We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect long lefts, delicious cuisine and oceanfront balconies on every room.....need I say more?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sinaloa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cardon Adventure Resort
Ranked #70 of 143 Hotels in Sinaloa
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My fiancé and I recently had the opportunity to travel to this amazing hotel one hour north of Mazatlan. To merely say that we'd visit again doesn't truly capture the enthusiasm we felt about every aspect of our experience.

Upon arriving into Mexico, guests are provided transportation to the resort from the airport, which was very convenient. We were greeted with friendly smiles from all of the staff and guests we were meeting for the first time. The accommodations are superb, but the vibe is very laid back. This boutique hotel allows you privacy in your rooms, but also encourages a sense of community with your fellow guests, as you share all of your meals together. Every room has a balcony overlooking the Pacific, so even if you are not a surfer, you can enjoy reading a book in the canopy or watching the surfers in the water.

As a surfer, I was amazed with the wave quality and consistency. As a female surfer, I was even more exited by the uncrowded, friendly lineup. If you surfer girls are sick of crowded breaks teeming with testosterone, this is your place. And if your surfer guys are sick of it too, I can't think of a better place to enjoy great waves, amazing food, and friendly staff. Thanks to Jeff, Omar, and the rest of the crew for making our experience so memorable. Oh, and yes, we will be back!

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean, so there isn't really a
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren_jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I took our 6 yr old daughter down to the resort for the first time this past July and we will be coming back next year and the year after that and so on and so on.....The resort is beautiful the food is great the staff is great and the surf is insane. I would not change a thing. We felt safe the whole time. Don't believe what the news is saying about the Mazatlan area. My husband caught dinner within 5 minutes the first time he decided to cast a line. My daughter had an awesome time in the pool and on the beach. I think that we each gained 5 lbs while we were there. They feed you and keep on feeding you until you feel like you are going to burst! Can't wait until next year. - Eileen F.

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I have been going here with a group of friends for a surf trip every summer for 4 years and they really stepped it up this year. The service, food, and staff have always been amazing, but they have built an entirely new facility. Top notch. The pool overlooks the break. The rooms are simple but have all of the amenities, flat panels, dvd players, stocked fridge, etc. Beautiful bathrooms with lots of hot water.

This place is really in the middle of nowhere so having all of these little modern perks is great. It is really a place for people who can be happy with a surf, a book, a pool and a gorgeous sunset. (And I hear there is good fishing if that's what you are into.)

What it really comes down to for me with this place is the staff. They are the best.

Room Tip: better sunset views upstairs. Better access to the pool downstairs. Small place. All of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We went with a group of friends (14 total) to Cardon Adventure Resort for a surf-trip. There were no traveler reviews or pics on Tripadvisor so I didn't know what to expect "exactly". Well I have to say, that I was surprised at how nice it was! First of all, the resort is small with only 7 rooms. Each room is suited with two double-beds for double occupancy so you can "bunk" with a good surf-buddy or significant-other, and have privacy.

Simple but large air-conditioned rooms with huge bathrooms! (large showers) Speaking of showers, the water pressure was great & no backed-up plumbing. It's also worth noting how clean the rooms smelled. No moldy-musty smell, just really fresh. Daily housekeeping included fresh towels & bottled water amenity. No in-room TV or telephone, but it was a non-issue for us since we had our own laptops, dvd players & mp3 players -we were beyond connected- Plus, the main palapa-bar-area had a big screen TV w/cable, and computer w/internet service.

Since this was an All-Inclusive, I didn't have any real expectation for "Great Food" or "Great Service". Again, I was surprised at how good the food was. No "Gut-filler-buffet-junk". Their offerings consisted of the freshest ingredients with a gourmet flair, and attention to presentation (example: stuffed chicken breast w/pine nuts, cilantro & currants in a pomegranete reduction sauce) Each meal accompanied by salads & fresh juices. This was food that you could definately "WRITE HOME ABOUT".

The All-Inclusive included "24-hour kitchen privledges" of cereal (granola, raisin bran, corn flakes), juice, milk, fresh fruit, and peanut butter & jelly sandwiches -just go down to the kitchen anytime & serve yourself!-

**Ice cold beer, sodas/gatorade, candy bars & prepackaged snacks were available 24-hours for an extra $1-$2 (honor system: keep track of what you consume & pay when you check out)**

The cook also prepared daily snacks (example: sweet/savory tamales w/condiments), and appetizers every evening before sunset (example: blue-corn chicken quesedillas) We were impressed by the wait-staff, and their excellent service added to our dining experience. My favorites were the A.M. wait-shift, and housekeeping staff.

This beachfront resort is known primarily to "surfers" for its left-breaking surf points, but advertises as an "Adventure Resort", offering big-game fishing excursions to nearby Lake El Salto. My husband says that Lake El Salto is one of the best Bass fishing lakes in the world! Stoked on that, he and a bunch guys in our group booked a 4-hour trip (late afternoon, 4-7:00p.m.) Unfortunately the trip was a "bust". They arrived at the lake only to find that their boat wasn't working, and the boat driver seemed disinterested in fixing it since he had already worked all-day, and was too tired to care. Back at the resort, Omar (the owner) apologized for the trouble, and booked another fishing trip for the next day, free of charge. Same-Boat Same-Driver, but the boat seemed "improved" from the previous day. The same couldn't be said for the boat drivers attitude.

My husband did catch a few Bass, but noticed that everyone around their boat was catching "trophy sized" Bass, and lots of'em!!. The driver ignored their requests to move to different spots on the lake, limiting them to the outer edge of shallow water.

In all fairness to anyone relying on this review, I can only give Cardon 4-stars because the fishing excursion was less than satisfactory, and took up time that would have otherwise been used for surfing. A "fix" on Omars part that includes better boat maintenance & operation will make this the true "Adventure Resort" that it's meant to be, worthy of 5-stars..

The waves at Cardon are excellent & constant (if you're goofy-foot, you'll love this place!), and I will recommend it as a Surf-Destination to anyone who asks. Lending to the resorts appeal is its remote location (1 hour north of Mazatlan). The waves were never crowded, and we had the beach all to ourselves. It's the perfect place to relax & do nothing if you're not much of a surfer (like me). I managed to squeak-in two surf sessions during my stay, but I spent most of my time just sitting in a hammock reading & listening to the waves, and exploring the beach, combing it for shells. LOVED IT!!

Much thanks to Jeff (our host for the week), and Omar & his staff. All made us feel "at home", and were always on hand to take care of our needs. We had a great time, and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank go-left
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Philipp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sinaloa hotels
76 mi away
Ibis Culiacan
Ibis Culiacan
#7 of 29 in Culiacan
109 reviews
191.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Los Mochis
Hotel Ibis Los Mochis
#3 of 18 in Los Mochis
137 reviews
47.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#26 of 80 in Mazatlan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
331 reviews
77.1 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Culiacan
Hotel Lucerna Culiacan
#2 of 29 in Culiacan
284 reviews
184.5 mi away
Hotel Marina Topolobampo
Hotel Marina Topolobampo
#1 of 1 in Topolobampo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardon Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardon Adventure Resort

Address: north of Mazatlan, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sinaloa
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sinaloa
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Cardon Adventure Hotel Sinaloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing