We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Over Priced!”
Review of Clode Sound Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlottetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clode Sound Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Restaurant is over-rated. Small rooms for the price. The only good thing about it was it is in the park. The pool is nice and big. The outdoor ambience was nicer than the rooms. Staff was friendly. Very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DontStopExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Let's face it, if you're not camping, there are not many choices for lodging in this area. But we found this motel to be very satisfactory. Our room had a separate kitchenette area with table and chairs and a nice deck onto the back yard. Surprisingly to us, their wireless service was excellent. The attached restaurant makes great food and has very friendly staff. The breakfast with home made bread was outstanding.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We actually just stopped for lunch took a look at the accommodations and thought we could check in and still drive a couple of hours and see the countryside. What a treat. So many local people have been going to this facility for 20 plus years. It has everything you need clean, good beds, excellent shower, and great food. So good, I tried to have a nap in the afternoon but all I could smell was the bread baking and turkey cooking. Such a problem. Pool and hot tub is excellent well taken care of and the grounds with the flowers are beautiful. You really have a feeling of staying in a cabin with all the ammenities. Thank you to Nellie and her staff, for making our stay so special. We stayed the first night the drove to Twillingete, the came back for a second night, we felt we came home. Even if you just stop for lunch have the home baking, and pick up a fresh loaf of bread!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dodges48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Well folks, if all you need is a place to rest your head, then go ahead - stay at the Clode Sound Motel.

Otherwise you will not be impressed. Staff seemed like they didn't give a rat's behind (unlike 99.9% of Newfoundlanders)

Outdated, basic and tired-looking. Even the fridge was unplugged when we arrived. How the heck does a guy keep his beer cold??

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank westyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The location close to Terra Nova park is convenient, and their internet site does a good job at gettin you there. However, the units are old and small. There is no real dining or sitting area, it is basically a bedroom and a washroom. The interior looks like it is original from the end of the 50's. The staff were not interested at all to share some experiences or connect with us.
The pool was ok though, much warmer than the ocean, and rhere is a hottub, which we did not try out.
If the would refurbish the units soon, this may be worth a visit, but we do not recommend in the current state.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Cornelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clode Sound Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clode Sound Motel

Address: 8 Main Street, Charlottetown, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlottetown
Hotel Class:3 star — Clode Sound Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a seasonal operation from May to October with 19 Housekeeping/ Motel Units, 1 stand alone Three Bedroom Cottage, Award Winning Fully Licensed Restaurant, Outdoor Pool, Tennis Court, Hot Tub Chalet, Stone BBQ pits, free Wi-Fi and free Parking. Perfect base while exploring Terra Nova National Park and area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing