We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great easy hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cow Head Lighthouse

Cow Head Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Cow Head
Attraction details
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great easy hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

a perfect trail and lighthouse to spend a few hours a very easy hike make sure you go to the head of the trail

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ontguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Though most people prefer the shorter, lighthouse walk, but the real experience is to continue along the walk to the headland. The path has been renovated completely with gravel-filled steps at the steep spots and welcome guard rails at the dangerous spots along the cliff edge. Though walking is easy, this trek is not for the faint-hearted. The wind blows fiercely in from the sea, so dress warmly, but be prepared to shed outer layers on the return journey - you will be working. We promise you will be amply rewarded by the views. They are truly magnificent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suchmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILTON
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Wonderful views on the way to the lighthouse. We enjoyed the walk through open fields and through the woods. The lighthouse is in a remote wooded area, but the door is unlocked and you can climb to the top. Beautiful day, great walk!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evie3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cute lighthouse, very nice walk there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My parents and I being big lighthouse fans, we decided to go see the Cow Head lighthouse while we were there. The walk to the lighthouse is loveley, not too long (about 40 mins at a slow pace for the entire loop), and it goes through little wooded areas, wildflower fields and by cliffs with a lovely view. The lighthouse itself is small and rusty but charming in a way, I liked it. A nice thing to do if you have an hour to kill in Cow Head. Also check out the Dr. Henry H. Payne museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTraveler022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hike to a rusty little lighthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I liked the hike, loved the views. I wish that the lighthouse wasn't rusting away!

I enjoyed getting panoramic photos from within the light. The ladder is steep but the view from the top is nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PathfinderMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cow Head Lighthouse also viewed

Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
 

Been to Cow Head Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing