We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Room excellant but host and service needed a great deal of help.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seabreeze B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seabreeze B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Cow Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location and Room excellant but host and service needed a great deal of help.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We arrived early and room was ready. It as a lovely room. Our host were friendly but more business like than owners of a B&B. At breakfast we found the owner sitting in the TV room looking as if he had just gotten up and he barely spoke. At breakfast, I asked for water and was told by the help where I could get it. The owners wife sat and chatted with the helper and never to the guest. Another guest asked for more coffe and was told where the pot was. We stayed a number of B&B's on our trip and this was the least helpful and friendly. We needed a place to stay on our trip back accross the island and wold not stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mack3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundLover, owner at Seabreeze B & B, responded to this review, 27 September 2009
We work hard to please all guests but some, like this person you can never please.The water was 10 ft from him and he wanted to be waited on by the staff who were cooking and helping other guests. My wife was talking to the staff on the days cleaning which this poster admits his room was very clean, and ready when he showed up very early!! way before check in time. I was watching the news and yes I did just wake up because it is morning!!. This guests was one, no matter how hard you try, nothing would make his stay perfect. He gives us high markes on everthing but service then only gives us a one!! overall due to him not getting his water. The coffee and water is right outside the dinning room which he was told by the staff before breakfast but he wanted staff to service him only. He says he would not stay with us on his way back down from the north, the real reason for this is we had no rooms. We are fully booked all season and he had no reservations with us which made him upset. We take pride in our 4.5 star B&B but some people you can never please even when you and the staff go the extra mile to help people.
Thanks
R Herr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
162
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

We booked one night at this B&B while we were touring Gros Morne and we now call it Boot Camp B&B.

While there was nothing particularly wrong with the B&B and it should be said that it was exceptionally clean, it just didn't have the B&B feeling about it.

I thought the host was odd and I found being told that the B&B has 2 rules, no smoking and take your shoes off was off putting. It was just the approach taken was all wrong.

We didn't like having to "sign up" for breakfast the day before, you had to pick your timeslot and your breakfast and only 2 rooms could dine at one time although there were no space restrictions.

We stayed in the suite which had an enormous telivision if that's your thing.

Nellie, who came in to cook breakfast is the best thing this B&B has going for it. She was friendly and just a lovely woman.

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank susy_mc_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundLover, owner at Seabreeze B & B, responded to this review, 3 October 2008
I have to respond as the owner I have looked into my bookings and doubt this person stayed in the suite although she does mention the big screen TV, but fails to note the high end king bed,top of the line linen's and toiletries,jet tub and around 450 sg ft room plus a huge common area ,a open kitchen,with juice,milk,tea,coffee at all times which other quests have compared the suite to a vegas style suite or a high end room in New york city and all this for $75.00 and the tax of 13% was included as was a full cooked to order breakfast for two the next morning.She does comment of how clean the B&B was,but felt having to take her shoes off and not smoking was off base for her but both go hand in-hand with how clean we keep this 3800sq ft B&B
The breakfast book, when we have as many as 12 people staying as our quests and all are doing diffrent tours and eating at diffrent times is realy the only way to do a great breakfast,maybe a contential which sits out for hours,or a cold buffet would have been more to her liking or how about I tell you what I want to feed you and it sits for hours till you decided what time you want your breakfast !! We make sure you get what you want and when you want so to start your day off right . The Sea Breeze is a 4+ star B&B and operates full all summer and is directly in Gros morne national park and sits on the waters edge which of course she failed to mention, as a owner it goes to show you cant please all people but close to 1200 quest this year totaly enjoyed our B&B. I have emailed the poster with of course no responce from her

Thank you
R Herr
Sea breeze B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, VT
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

Research prior to leaving for our vacation indicated this B&B to be a good choice for our trip. We were looking for a place to explore Gros Morne National Park from and Cow Head is a nice quiet town for this purpose. Our host, Robert Herr, had taken over this B&B in the Spring and has made the residence very comfortable and clean. Robert explained that the residence was built especially to be a B&B. The rooms are large with ensuite baths, the beds comfortable, a great living room with a huge TV for anyone who can't find anything better to look at in the very scenic part of the world, and a front porch with Shallow Bay and it's views just across the road. Robert made us feel like we were in our own home. We even were able to re-freeze our ice bottles for the cooler in Robert's freezer. Nellie cooked us a killer breakfast in the morning. You will have to look long and hard for more accommodating folks. Sea Breeze B&B is definitely a place we will be staying at during our next trip to NL.

  • Liked — Quiet small town setting with immediate access to Gros Morne National Park, friendly host
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted_in_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

Robert was a wonderful host! Our room the first night was really nice and really clean. For our second night Robert upgraded us to the suite. The king sized bed was made-up with luxurious linens. The bathroom was enormous and included a whirlpool tub. We had an incredibly relaxing stay and thoroughly enjoyed the town! Definitely worth a visit to the Cow Head Theatre.

  • Liked — I loved looking out the window and seeing the ocean right there!
  • Disliked — It was one of the first stops on our trip, it really set us up to be disappointed with the other places we stayed.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
23.0 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
23.3 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabreeze B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabreeze B & B

Property: Seabreeze B & B
Address: Corner Road, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Breeze is a custom built 3800 sq ft 4.5 star, Oceanfront B&B with 5 large bedrooms all with 3-4 or 5 piece en suites, located directly on the ocean in Gros Morne National Park in the beautiful town of Cow Head. All rooms are main floor for ease of access. A short walk to the Gros Morne live theater. Western Brook Pond boat ride is a short 10 minute drive, and an 18 hole golf course is a 5 minute drive. Close to everything Gros Morne has to offer. The Seabreeze is a modern B&B with top-of-the-line beds and linens and towels, queen or king beds and cot's can be added to some rooms for a small fee, all rooms C/W flat screen TVs, fridges in all rooms and full satellite TV with sports and movie channels and much more. Enjoy a glass of wine in our large 7 person private outdoor hot tub which awaits you after a day of exploring and hiking. Two restaurants are within an easy walk of the B&B. Cow Head is an ideal place to explore everything Gros Morne has to offer. Please stop in on the way to the northern tip of Newfoundland or on your way south. We are the only 4.5 star ocean front B&B anywhere on the west side of NL and in the top 2 properties on TripAdvisor and we have the best rates in the park and never charge the Gros Morne co-op charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seabreeze B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabreeze B & B Cow Head, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing