We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the B&B at the motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Liked the B&B at the motel”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the B&B associated with the motel. In our opinion, the B&B was nicer than the motel. We had a nice room with a beautiful view and deck right on the bay. Based on the previous reviews and conversations with other guests, we avoided the motel restaurant at dinner and ate instead at the BackCove Cafe, which was good. The motel breakfast was fine. We went to Gross Morne Theatre productions both nights and enjoyed the shows. The hike out to the shore beyond the old lighthouse was well worthwhile - lots of limestone rock formations and interesting geology. Very different from the sandy beach in the other direction!

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mandb_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your review. We make every effort to keep our property up to standard. However, we are sorry that you decided not to try our evening fare. We would have liked for you to make your own determination regarding our menu. Perhaps we will see you again in the future. Bye for now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    102
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
107
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

We stayed in Cabin 6, one of the oldest. It was clean, comfortable and well equipped with fridge, stove, microwave dishware and utensils. It did not have the musty smells sometimes found in cabins. Location is great for touring the northern portion of Gros Morne or for heading north on the Viking Trail. We found the food in the restaurant was fine. Pool is clean, well maintained and comfortably heated. Hot tub is also clean and appropriately heated. Spectacular view of ocean and sunsets from the pool, hot tub and dining room. Wonderful beach less than 10 minutes away. I would recommend Shallow Bay Motel and Cabins for mature couples as well as families traveling with children. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Location, pool, hot tub, view, theatre
  • Disliked — bathroom sink needs to be replaced.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyEarthWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since you posted this review, we have renovated many of our units with new ceramics, carpeting and bathroom fixtures, as well as new mattress sets and furniture. Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2008

For the price, the rooms were pretty great looking; I thought the bathroom was fantastic! Very clean and quiet, staff were friendly to a certain extent; it was an overall good service.
As for the resturaunt, I thought the food quality was minimal; salad didn't taste fresh, sub was somewhat poorly made. If you want good food at this place, I definitely recommend sticking to traditional "Newfoundland food."

  • Liked — The bathroom.
  • Disliked — The food.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thinsation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We appreciate your review. Since you made these comments, we have made major changes to our menu, thanks in part to your review! All comments are helpful as they help us to become better. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

Wanting somewhere in Gros Morne convenient for the theatre festival ('Tempting Providence' was truly superb!) we opted for a cabin here. Having just stayed at another, wonderfully well-cared for cabin, we felt that ours at Shallow Bay had seen better days. Poorly laid-out (you walk through the door and the dining table blocks the path to the bedrooms) and with an uncomfortable sofa and both bedroom light fittings affixed poorly to the wall, the furnishings had certainly seen many seasons' wear and tear and were in need of overhaul.
The desk staff were very helpful and friendly, however, and the cabin's cramped kitchen was adequate for our needs. The cabins' layout, like a small street at a tangent to the main road, meant that one's view is of another cabin and not anything picturesque. I suspect we'd look elsewhere for good value, well cared-for accommodation if we were to return again to this stunningly beautiful area.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We thank you for your review. You will be pleased to know that thanks in part to your review, we have completely refurbished our cabins-complete with new ceramics, carpet and furniture. All comments are useful as they help us to improve our property. Thank you again for posting on Trip Advisor. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.johns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We stayed at the Shallow Bay hotel for 2 night july 23 and 24. If you wnat total quiet and realaxation there is no better place. Right on the ocean with the beautiful Shallow Bay beach just minutes away and only 15 minute drive from Western Brook Fjord boat tour. Back to basics for the kids with the outdoors as your playground. The hotel restaurant is OK but if you want the best homecooked meals I have ever had on the road you have to try The Back Cove Cafe and Craft Store . Just on your left when you enter town it has super friendly service and awesome food. We had 4 meals in 2 days there and could not wait to go back everytime. There is also a small local museum just up the road on the same side as this little restaurant that was worth the visit. If you want to get away from the city and fast pace of life this is the place for you and your family. Gros Morne was breathtaking and one of the best kept secrets in the country.

  • Liked — Scenery and quiet
  • Disliked — not alot for kids to do
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WF9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks in part to your comments, we have revamped our menu. We appreciate all comments. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubonne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2006

We spent four nights in late June 2006 in the seaview B+B associated with the Shallow Bay restaurant and motel, and we were extremely happy there. Not much charm in the B+B itself, but clean and perfectly serviceable. The restaurant was all that we could have wished, and the service was friendly. The location was perfect for hiking in the Gros Morne region.

  • Liked — nice people
  • Disliked — aluminium siding
  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your review. Since your stay with us , we have made major changes to our facility. We hope that you will visit us again. We know that you will be pleasantly surprised! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, FL
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2006

Our room looking out over the Bay was standard motel fare, but the location was good because we had spent the day taking the Western Brook boat trip and seeing the northern most parts of Gros Morne and then were heading up to St. Anthony. We saw "Ethie" which was a locally written play about a historic ferry wreck. This included dinner and I am in agreement about the food, it was not very good. Dinner theatres tend to not have the best food because they are serving so many at once, but based on the other traveler's comment, perhaps we would have been no better off eating in the main dining room. While neither the food or the play were world class, we did enjoy our theatre experience overall.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
23.5 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Property: Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Hotel
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Cow Head, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing