We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lancelot part of Le Roi Aurther”
Review of Le Roi Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Roi Arthur
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ploermel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel Lancelot as a recommendation from Brittany ferries. The hotel is part of a golf complex, this section being the self catering part of the hotel, we stayed as bed and breakfast however.
The main part of the hotel looked very nice, especially the restaurant. The room we where taken to seemed to be the budget section. It was all ok, clean and a large room. We had air conditioning but no kettle or hair drier.
The bar was in the main part of the hotel and overlooked the golf course and a lake.
The other side of the lake has a man made beach with water sports etc. A roped of swimming area was manned by life guards.
Breakfast in the morning was served in the Michelin star restaurant. Well worth going to. A very good selection food all continental.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleroiarthur, Directeur général at Le Roi Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,
Je tiens à vous remercier de cet avis très gentil et détaillé sur les diverses prestations du Domaine du Roi Arthur avec Lancelot et l'Hôtel Spa Le Roi Arthur.

Je suis ravie que votre séjour ait été aussi agréable et que vous ayez pu profiter pleinement de l'ensemble des installations et facilités qu'offre le Domaine.
En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau.

Cordialement.

H. Le Saux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Le Roi Arthur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

The setting is great, plenty of parking for the Jersey cars and party that arrived, a warm welcome was received. Our rooms were comfortable with a balcony giving us wonderful views over the golf course and lake and we were pleased of the tea/coffee facilities. Apart from the 19 of us there were maybe 6 other dinner guests, approx a third of the restaurant capacity. Speaking on behalf of 3 of the party, we found the set dinner menu limited, one choice per course, but were offered one alternative which some took. Our duck starter with curry sauce set in between mille feuille sheets was tasty, but the main course of Lotte (monkfish) was awful. It was served cool on cold plates and some of the fish was raw, 4 were sent back from 5 served at our table. The alternative -loin of pork was undercooked and red. Very disappointing as we have stayed at Le Roi Arthur 4 times before so we know that it can serve a much better dining experience. Perhaps the main chef was away and it was a limited staff that looked after us? But congratulations to Jean-Pierre who received the many complaints with a smile on his face. Sadly it will be quite a while before we visit this hotel again. Dawn

Room Tip: If you eat in the restaurant, sit on your serviette as the chairs are plastic and it is can be damp...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleroiarthur, Directeur général at Le Roi Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your trust and your fidelity. We have red your message with interest. We have understood that you were disappointed with your dinner especially because ot wasn't cooked enough. If you red the others reviews our restaurant is very appreciated and recommended. So we are sure that evening was exceptionnal. The Chief was not here but his Second and all the staff are very good and involved in the Cuisine. Please, we hope you will visit you again. You need to give us a second chance. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Staff pretty good and welcoming a strange lounge set up or lack of. Nice walk around the lake Free vend on the pool table, which helps given the Swimming Pool was completely cloudy and full of bacteria as a result needless to say we did not use it or the Spa in fear of the same. And the toilet pan within the room was cracked! which put a mystery twist on using the Thomas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterboyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have not stayed at Le Roi Arthur hotel, but we did stop in for a lunch en route to Carnac, thanks to a Red Guide recommendation, and we were very happy we did. A moderately priced three-course menu du jour offered a number of delights, including an extremely well-executed Seven-Hour Lamb dish; a starter of prosciutto and melon, and dessert (a small but superb creme brulee) also were excellent. Service was polished and friendly; a nice touch was that once the servers established that we were passing through the area they asked us what sort of pace we wanted for the meal, and the moderate pacing that resulted worked out very well. The view out onto the golf course and lake were an added bonus. In all, the restaurant at Le Roi Arthur was a very lucky find, and gave us a very pleasant break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleroiarthur, Directeur général at Le Roi Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Sir and Madam, we are very pleased that you enjoy your Gourmet moment at the Roi Arthur restaurant. Indeed, we are recommended by the Red Guide with 3 forks assuring our client of the finesse the inventiveness of our dishes. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our restaurant…or even in our Spa-hôtel whose view on the lac will surely please you.
Best regards,
Hélène Le Saux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The hotel is situated in very nice surroundings. A beautiful golf field and a lake with ducks were fantastic. The parking is not a problem because there is a lot of parking space for the cars. You need to have a car to go around because the hotel is not in the Ploermel city center. The hotel is two floors. We have been there for a business trip with 4 of my colleagues. One of my colleagues stayed at the ground floor room which was small and there was no minibar at the room. On the other hand my room was at the second floor and it was a big room and it was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean but there was no central heating in the bathroom. There was an electrical heater hanged on top of the bathroom door and you can’t keep the bathroom warm because you can’t keep that electrical heater on for a long time.
The bed was clean and cozy but again there was a problem of heating also inside of the room too. The heater element in the room was small so it was not enough to heat the room easily. I had to put one extra blanket while I sleep. The internet was free and fast enough to complete the necessary tasks. And finally, there was no AC in the room. It was winter so I didn’t need it but in the summer it can be also a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salih Ahmed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleroiarthur, Directeur général at Le Roi Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thanks for giving us the possibility to improve our customer experience by sharing your comment on the hotel. The Roi Arthur hotel has a global heating system and 16 Rooms are equipped with their own Air Conditionning system. Moreover the heating in the bathroom are automatic and stop after 7-8 minutes in order to preserve the environment and optimize the temperature in the room.

Hoping to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Hélène Le Saux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is an excellent hotel, with superior service and knowledgeable, polite staff. The restaurant is smart with a view of the lake and an accomplished menu. The wine list was substantial and the bar was manned at all times with food available on the terrace. The rooms were spacious and quiet even though the hotel was full during our stay. The lake and the golf course added to the overall good impression presented by this modern hotel.

Room Tip: Even the ground floor rooms have good views because of this hotels design.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peacorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

we stayed in the suite overlooking the lake and golf course and were delighted in every respect.The old adage was shown to be correct you get what you pay for.Ecellent.
The restaraunt food matched the quality of the hotel, wnd we will undoubtedly return

Room Tip: The suite is well worth the extra price
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ploermel
18.4 mi away
La Gree des Landes
La Gree des Landes
#1 of 2 in La Gacilly
701 reviews
12.3 mi away
Logis Le Relais de Broceliande
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Cobh
Hotel le Cobh
#2 of 4 in Ploermel
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Thy
Le Thy
#3 of 4 in Ploermel
38 reviews
12.8 mi away
Domaine de la Ferriere
0.8 mi away
Le Retour De Peche
Le Retour De Peche
#4 of 4 in Ploermel
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roi Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roi Arthur

Address: le Lac au Duc, 56800 Ploermel, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Ploermel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ploermel
Price Range: £124 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Roi Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the middle of an 18-hectare ancestral estate, Hôtel Le Roi Arthur is a contemporary-style structure providing an array of panoramic views : sky, golf course and lake. Nestled in the heart of Brittany, the hotel offers comfortable and relaxing accommodations. Extend your relaxation to the well-being center that features a spa with a sauna, hammam, heated indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. Enjoy a creative cuisine in the dining room or on the terrace in the warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Roi Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing