We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional exhibit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Bay National Historic Site

Red Bay National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Red Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“exceptional exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This exhibit is worth the trip to Labrador. There are multiple exhibits with many historical artifacts and descriptions. The staff are very attentive and ready to answer any questions you may have. The boat trip to Saddle Island is worthwhile as it puts some perspective into where the artifacts were obtained.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill
Level Contributor
320 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit earlier in the day to ride to the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived too late for the boat, so the main building at the top and further exhibits at the bottom of the hill were all we could do.

Views were spectacular, and the staff were genuinely enthusiastic and very happy to show us everything. We learned a lot about the whaling history of the area and it was very rewarding.

Gift shop has some locally made items, not cheap, but good quality.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another missing piece of Canadian history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Much like L'Anse aux Meadows, this is a bit of Canadian history that I had no idea existed, and which I find fascinating. The interpretation centre is very well done. Make sure to catch the boat out to the island and have a walk around.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fabulous visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

EXcellent museum. If travelling with kids and you are in any Parks Canada site such as this one, please check for their Explorer programme or any other activities for kids. Our kids ranged in age from 5 to 10 and all, plus myself and my 86 year old mother really enjoyed this programme. Not only does it encourage the kids to look for things both in the visitor centre and around the site, it rewards them with certificates and surprises at the end of the visit.
This particular site had a fabulous musical instrument that we are going to re create and share with our 5 year old grandson's school. We learned a lot about the Basque culture.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bejazzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Labrador in the 1500's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had no idea that there was this kind of industry in Labrador in the 1500's. Or that the Basque fishermen would sail all the way here in their tiny boats.
This historic site is very well done. You start up the hill where you register, get some background and check out a few exhibits. Then down the road to the main centre with all kinds of artifacts and some reconstructions. Staff at both locations are knowledgeable and helpful.
Getting here is also an attraction. The drive from Blanc-Sablon is very scenic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KA_Travel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Bay National Historic Site also viewed

 
 

Been to Red Bay National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing