We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating alternative to lying on the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cave of Zeus

Cave of Zeus
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Filoti
Attraction details
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fascinating alternative to lying on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Although there are easier routes to the cave, we followed Dieter Graf's book, Walking on Naxos, and hiked up from Filoxi around the side of the mountain. We set off wearing sturdy boots and long trousers and were very glad that we came well prepared. The ascent from the spring to the cave is steep and not for the faith-hearted. Even moving about inside the cave is tricky but definitely worth taking the time to explore, and a torch is highly recommended. Be warned however, should you choose to continue your ascent to the top of Zas mountain, this climb is even more arduous. Good fun though and great exercise. Certainly beats spending another day on the beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Greghory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Now it is a hike to get there not so much in distance but in lack of path. My suggestion is to fill up your water bottle at the fresh water spring below before you walk. I would also walk in a small group as you could easily hurt yourself and fall. But when you get there it is amazing, you will need a torch to navigate your way in and out. However I highly recommend turning them off and just looking/ listening. You may also find it helpful to be familiar with the local stories of the cave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizabethS1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tiring but worthwhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the cave.
After long walk up to the cave (I took the donkey and was still exhausted) it is then a way down to the bottom of the cave - and up again!
No guides but my 11 year old enjoyed the trip. The cave was impressive though. The walk down again not so.
Not expensive as children free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Went to hike to the Cave of Zeus which is about a 20 minute walk on the way to the summit of Mt Zeus. The hike isn't easy per se, meaning it is not a well groomed trail the entire way. There are places where careful footing is essential and there is also some clambering on rocks. My wife and I are in our late 20's and in better than average shape and we had no trouble at all.

Once you get there the cave is very neat. Wished we had flash lights to go deeper inside, although there was a bat flying around, so I'm not sure how far we would have gone anyway!

Bring water though - there's no shelter from the sun at all!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Arduous hike so be prepared”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Shame on me because I was totally unprepared. The book guide did not mention that this is serious hiking, scrambling uphill on hands and feet amid some very slippery rocks. If you don't manage to kill yourself by slipping off these, don't worry because then you'll tumble into the prickly bushes to one side, scream in pain and then lunge away over the steep cliff on the other. I took it all in stride since it was my own fault that I was inappropriately dressed for this outing. The goats were a marvel, balancing on the rocks high above us. Yep, there is a lot of goat poop too. It took us about twenty minutes to the top, going at a moderate to fast pace (in a dress and flip flops-fortunately no mishaps). We got to the top but did not enter the cave as the goats were guarding it and we did not have any lighting with us. Still, it was an adventure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Niah707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cave of Zeus also viewed

Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Cave of Zeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing