We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Ocean View Hotel(Rocky Harbour)
US$166
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gros Morne Cabins(Gros Morne National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlelight B & B(Rocky Harbour)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
61
111
41
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
111
41
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshallow bay moteldining roomgros mornetheatre festivalbus tourtwo bedroom cabinb bocean viewgift shoppost officemain buildingacross the roadsmall townservice was greatright next doorconference roomexercise room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2006

Stayed one night in one of the cabins. It was very clean with plenty of room. The motel has a small, but adequately stocked gift shop. The dining room was very clean. It has a great view of the harbour. The staff was moderately friendly. The food; however, wasn't even up to average. It seemed to be of the same quality as a frozen dinner nuked in the microwave. It seemed to be the only place in town to eat, so if you're just looking to fill your belly, that's what you'll be filling it with. The most noticeable thing about Cowhead and the Shallow Bay Motel was that the sunset was absolutely stunning and after that sunset, if you were to go outside and listen, it was so quiet, you'd be able to hear a pin drop.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thanks for your review. There have been major changes to our menu and food preparation standards since your visit. Thank you for advising us of your experience. This was most helpful in evaluating our restaurant. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2005

For a visit to GrosMOrne National Park I'd rather stay in Rocky Harbour or Trout River or Norris Point. There are more restaurants, more hiking trials. But Cow Head is good for the north part of the Park, and for the theatre beside it. The cabins are situated on the other side of the road from the water, so the setting is not great. They are clean and equipped simply but are adequate, I thought the bathroom was a little dated but the pressure for the water is good. The kitchen is nice and the microwave is a nice touch. They are quiet too, and the motel is okay too.

2  Thank kortney~andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2005

Stayed at the Shallow Bay Motel while on a recent trip up the west coast of Newfoundland. Room very clean, friendly reception desk staff, The room we booked was a suite with a jacuzzi & fireplace (electric) . The price was very reasonable for this type of room. We dined in the restaurant for supper and Breakfast and were happy with the quality of food and the friendly wait staff. The Gros Morne theatre is right beside the motel, but we attended a " Neddy Night" in the motel which was a group of six singers and musicians playing Newfoundland music and telling stories. Very entertaining. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to NF.

6  Thank countrypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shall0wBay, Guest Relations Manager at Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

We are so pleased that your experience was a positive one! Our team works very hard to make our guests' stay a pleasant one. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres un peu reculées dans le bâtiment en long et situées à l'étage sont plus calme du fait d'un passage restreint.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews