We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Food! Incredible Location! Pure Magic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Grand Fleuve

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Metis-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge du Grand Fleuve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Metis-sur-Mer
Montreal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible Food! Incredible Location! Pure Magic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This review is both for the inn and the food at the inn. The Inn (L’Auberge du Grand Fleuve) is literally 30 feet from the shore of the gulf of Saint Lawrence in the small picturesque Metis-sur-Mer community. We (my wife and I) made a reservation for a room for one night which automatically includes a four-course dinner for two and breakfast for two. The room itself is fairly basic (log cabin-like) but clean, homey and the beds are very comfortable. There’s no T.V. and you don’t need one. The view is something else. It’s stunning! When you enter the room you're immediately hit by a majestic view of the Saint Lawrence. The water is a perfect blue and it seems like you’re looking at the ocean, with the gentle, very gentle waves and the very enjoyable scent of the saltwater. We kept the screened patio door open to go to sleep to the sound of the waves and the wildlife. Earlier in the evening at around 7:00 p.m. we had dinner. A sunset dinner I should say. WOW! The dining room takes on a comfortable glow after the sun sets. It’s got very large windows on two sides and you almost feel like you’re in an aquarium. It’s very cozy and romantic. The food! Oh the food!! This is one of the best meals we have ever had. French chefs man the kitchen. Our understanding is that they use only the best and freshest local produce available, organic as much as possible. First the appetizer, Brandade de morue (pureed salt cod and potatoes). Perfect, melt-in-your-mouth with every bite. Perfectly seasoned. My wife said she could have eaten a second portion and I felt the same. We really took our time and enjoyed every bite along with a perfectly chambered bottle of red wine. Second course, an organic salad. A perfect balance with the vinaigrette and the various leaves and greens. Then the main course. I went for the steak and my wife had the fish. A flank steak that tasted great, cooked perfectly! Everything else in the plate was perfect. Nothing soggy. Nothing off. The steak was served on top of rosti potatoes and accompanied by organic carrots and three types of local mushrooms. My wife had the fletan fish (halibut), with steamed, lightly-buttered vegetables and bok choy. She loved it! For dessert, nougat and chocolate fondant with homemade ice cream. Heaven! After a long walk on the beach, we slept very well. Breakfast. Part buffet, part fresh made French buckwheat crepes. Real French coffee. Fresh pates, fresh eggs, fresh butter, fresh homemade bread, fresh fruit. Fresh, fresh, fresh, everything fresh. We will never forget this great experience. We will go back to L’Auberge du Grand Fleuve!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PinMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    18
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Auberge du Grand Fleuve might not have luxurious rooms, but they are sparkling clean, the beds are very comfortable, and there are balconies with wicker chairs, or if your room does not have a balcony, then there are Adirondaks in the yard overlooking the beach. A perfect place to relax, take the time to read, make a collection of pebble stones on the beach. The sunsets are fabulous, or the fog comforting. And the food is just magnificent. Wi fi is available for those who need it, but luckily my cell phone company does not service this area so I could partially unplug.
We're back home, but hope to go back to Les Boules for another restful stay...

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quebec_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night at this Auberge for the first time and left feeling like a member of the family. The owners are very friendly and make you feel like home right away. We were nit in the main Auberge, but the view of the Gulf of St-Lawrence was just amazing!!! You may nit have TV or AC, but we were on vacation and enjoyed the quiet relaxation of watching the beautiful scenery. The food (supper and breakfast) were just unbelievably delicious. This is a must return for another stay !

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bellamonieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Auberge is not generic. It's probably not what you expect, it's better.
People at the Auberge are great : Marie and her crew/family will make you feel at home right away.
The food is fabulous (we had a zucchini and smoked onion soup that was out of this world and that was not even the main course!) made with fresh local products. And let's not mention the recurring dreams we have been having about the crêpes bretonnes... Breakfast and dinner are include with the stay (250 for seaside for 2).
The rooms are clean and are all different. A lot of attention is given to providing good beds. The decor is seaside inspired and cozy. The Dining room and bedrooms are all full of books which is great if you have a few days to stay.
And the view... Best sunsets in the world.
So if you're close, don't miss it.
But if you're looking for something bland and generic, if you don't like the sound of the waves at night, or if you need a tv to be happy, you can just have dinner!

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm. Rooms in the Pavillion are bigger, but most rooms in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigue_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I spent three nights at the Auberge, and found it to be ideal: simple, quiet, a breathtaking view of the sunsets, fabulous meals. The room is not luxurious, but the bed was good, and the staff was extremely welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Orignal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our room was in the main building and although the bathroom had been updated, there were limited small towels, no place in the shower for soap except on the floor and the bathroom was so small you had to move cautiously so as not to bump an elbow or knee. The furniture badly needed updating and although The room had an ocean view, the balcony and chairs needed work, a surprise considering it was the beginning of the tourist season. Dinner was great, the food well presented and delicious, we both had smoked salmon, the fish soup and halibut - excellent. However our server was slow and each time he went into the kitchen he mimic us. Breakfast only started at 8 am, not really convenient for those who want to get an early start. This was not an inexpensive place to stay and as such we cannot recommend it other than for the food.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lactancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Metis-sur-Mer is a beautiful town with many large estate cottages that enjoy great views and access to the ocean. A little off the beaten path with not many choices for accommodation or food. A number of shops were closed for the season as we arrived in mid September 2011.
The Auberge du Grand Fleuve, is a old Auberge in the middle of town on the sea side, the room for 2 including dinner and breakfast was $233.
When we made our reservation we were limited to the main house with our 1 night stay. Our room located on the second floor was very, very basic with a simple bed and chairs with a wonderful view of the ocean. The room and bathroom were very clean with limited towels and amenities (soap and shampoo), tv watching restricted to a room on the first level. The smell of food cooking in the kitchen permeated the room and as opening the window was restricted due to the pouring rain outside it was unpleasant to say the least.
The food more than made up for the basic conditions of the room. Dinner was outstanding which accounted for the full dining room and though good breakfast was a simple crepe with egg (as we made our way through Quebec we were served crepes for breakfast at most stops but we started with egg/ham/cheese and finally ended with just a simple egg).
We would return for the food not the room.
Note: A new wing added a few years ago has more current accommodation but was full. We understood from the owner that they had experienced major water damage to the old building just the winter prior.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new section. If all else fails get a room on the back with a view just be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calexand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metis-sur-Mer
23.1 mi away
Riotel Matane
Riotel Matane
#1 of 3 in Matane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 3 in Matane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
12.6 mi away
Centre d'Art Marcel Gagnon
Centre d'Art Marcel Gagnon
#3 of 5 in Sainte-Flavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Motel Appartements Le Saint-Patrick
13.4 mi away
Le Gaspesiana
Le Gaspesiana
#2 of 5 in Sainte-Flavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.2 mi away
Domaine Annie Sur Mer
Domaine Annie Sur Mer
#2 of 3 in Metis-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Grand Fleuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Grand Fleuve

Property: Auberge du Grand Fleuve
Address: 131 Rue Principale, Metis-sur-Mer, Quebec G0J 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Metis-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Metis-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Grand Fleuve Hotel Metis-Sur-Mer
Auberge Du Grand Fleuve Metis-Sur-Mer, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing