We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Metis-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge du Grand Fleuve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Metis-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed one night at this Auberge for the first time and left feeling like a member of the family. The owners are very friendly and make you feel like home right away. We were nit in the main Auberge, but the view of the Gulf of St-Lawrence was just amazing!!! You may nit have TV or AC, but we were on vacation and enjoyed the quiet relaxation of watching the beautiful scenery. The food (supper and breakfast) were just unbelievably delicious. This is a must return for another stay !

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Bellamonieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Grand Fleuve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Auberge is not generic. It's probably not what you expect, it's better.
People at the Auberge are great : Marie and her crew/family will make you feel at home right away.
The food is fabulous (we had a zucchini and smoked onion soup that was out of this world and that was not even the main course!) made with fresh local products. And let's not mention the recurring dreams we have been having about the crêpes bretonnes... Breakfast and dinner are include with the stay (250 for seaside for 2).
The rooms are clean and are all different. A lot of attention is given to providing good beds. The decor is seaside inspired and cozy. The Dining room and bedrooms are all full of books which is great if you have a few days to stay.
And the view... Best sunsets in the world.
So if you're close, don't miss it.
But if you're looking for something bland and generic, if you don't like the sound of the waves at night, or if you need a tv to be happy, you can just have dinner!

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm. Rooms in the Pavillion are bigger, but most rooms in the main building...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigue_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I spent three nights at the Auberge, and found it to be ideal: simple, quiet, a breathtaking view of the sunsets, fabulous meals. The room is not luxurious, but the bed was good, and the staff was extremely welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our room was in the main building and although the bathroom had been updated, there were limited small towels, no place in the shower for soap except on the floor and the bathroom was so small you had to move cautiously so as not to bump an elbow or knee. The furniture badly needed updating and although The room had an ocean view, the balcony and chairs needed work, a surprise considering it was the beginning of the tourist season. Dinner was great, the food well presented and delicious, we both had smoked salmon, the fish soup and halibut - excellent. However our server was slow and each time he went into the kitchen he mimic us. Breakfast only started at 8 am, not really convenient for those who want to get an early start. This was not an inexpensive place to stay and as such we cannot recommend it other than for the food.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank lactancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Metis-sur-Mer is a beautiful town with many large estate cottages that enjoy great views and access to the ocean. A little off the beaten path with not many choices for accommodation or food. A number of shops were closed for the season as we arrived in mid September 2011.
The Auberge du Grand Fleuve, is a old Auberge in the middle of town on the sea side, the room for 2 including dinner and breakfast was $233.
When we made our reservation we were limited to the main house with our 1 night stay. Our room located on the second floor was very, very basic with a simple bed and chairs with a wonderful view of the ocean. The room and bathroom were very clean with limited towels and amenities (soap and shampoo), tv watching restricted to a room on the first level. The smell of food cooking in the kitchen permeated the room and as opening the window was restricted due to the pouring rain outside it was unpleasant to say the least.
The food more than made up for the basic conditions of the room. Dinner was outstanding which accounted for the full dining room and though good breakfast was a simple crepe with egg (as we made our way through Quebec we were served crepes for breakfast at most stops but we started with egg/ham/cheese and finally ended with just a simple egg).
We would return for the food not the room.
Note: A new wing added a few years ago has more current accommodation but was full. We understood from the owner that they had experienced major water damage to the old building just the winter prior.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new section. If all else fails get a room on the back with a view just be p...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calexand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We wanted to visit the famous Jardins de Metis-Reford Gardens and needed overnight accommodation in the area. We were so fortunate to find a recommendation for the Auberge du Grand Fleuve on the Reford Gardens website. The Auberge is located on a beautiful site overlooking the St. Lawrence River. The rooms are bright, clean and simple with a cottage-like feel. A delicious four-course gourmet dinner and breakfast are included in the rate. The family who run the inn are very pleasant and helpful. We're already planning to stay there again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with river views cost about $10 more but are certainly worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astible3Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We visited on a bad day weather wise, so no sunsets for us. But the setting is lovely and we could imagine how nice it would be by the river. Our room was large and comfortable, with a seating area inside, and a shower that would accommodate a wheelchair. The food was delicious and the service friendly. Buy your tickets for Jardin de Metis at the hotel... they are slightly cheaper there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageurextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metis-sur-Mer
23.1 mi away
Riotel Matane
Riotel Matane
#1 of 3 in Matane
414 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 3 in Matane
211 reviews
12.5 mi away
Centre d'Art Marcel Gagnon
Centre d'Art Marcel Gagnon
#3 of 5 in Sainte-Flavie
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
13.4 mi away
Le Gaspesiana
Le Gaspesiana
#1 of 5 in Sainte-Flavie
143 reviews
14.7 mi away
Motel Appartements Le Saint-Patrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Grand Fleuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Grand Fleuve

Address: 131 Rue Principale, Metis-sur-Mer, Quebec G0J 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Metis-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Metis-sur-Mer
Price Range: £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Grand Fleuve Hotel Metis-Sur-Mer
Auberge Du Grand Fleuve Metis-Sur-Mer, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing