We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acapuloco's best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol y Arena Beach Hostel
Ranked #21 of 165 Speciality Lodging in Guerrero
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Acapuloco's best kept secret”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stay - 4 nights March 2012

Located on one of Mexico's longest and most unspoit beaches around 30 kms outside of Acapulco. The hotel is perfect for those seeking a natural, unspoilt retreat with personalized service by the Pilar the owner who goes out of her way to make sure you want for the nothing.
The rooms are clean and comfortable but the huge bonus is the sound of the waves when you lie in bed at night sending you off to a deep peaceful sleep. Daytime options are limited at the resort but with a swimming pool, sun loungers and hammocks on the beach this resort is really designed for those wanting rest and relaxation.
There is a small shop just outside the hotel and a restaurant next door so bring food and drink supplies before you arrive however if you run short Pilar is more than helpful in assisting with anything. Cooking is done in the outdoor kitchen in the large garden and it is a great place to meet similar people looking to get away from it all.
You can reach Acapulco for 100 pesos and it takes around 45 minutes but the highlight for me was that the resort was not in Acapulco itself but you want some entertainment then it is easy accessible. At some point Pia de Cuesta will become and an extension of Acapulco's concrete jungle so go now and enjoy a piece of Mexican heaven.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Sol y Arena is paradise!! I was looking for a place to relax and decompress and it was perfect. Pillar is an awesome host and it did feel like home (wish I could have stayed for 4 months)! Its large enough that you can have time to yourself but cozy enough that you can interact with other travelers. I will definitely visit again and recommend it all my friends...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is one of those places with magic in it , its green gardens, bright sand and original character makes this piece of earth the perfect excuse to totally relax and enjoy the beach and the nature around.
A family business run by the owners make you feel right at home and its private pool and beach gives you infinite possibilities to have a real great time.
A bonfire on the beach or a proper traditional pescado a la talla , a deep swim on the sea , you name it .
If you are looking to get out in a paradise this is it !!!

Loved the place

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

A wonderful place - relaxed, simple and highly recommended. Pila and her staff made us extremely welcome and we were treated like house guests rather than tourists.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Came for 1 month & stayed for 4..fell in love with the pristine beach,the lovely family that
owns the property,the lazy laid back way of life,the dogs,the dolphin & whale shows.
Clean casitas,clean kitchen,beautiful grounds.shall be returning!! Best shopping is in Acapulco for food but there is a market in Pie de la Cuesta for fruit & vegs..

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Beachdog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I came to stay at Sol Y Arena for two days and stayed for a month and this seems to happen to most people who come to stay here> During my stay I meet two people from Quebec who came for a few weeks and stayed four months an amazing Argentinian (you know who you are) who came for a few days and spent the remainder of his trip here. It is just such a beautiful place to stay, the wonderful location, right on the beach with is pretty much your own, were you watch dolphins and whales daily. I even saw baby dolphins and that was pretty breath taking. The gardens are lush and green with a very nice pool to laze around, the yellow posada's are all directly facing the sea and very clean and really nicely decorated and you have a great big pallapa to cook in and there is a bbq that can be used as well. There is a special energy here too....its just so tranquile and you feel like you really have discoverd something that other people have yet to. Pilar who ownes the place is a wonderful host, who is funny and kind and makes you feel like you are staying in a home away from home but well it's more than that ofcourse. She can tell you the best places to eat fresh fish, tell you the best place to get a boat trip around the fresh water lagon and share an evening chatting and playing skipbo. I spent mornings walk the beach with her super friendly 5 dogs who play with you and and sleep outside your casa at night to make you feel extra welcome. I can't recommend staying here enough and don't expect to want to leave because people rarely do!

Room Tip: stock up on food at the supermarket or hire a cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pookabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I spent an amazing time at this place. Wonderful people and the food around the area is gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guerrero hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel baXar
Hotel baXar
#2 of 6 in Pie de la Cuesta
185 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Quinta Karla Pie de la Cuesta
12.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#17 of 168 in Acapulco
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 168 in Acapulco
304 reviews
11.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
0.2 mi away
Condominio Agave del Mar
Condominio Agave del Mar
#1 of 3 in Coyuca de Benitez
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Arena Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Arena Beach Hostel

Property: Sol y Arena Beach Hostel
Address: Pie De La Curesta, Camino Barra de Coyuca 9.6km, 39400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 165 Speciality Lodging in Guerrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol y Arena is an amazing oceanfront Hostel. This unique hostel (10,000 sqm) is a perfect place to relaxed in a cozy atmosphere, a paradise on a virgin beach. There is a lovely pool and beautiful gardens with hammocks to relax to the sound of the waves.The dorms are spacious, clean and have double and single beds. They are individually decorated and have en suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sol y Arena Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Arena Beach Hostel Mexico/Guerrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing