We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended Romantic, Peaceful and Tranquil Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clos du Lethe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clos du Lethe
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended Romantic, Peaceful and Tranquil Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Little B&B provençal old cottage with only 6 boutique rooms (each one comes in a slightly different style) in a little hamlet just 10 minutes away from Uzès.
This hamlet - Saint-Mediers - is in fact so secluded that you will only encounter the picturesque French countryside around you with its smooth hills and vineyards, a bee or occasionally someone else who is staying at the Clos.
That's it - it IS very far out, and you WILL need a car. There is nowhere else to go in the hamlet, no restaurant or bar. You will have to drive, or stock up on French snacks from the butchers and bakers next village (one downpoint: you can fit some stuff in the mini bar fridge, but it's not huge. Eventually it would be great to have a kitchenette unit/bigger fridge, because of self-catering needs). But this on the other hand means COMPLETE peace and quiet!
All of the rooms we checked out (we've already stayed in half of them) look absolutely stunning and are flawless. All rooms have amazing spa-esque bathrooms with Roman-style stone bathtubs (you'll feel like a King/Queen) and separate rain showers. Most of the rooms even have a private terrace with another shower. WiFi is free and usually fast. The beds are huge (bigger than kingsize). It can hardly get cosier than inside this historic building with its stone walls and floors, little outlook windows and carefully fitted interior.
This is a B&B and not a hotel, so don't expect 24h service here. However, they serve delicious home-made continental breakfast in the morning, and you will meet Pierre, who runs this lovely place. He can help out with recommendations or bookings.
The infinity pool is quite fresh but stunning. You will have a view over the whole valley from it (the Clos is located on the foot of a hill). Make sure you come and have a look at it at night, too... The attention to detail in this B&B is extraordinary.
This is a very private kind of thing - you come here to enjoy the peace-&-quiet and recharge.
Tip: Drive to other towns (Montaren, 7min / Uzès, 10min) for an early dinner, come back and enjoy the views and the sunset with a glass of wine. Make sure you make a good use out of your room and terrace, too!
We cannot wait to be back here!

Room Tip: La Plume is everyone's favorite. It has a private terrace with sunbed and extra shower and overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superdupertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
93
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I think that says quite a lot. We travel all over the world but always find time to relax at Le Clos. A chic ambience coupled with a fine art collection, all found in the greatest of luxury and tranquility. Breakfast is a highlight, with the most delicious home made delicacies each morning. The owners will guide you with the best of advice regarding restaurants and activities. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually styled and gorgeous. La Suite and La Plume are particularly spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went here for the first four days of our honeymoon and had the most wonderful time. It is idyllic.

Not only is the location of this beautifully designed hotel b&b amazingly tranquil, in the midst of the rolling fields and vineyards with the pool dropping over the edge and into the cornfields below. But the service is excellent. Pierre who owns, runs and designs the property as well as L'Artemisie the highly rated hotel and gourmet restaurant in Uzes, is obviously a renowned designer and yet he's ever present in both locations and always on hand to help; with impeccable manners, yet not uncomfortably stiff. The lovely lady Monique (?) who created and served breakfast in the mornings was so friendly and polite.

The breakfast itself was exquisite. Fresh fruit salad with a mousse line of yoghurt, plenty of croissants & pain au chocolat, fresh cakes, cheeses, hams, fresh bread and butter. Fresh juices of all varieties and plenty of tea & coffee. Tres Bien!

We actually stayed in the cheapest of all the rooms, however I had not realised this as we had chosen this one together without knowing this as it looked so cool.

Up some stone steps and we're in a loft-style bedroom kitted out with computer, tv, wifi, iPod, mini fridge - but all in the most stylish way that doesnt feel at all stereotypically "hotel".
Amidst the urban industrial style lighting you're given big soft fluffy robes as well as linen ones, slippers, amazing little products. A giant bath moulded from stone and a huge walk in shower. The bed was almost a triple, with fresh linen sheets and a big soft mattress.

My husband had not slept so well in years - managing to sleep from 11pm to 11am one night!

Overall the most wonderful time was had there.

My only tip for guests who plan to stay by the pool for the duration of the day and can't do the whole day without eating anything in between, would be to ensure you have some bits and bobs from the local market or supermarket stored in your fridge for when you are peckish. As although the hotel offers guests drinks on an honesty basis there is nothing else until breakfast again the next day. Because the location is so rural you have to drive to find anything.

It would be amazing if they had a cheese plate or charcuterie plate with fresh bread available for guests to purchase and this would make Clos Du Lethe unbeatable!

Thank you Pierre!

Room Tip: they all look excellent. we stayed in the quarter and it was amazing. (if you want private outside s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flinthulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Clos is a wonderful combination of calm and beauty. My large room was well furnished with witty decor. The terrace has a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside and the infinity pool is marvelous. A warm and efficient staff is especially appealing. Breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Few hotels measure up to Clos du Lethe. A walled off property in a tiny village, nothing can describe the surprise when you walk through the hidden entrance into a sea of lavender leading up to a beautifully restored farmhouse filled with beautiful furniture and cutting edge video art. The rooms are truly uniquely furnished, the bathrooms oh so seductive and the infinity pool sparkling with stars at night. Nothing more relaxing than to lie in the oversized beanbags and to enjoy the garden at night. The breakfast is a delight and occasionally dinner parties are organized by the owner. Explore Uzès, charming Avignon and go kayaking under the Pont du Gard & be sure to spend ample time relaxing at Clos du Lethe. We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thevespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have visited now for 5 years and look forward to returning again to the unique charms of Le Clos du Lethe.It has all the delight of a private home with a most charming host. The rooms are copious and every comfort is provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Every detail is perfect, from the studied wildness of the garden and the peaceful, green view over the pool and the fields and hills to the incredible contemporary art collection and especially the beds. The custom-made linen bedding, endlessly large beds and perfect pillows made for one of the most restful nights we've ever had. The tranquility of the environment and perhaps the age old stones that have been lovingly restored must add to the calm and contribute to such a restful, luxurious stay. The breakfast, which we had on the lovely covered terrasse just off the kitchen, is a perfect mix of buttery crisp pastries and breads with mouth-watering, unusual jams and a freshly made "mousse de fromage blanc". It's all as delicious as it sounds. Thanks to Pierre and Benoit, who are wonderful hosts that make you feel like you are sharing their home (a very beautiful one!). This will be one of our regular getaways.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are gorgeous, with different themes and feels. L'Africaine has its own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shermok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
2.4 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 12 in Uzes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Clos de Pradines
Le Clos de Pradines
#1 of 1 in Saint-Quentin-la-Poterie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chambres de l'Artemise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monte Arena
Monte Arena
#2 of 5 in Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Maison d'Ulysse
La Maison d'Ulysse
#1 of 2 in Baron
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.4 mi away
L'Albiousse
L'Albiousse
#3 of 43 in Uzes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clos du Lethe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos du Lethe

Property: Clos du Lethe
Address: route de Saint Mediers | Montaren et Saint Mediers, 30700 Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers, Uzes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes > Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montaren-et-Saint-Mediers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Clos Du Lethe Hotel Montaren-Et-Saint-Mediers
Clos Du Lethe France/Montaren-Et-Saint-Mediers, Uzes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing