We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard walk for kids”
Review of Cave of Zeus

Cave of Zeus
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Filoti
Attraction details
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hard walk for kids”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We walked from The base along the 20 stages to the cave of Zeus. It must have been about 1 km. approximately 15 of the first 20 stages (marked with red markers or spray painted dots) were on a hand made road. Although this was uneven it was ok to walk on for kids. As others have said, tak water and the right shoes. At the 15th marker the road ended, and the rest of the walk to the cave was literally hiking on marble rocks, some of which were smoothed by the water spring in the area. Some were dangerous with a steep cliff and it was easy to see an elderly person or kids falling. The cave itself is not spectacular, but the views are. You can see all the way to the ocean that far up on the mountain. The cave is not cleaned or taken care of like an attraction, rather it is a cool place to stay and rest, but going deep inside made me afraid of snakes or spiders for our kids. The adventure was better than the attraction.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JonL123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fascinating alternative to lying on the beach”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Although there are easier routes to the cave, we followed Dieter Graf's book, Walking on Naxos, and hiked up from Filoxi around the side of the mountain. We set off wearing sturdy boots and long trousers and were very glad that we came well prepared. The ascent from the spring to the cave is steep and not for the faith-hearted. Even moving about inside the cave is tricky but definitely worth taking the time to explore, and a torch is highly recommended. Be warned however, should you choose to continue your ascent to the top of Zas mountain, this climb is even more arduous. Good fun though and great exercise. Certainly beats spending another day on the beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Greghory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Now it is a hike to get there not so much in distance but in lack of path. My suggestion is to fill up your water bottle at the fresh water spring below before you walk. I would also walk in a small group as you could easily hurt yourself and fall. But when you get there it is amazing, you will need a torch to navigate your way in and out. However I highly recommend turning them off and just looking/ listening. You may also find it helpful to be familiar with the local stories of the cave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizabethS1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tiring but worthwhile”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the cave.
After long walk up to the cave (I took the donkey and was still exhausted) it is then a way down to the bottom of the cave - and up again!
No guides but my 11 year old enjoyed the trip. The cave was impressive though. The walk down again not so.
Not expensive as children free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Went to hike to the Cave of Zeus which is about a 20 minute walk on the way to the summit of Mt Zeus. The hike isn't easy per se, meaning it is not a well groomed trail the entire way. There are places where careful footing is essential and there is also some clambering on rocks. My wife and I are in our late 20's and in better than average shape and we had no trouble at all.

Once you get there the cave is very neat. Wished we had flash lights to go deeper inside, although there was a bat flying around, so I'm not sure how far we would have gone anyway!

Bring water though - there's no shelter from the sun at all!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cave of Zeus also viewed

 
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Cave of Zeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing