We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for a basic room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whaling Station Cabins
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A basic clean hotel room, with limited amenities...no wifi, limited cable TV chanels, no drinking water despite " boil water advisory"...expensive by my standards but there are not many options....food in restaurant good nd reasonably priced...go figure..

Room Tip: Chose the upstairs room so you do not hear people walking on the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Adjacent to the Red Bay National Historic Site, Whaling Station Cabins offer historic refurbished accomodations with incredible views, great service and congenial hosts. The owners, Marilyn and Bim Bridle take pride in their business and it shows. The staff are local people also; always happy to offer a hand or tell a tale.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed in Cabin # 4. Not at all impressed during my stay. When we checked in some of the dishes were dirty yet there was a sign saying dishes had to washed before checkout; so we know the cleaning lady don't inspect them after guests checkout. We could not use the pots & pan to cook any meals as the coating was peeling of them and the frying pan had so much build up on it you couldn't even fry an egg. Toaster didn't work it would partially toast the bread on one side the other side didn't toast all. Bathroom fan didn't work and the bathroom needs a complete overall. The windows were not clean at all. Had a phone in the cabin but no phone book, no contact numbers posted anywhere in cabin in case of emergency. No fans in the cabin to cool it down couldn't open the windows as the flies were numerous and window screens didn't work as flies would find a way in the cabin.We were not told there was a boil order on when we checked in. The next day while we ate at the restaurant a bus tour arrived and we heard the lady tell them there was a boil order on. The server who took our order that day never mentioned anything about a boil order on either. Spoke to the lady upon checkout when I told her about the issues she didn't seem to concerned. As to the boil order issue she informed me a boil order has been on for many years; yet it was fitting to let bus tour groups know about it but not other people renting her cabins or eating at her restaurant. This tells me a lot about the management of these cabin and the restaurant; also "don't expect to be compensated for the poor stay" Canada Select you gave them 2** what cabins or when did you inspect them?????? Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Try another town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nanny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A wonderful place to stay when travelling in this area of Labrador.

We stayed in the Loft room, which had recently been renovated. It is a very large room with hardwood floors, a large king-size bed, a small kitchenette, a fireplace and an entire wall of windows overlooking Saddle Island. The bathroom was also very big and was fully equipped.

The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the chairs were great for reading in while looking out the window. There were plenty of extra towels and pillows.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They successfully managed to maintain control of the small restaurant and gift shop when a large cruise ship docked and the village was flooded with approximately 1200 people.

Room Tip: The Loft - for all the reasons above, and because it offers privacy from the wandering tourists belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScreechedIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in the Stage Head Cabin on July 31, 2013. Very spacious and clean room equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee maker and kettle. Located on the wharf you have a fantastic view of Red Bay and the fresh sea air makes for a comfortable sleep. The Whalers Restaurant is on the premises for a meal (open 8AM to 8PM). We met an other couple who told us they were late checking in (9:30 PM) and the kitchen staff made them a supper !

The Red Bay UNESCO center is adjacent and a must visit.

We would recommend this location !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhillyNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent my birthday there. was just like i was family. Card and cake at the restaurant. Great food a must on your trip. The Parks Canada center was very Interesting. If you are a history nut , great place to get Info .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwwebley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Last June we stayed in one of the Whaling Station Cabins in Red Bay , the Strand House. This cabin is just as you want it to be : cozy , well equiped , beautiful view on the harbour , and quiet , very quiet. The Cabin has nice windows facing the harbour , and the bed , located on the mezzanine floor , gives you beautifull wake-up views...Car is parked just outside the cabin.
From the oustide the cabin doesn't look very welcome , but it sure is a great place to stay.
There's a small restaurant in Red Bay , it's also the place to register and get the key for your cabin.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EricNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whaling Station Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaling Station Cabins

Address: P.O. Box 98, Red Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > Red Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Red Bay
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing