We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden find”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Metis-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge du Grand Fleuve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Metis-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The highlight of this small establishment is the food and the service. The inn itself is probably a 3 star facility but the charming staff as well as the owner's culinary expertise elevate it much higher. Plenty of french literature around adds to the ambiance. Certainly worth a detour or stop over.

Room Tip: The newest room (#1) has the nicest bathroom, but you lose out on a full water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We keep coming back to this place on the shores of the St. Lawrence. The first time we went, I had made a reservation for only one night. Midway through dinner I put down my fork and went to the front desk to ask if I could stay another night. It's that kind of place.
The food coming out of the kitchen is as good as anything you'll find in a top Montreal or Toronto restaurant, and Raynald is especially good cooking local fish. The breakfast crepe sets you up for a great day of touring the local garden, sightseeing, or just napping -- you can hear the waves from your room.
The absence of television means that the people staying here are well-read and articulate! Or at least that's what it seems like to me.
Definitely worth the drive.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a water-side room, if they're available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Right on the banks of the St Lawrence, this Auberge is truly a delight. With books in every room
and in the well furnished reception area you feel right at home. The food is most excellent and from local sources whenever possible. A wonderful place to relax and watch the changing light or
take walks along the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This small hotel, located in the charming sea side resort of Metis-sur-Mere, has fabulous food, a fantastic location right on the banks of the Saint Lawrence, and one of the nicest inn keepers you'll ever find. We spent two nights here in this American plan (dinner and breakfast included in the rate) B and B in a lovely room with our own porch and 20 feet from the shore, the better to watch the sun set over the west. The outstanding feature is the food. We felt we were in France. Everything was local, made to order and utterly delicious. What a great surprise at the end of our trip to find this place. Judith from Maine

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is the most lovely Auberge we had the pleasure of staying in around the Gaspe. Charming room with a view of the coast of St. Lawrence bay to die for. Immaculately clean, simple, yet artistic rooms and a dinner and breakfast of incredible flavor. Don't miss this Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kass V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The simple exterior does not reflect the delights you will find inside. A book lover and a gourmet will both be in heaven. The hotel is warm and comfortable with clean and simple rooms offering great views of the gulf. The food is outstanding and the owner is interesting, charming and makes you feel at home. A great place to get away from the rat race but you won't lose any weight.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roadwizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This review is both for the inn and the food at the inn. The Inn (L’Auberge du Grand Fleuve) is literally 30 feet from the shore of the gulf of Saint Lawrence in the small picturesque Metis-sur-Mer community. We (my wife and I) made a reservation for a room for one night which automatically includes a four-course dinner for two and breakfast for two. The room itself is fairly basic (log cabin-like) but clean, homey and the beds are very comfortable. There’s no T.V. and you don’t need one. The view is something else. It’s stunning! When you enter the room you're immediately hit by a majestic view of the Saint Lawrence. The water is a perfect blue and it seems like you’re looking at the ocean, with the gentle, very gentle waves and the very enjoyable scent of the saltwater. We kept the screened patio door open to go to sleep to the sound of the waves and the wildlife. Earlier in the evening at around 7:00 p.m. we had dinner. A sunset dinner I should say. WOW! The dining room takes on a comfortable glow after the sun sets. It’s got very large windows on two sides and you almost feel like you’re in an aquarium. It’s very cozy and romantic. The food! Oh the food!! This is one of the best meals we have ever had. French chefs man the kitchen. Our understanding is that they use only the best and freshest local produce available, organic as much as possible. First the appetizer, Brandade de morue (pureed salt cod and potatoes). Perfect, melt-in-your-mouth with every bite. Perfectly seasoned. My wife said she could have eaten a second portion and I felt the same. We really took our time and enjoyed every bite along with a perfectly chambered bottle of red wine. Second course, an organic salad. A perfect balance with the vinaigrette and the various leaves and greens. Then the main course. I went for the steak and my wife had the fish. A flank steak that tasted great, cooked perfectly! Everything else in the plate was perfect. Nothing soggy. Nothing off. The steak was served on top of rosti potatoes and accompanied by organic carrots and three types of local mushrooms. My wife had the fletan fish (halibut), with steamed, lightly-buttered vegetables and bok choy. She loved it! For dessert, nougat and chocolate fondant with homemade ice cream. Heaven! After a long walk on the beach, we slept very well. Breakfast. Part buffet, part fresh made French buckwheat crepes. Real French coffee. Fresh pates, fresh eggs, fresh butter, fresh homemade bread, fresh fruit. Fresh, fresh, fresh, everything fresh. We will never forget this great experience. We will go back to L’Auberge du Grand Fleuve!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PinMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metis-sur-Mer
21.2 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#3 of 3 in Matane
222 reviews
23.1 mi away
Riotel Matane
Riotel Matane
#1 of 3 in Matane
426 reviews
12.5 mi away
Centre d'Art Marcel Gagnon
Centre d'Art Marcel Gagnon
#3 of 5 in Sainte-Flavie
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Matane
13.4 mi away
Le Gaspesiana
Le Gaspesiana
#1 of 5 in Sainte-Flavie
151 reviews
14.7 mi away
Motel Appartements Le Saint-Patrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Grand Fleuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Grand Fleuve

Address: 131 Rue Principale, Metis-sur-Mer, Quebec G0J 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Metis-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Metis-sur-Mer
Price Range: £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Grand Fleuve Hotel Metis-Sur-Mer
Auberge Du Grand Fleuve Metis-Sur-Mer, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing