We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a good stay here, but felt that they "pushed" the whole dinner-theatre thing a little too much. Wasn't given a choice about whether I wanted a "view" or not--just got the (overpriced ?) room with a "view" of water. Would stay again, if I could have more input into what I actually want.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thanks for your review! As we do have a wide variety of room types available to suit any travellers' tastes, it is wise to specify your preference when making a reservation. For walkins to any establishment, it would be advisable to ask what is available, the price, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

After finding out that the Bayview B&B (part of Shallow Bay) had rooms facing the ocean, I was sold. I thought I was early when I booked in March, but it turned out that only a room with double bed remained (that faced the ocean). I just had to take it.

The room really was very clean and airy, and the views were spectacular. Seeing the sunset from the room was something special.

Since it was not at the main building, check-in must be done at the motel. The B&B was just a very short walk (or drive) away.

The breakfast was of a set menu of the cooked variety. Quite nice really.

The gift shop had some real bargains. Check them out.

Wifi rating: 3/5 - hard to pick up a signal in the room, but once locked, the speed was more than adequate.

Room Tip: Bayview B&B has 3 out of 4 rooms facing the ocean; check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Mark, thank you for your comments. We do have a variety of rooms to accommodate any traveller, so it is wise to specify your preference when making a reservation. We do hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a terrific 5-night stay here, in the B&B run by them, next door. Breakfasts are included at the hotel. The room had a great veranda 20 meters from the ocean, and a view of the actual "Head" across the bay. The hotel is run by three siblings, and they have a veteran staff of locals who run the bar, restaurant and facilities like a tight ship, with terrific hospitality. The Gros Morne Theater Festival uses the hotel's facilities for dinner theatre, and the Warehouse Theatre is next door. The quality of the theatre is outstanding, and the festival runs for all of July and August. Highly recommended if you're out on this side of Newfoundland.

Room Tip: The Bayview B&B has rooms overlooking the bay, with access to a common living space, a veranda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Papertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thanks for your kind words! Our family business motto is that hard work and a personal touch can make our guests' stay a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at this establishment as part of an Atlantic Tours group. The rooms are older but very well appointed and spotless. The bathroom had been renovated, offered strong water pressure and was immaculate. The motel is run by a local family who are, true to Newfoundland, hard working, friendly and eager to make your stay with them as pleasant as possible. If you choose to stay here, ask for a room with a view of the water.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank yardieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

So glad you enjoyed your time with us! We cater to both the group traveller as well as the individual and value both equally. Our belief is that hard work and a personal touch can make for a memorable experience for our guests. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

For the cost, about average for NL. Cleanliness was good, beds are very comfortable. Only complaint for my room, is the AC wasn't working, we slept with the window open instead. Motel has several variety of rooms, some in the main building, others in the annex across the street (not all are wheelchair accessible) and then cabins as well. We stayed in the annex. Restaurant was good, with a decent selection and normal cost. Our whole reason for staying however was to see the Gros Morne Theatre Festival, which us located on site and plays from June to Sept. It is exceptional and I would recommend it to everyone. We saw the S.S. Ethie, which is the on site dinner show....it was excellent.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your review! At Shallow Bay Motel we strive to make every patrons experience a pleasant one. We appreciate all comments and try continually to improve where needed. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely room with my own balcony overlooking the ocean. Breakfast included for this house owned by the motel. Saw the SS Ethie dinner/ theatre next door. Saw the real wreck the next day just south of Cowhead. Great location. Comfortable room for $90. There was a outdoor pool but it was not open July3.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinyburlingtonON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As our pool levels are checked daily for health reasons, it is possible that due to less than optimal numbers the pool was closed at that time. At Shallow Bay Motel we take very seriously our responsibility to provide our guests a fun AND safe place to play.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It would be hard to imagine a more helpful crew than the staffers at the Shallow Bay Motel. The dining room service was superb, with attentive servers stopping by regularly to make sure everything was okay. The owner himself circulated through the dining room each evening to make everyone welcome, and the food was very good, with a surprisingly varied menu considering the rather remote location. Rooms were clean and comfortable and well-appointed. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room for some of the most beautiful sunsets in Newfoundland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NLfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words! It is a great feeling to know that we made your stay enjoyable. Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Head
23.2 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
220 reviews
23.5 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins

Address: 193 Main Street | P.O. Box 44, Cow Head, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Cow Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cow Head
Price Range: £73 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Home of Gros Morne Theatre Festival, live theatre May - September. Minutes away from breathtaking scenery--Western Brook Fjords Pond boat tour, Shallow Bay Beach, and 18-hole golf course. 84 units--many in room comforts. Our facility offers--free Wireless Internet, Restaurant, Outdoor heated pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Exercise Room, Gift Shop, ATM and Laundromat. Combining the amenities of a 3.5* motel with luxurious oceanfront rooms. 2 Exits--North & South (drive through community). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallow Bay Motel And Cabins
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Hotel Cow Head
Shallow Bay Hotel
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins Cow Head, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing