further afield.

Only downside, you couldn't sit outside during our stay (March 2013) due to ravenous mosquitoes and 'no-see-ums' despite covering our skin with Deet.
Our one-day fishing guide was excellent - he can find bonefish in the carpark!
Possibly do a return trip one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Five bone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lander, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at Chester's in December, 2012. The owners, Arnette and Julius, are very nice, warm people, and made our stay very enjoyable. The food was home cooked and excellent, and the lodge was very clean (they also provided bottled drinking water). We used the kayaks and bikes and they were in great condtion and made exploring the beautful surroundings fun. We are looking forward to visiting Acklins again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

February 2012
Hard flats, bonefish aggressive, tides barely matter, always uptake, I caught 7 fish on a full moon.
Laughing, so many fish. No tarpon, few permit, but lots of bonefish.
Quite windy, funny tides, hard to spot the fish and cast.
Visited at the last week of January/first week of February.
JJ, the fishing guide – enthusiastic, great coach, hard worker. Had to ask him to quit at the end of the day.
I’ve fished Belize, Cuba and Long Island
Chester’s rooms were well designed and well built. Mr. Julius is a retired contractor from Nassau. The rooms have central AC; lots of hot water, clean fridge, snacks/beer/bottled water, coffee maker, microwave and a DVD player.
Bikes and Kayaks all in good repair. The wifi worked, sometimes even for a movie download.
Bigger issue: no bank, no credit card, no ATM. Guides are reasonable but must get cash. I write with some reluctance; I want to come back, save me some spots!
Ms. Chisolm a spectacular chef. Grouper, lobster, BBQ chicken, Conch salad, and good coffee. Get wine, liquor in Nassau or on the way from Spring Point Airport. Haiten Rum, Barbancourt is the best! I asked for a Bohemian breakfast and got huge portion of sardines, sautéed garlic cloves, and yellow grits – Delicious!

Room Tip: Bring cash and your own supply of wine and liquor from Nassau or on the way from Spring Point Airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1stLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChestersHighwayInn, Manager at Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Our goal ...aim.... is to have you see & catch lots of fish....while you're at home-away-from-home!

You choose one of Acklins' best Guides ... JJ ...He KNOWS where to find the fish!!!

Thank you for coming our way...Julius enjoyed showing North Acklins ...!
We're looking forward to your return!!

Thoroughly enjoyed 'soul' chatting at our dining experiences ... AWESOME!

ARNETTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were a party of six who were visiting the beautiful Acklins Island for the first time. We weren't bone fisherman and just wanted to explore the island and meet the residents. We were warmly welcomed by Julius and Arnette and enjoyed great hospitality for 2 nights. Julius took us on a tour of the island, we had a picnic on a deserted beach and snorkelled over a blue hole only about 40 yards from the shore. The food was wonderful (particularly the lobster salad) and we enjoyed very spacious rooms and the hospitality bar. Julius introduced us to friends and neighbours on our tour and we can recommend Family's flour cakes! We enjoyed amazing sunsets right in front of the lodge and used the hotel kayaks. Acklins Island isn't easy to get to with only 2 flights a week from Nassau but it is well worth making the effort to visit and experience this beautiful island and the Bahamian welcome we were given.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - they have a large sitting room with a sofa, table and fridge as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 261SandraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChestersHighwayInn, Manager at Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thanks for your kind comments RE: Acklins Island! We are truly virgin, remote with absolutely NO NOISE, NO POLLUTION! You observed while waiting for the anticipated burnt orange sunset ... for hours ... not one vehicle passed by...NO TRAFFIC !!!

Julius was 'beaming' as much as you were after seeing y'all "lite" up swimming the blue hole just 40 feet off the side of the road, the "Adam/Eve" snorkeling day, your kayaking in front of your the Lodge and the dancing !! All these truly added much joy to the fine dining and the soothing nights rest !

We aim to please! You overcame many "hurdles" to reach ACKLINS ISLAND. Your stay with us as you said was "too short!"

Again thank you for coming and please ... let's do it again! You are wonderful genuine folk with amazing "souls" !! BLESSINGS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My fishing buddy and I just returned from our second visit to Chesters in three years. As before, we had a great adventure on a do it yourself fishing trip. The inn is in a great location, close to many flats that can be accessed on foot, by bike, by kayak, or truck.

The accomodations are comfortable, the food excellent, and our hosts and staff treated us like family.

Chesters and Acklins is a great place to get away - it is only an hours flight from Nassau, but a world of difference from the crowded, touristy Nassau.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChestersHighwayInn, Manager at Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
THANKS for your kind comments.

It has been said that to fly fish the waters on ACKLINS, one needs at least 3/three months ... ....soooooo many bone fishing flats, the snorkeling, diving and deep sea fishing!

Your return again and again is humbling and speaks to the fact that you've had many fresh, unbelievable encounters on the flats!!

As a "Team", we aim, with much pleasure and joy, to have you experience relaxation, peace and continuous 'screaming reels' on the flats ....retiring in the evening with much excitement.!

Julius, Valerie & I are grateful, FAMILY, for YOUR return to home away from home!

BLESSINGS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acklins Island
0.0 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
0.0 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge

Property: Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge
Address: Chester's Highway, Acklins Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Acklins Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Acklins Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester's Highway Inn Bone Fish Lodge Acklins Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing