We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaded owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Cow Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After two lovely weeks traveling in Newfoundland, our last night was at this B+B/RV Park. For starters, the owners from Alberta were not nearly as warm and hospitable as any of the other B+B owners that we stayed with throughout Newfoundland. In addition, we were a bit put off by the warning sign in the room about not accidentally taking their hangers and it all made perfect sense to us the following day. Not long after we left in the morning I received an email from Roberta saying we had taken the tissue box/tissue box holder from the back of the toilet and that she wanted it returned ASAP as it was so special to her. I responded that we did not have it nor did we see anything like that in the room. I felt that Roberta's emails after that were appalling and very upsetting to my mother and me as she continued to go on about this tissue box holder. When we had arrived, the caulking on the toilet was still wet as the toilet had been repaired shortly before we arrived. It made perfect sense to me that someone perhaps had moved the tissue box when the toilet was being repaired. Roberta flat out rejected this suggestion and went on to tell me about her elaborate checklist system for coasters, hangers, toilet paper etc. I'm still not sure why telling me all this justifies in her mind continuing to blame a guest when something goes missing. Clearly her system didn't work this time but she was too arrogant to recognize that and perhaps have a good look around. Yes, the building is lovely, we did have a comfortable sleep and the bacon was delicious... but all the bells and whistles do not matter at all when our lasting memory of this place was how poorly we were treated by Roberta. It seems to me that Roberta is jaded and has such little trust in her guests quickly assuming that her guests would steal things from the room. If you are in the area, I recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundLover, Owner at SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

To the many guests who have stayed with us and know us and out future guests please look at all the positive comments about My wife and I and our 4.5 star B&B.
This person and her elderly mother stayed with us and had glowing remarks as they checked out. When I and another guests were saying good bye we both saw on the top of a bag a picture sleeve from our B&B.
We were both shocked to see it but I decided not to make a scene in front of other people who were also checking out .I decided to take the high road and email her with in minutes that it must have been mistakenly taken and when she returned home to pop into the mail.
We got a email later that day on how could you accuse us and of course we didn't take it and so on well sorry more than one person saw it in her bag.
This guest now comes on TA and attacks us!!! why!!, because we are not from NL .We have become a part of this small community for the last 6 years and operate one of the top B&B's in Newfoundland.where we are born has nothing to do with our integrity and honesty and trustworthiness.
The sign she also mentions is a small 4 inch note in side the closet to please not exchange hangers but she makes it out that we have some large sign on the bedroom wall which we don't..
We did have a plumber come into the B&B that day and Roberta stripped the ensuite placing all items in the bedroom which is a separate room with a door away from the en suite.
The plumber is a close friend and a bonded contractor. Roberta made up the ensuite placing the items back into the ensuite so we both know it was in the room when this person and mother checked in.
We trust all our guests as we stay in a small cottage beside the B&B and have expensive items throughout our B&B for guests to look at or use.
We will not be bullied by a review or a reviewer it is the principle not the monetary value of the item.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Robert and Roberta (owners) were knowledgeable about the area and made our stay very comfortable. Couldn't ask for any better. Wish we could have stayed a couple of extra days! We went on the western brook boat tour which is very close to the b and b. Lots of special little touches that made us very comfortable. Alison and Kelly

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alison737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundLover, Owner at SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thanks Alison for the nice review. It is to bad you only had the one night to spend with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Seabreeze is a large, modern, immaculately kept house right on the water front in Cow Head. My partner and I planned to keep our travelling within Gros Morne Park during our visit, and it provided a perfect 'home base' to easily reach all parts of the park.

The hosts are fantastic and were very helpful as far as food and attraction recommendations. The breakfasts were also great.

There were several helpful amenities like WiFi access, a mini fridge in the room, access to a hot tub, and a very spacious common room. Our room was quite large and immaculately clean (we had room #1 if you are viewing photos).

There is a beautiful hiking trail right near the house, and a sand beach a short distance away. The Western Brook Pond tour is only about a 15 minute drive, and Gros Morne Mountain is about 1/2 drive. We went to the Southern tip of the park twice in under 2 hours. So all parts of the park are accessible from the location.

Thank you Roberta and Robert for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torndownunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundLover, Owner at SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thanks Ian for the nice review it was great having you both stay with us for the 7 nights.It was sad to see you leave. We hope you get back someday in the future and you both to full advantage of everything Gros Morne has to offer and the weather was good for your hiking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Sea Breeze, which is at the northern end of Gros Morne National Park. The location was perfect for us, near enough to everything we wanted and far enough away in the small viallge of Cow Head. Our room was large, clean and comfortable; the B&B is a contemporary design, well laid out and large enough that you don't hear the other guests (5 rooms total). Breakfasts were more than ample for the day and well prepared by the hosts. The day before, you record your room number, breakfast time (7-9am) and menu selections on a card for the hosts. Internet access is good and simple to use. Mini-fridge and flat-screen sat TV in the room was a bonus. We'd definitely recommend the Sea Breeze to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StillAqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundLover, Owner at SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks so much for the nice words we are glad you enjoyed ocean view room #5 and your time you spent with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights and this is a first class place. Well run with great hosts, the place is spotless.
Great breakfast, you make your choice the night before and set a time.
Thank you Roberta and Robert.
So if you are looking for a first class, well run place to stay. Look no further.

Room Tip: If you like space choose the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundLover, Owner at SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thanks for the nice compliments,We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast and it was truly one of the highlights of our two week trip. Wonderful hosts, superb breakfasts, quiet and very comfortable and the accomodations were absolutely spotless. You cannot stay in a nicer bed and breakfast in this area and we would highly recommend it to anyone. Roberta and Robert were extremely helpful in pointing out places to go and see in the area and we truly enjoyed sitting out on the veranda and chatting with them. Always hot tea and coffee available and of course the absolute bonus was the delicious baked cookies that everyone enjoyed. Outside hot tub was also available for use. This place is the cream of the crop. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 where we stayed is very large and comfortable beyond imagination. You will need to book real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearytraveller093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundLover, Owner at SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thanks for the great review.We are glad you enjoyed staying with us.We will pass on the compliments to Nellie who also helps in the daily up keep of the B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My parents and I stayed at the Seabreeze for two nights and very much enjoyed our stay. We had the suite which was HUGE. The bathroom itself is pretty much the size of a normal room! It was also spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the house. Breakfast was good, there are a few options that you have to pick the day before. We didn't mind that, and I suppose it makes it easier for them to organise everything. Robert and Roberta, the owners, were very friendly and Robert had a great sort of sarcastic sense of humour. We really liked that. He was also helpful and booked a boat tour for us. We would definitely recommend this place. Great view from the front porch too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianTraveler022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundLover, Owner at SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thanks for the great review Roberta and I are glad you and your parents enjoyed Gros Morne park and our ocean front B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
23 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
220 reviews
23.3 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
Show Prices

Been to SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17-21 Corner Road | Gros Morne National Park, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Head
Price Range: £86 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Breeze is a custom built 3800 sq ft 4.5 star, Oceanfront B&B with 5 large bedrooms all with 3-4 or 5 piece en suites, located directly on the ocean in Gros Morne National Park in the beautiful town of Cow Head. All rooms are main floor for ease of access. A short walk to the Gros Morne live theatre. Western Brook Pond boat ride is a short 10 minute drive, and an 18 hole golf course is a 5 minute drive. Close to everything Gros Morne has to offer. The Seabreeze is a modern B&B with top-of-the-line beds and linens and towels, queen or king beds, all rooms C/W flat screen TVs, fridges in all rooms and full satellite TV with sports and movie channels and much more. Enjoy some wine in our large 7 person private outdoor hot tub which awaits you after a day of exploring and hiking. Two restaurants are a easy walk of the B&B. Cow Head is an ideal place to explore everything Gros Morne has to offer.A Million dollar view awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SeaBreeze Bed And Breakfast Cow Head, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing