We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want a place with an african theme, don't look further..Buccaners is the answer!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
1 review
“You want a place with an african theme, don't look further..Buccaners is the answer!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a great place it is..!! The new ensuites are to die for. The food, the staff, the clean linen...I would count till the morning comes.
My husband and I had a wonderful stay. Everyone has a smile on their faces. The service at the bar, the performance by Richard is something else...Thumbs up to u Richard...I remember how I danced to your beat...it was definitely a wonderful experience for us...expect us soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi there!

Wow - a 5 star review! Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor - it's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm sure we'll see you again soon!

Kind regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    108
    40
    12
    13
See reviews for
33
147
53
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

TOPS:
definitely the view is the most astonishing thing about Buccaneers! You can look over the whole lagoon onto the ocean. Next thing to mention are the free activities everyday which is mostly volleyball but there is ALWAYS free wine ;) The staff seems nice and fun and it is a surprisingly good place to party and with a lot of other activities in the region (two game reserves, cultural tours, horse rides, surfing lessons... )

FLOPS:
compared to the view the road which leads to Buccaneers is probably one of the worst I've seen so far in South Africa! 1,5 km but you should be able to master it with a normal car, though no garuantee that your tires survive it^^ (in the time I was there, surprisingly I haven't heard about popped tires)
Unfortunately the bar is quite expensive compared to other places.

All in all a very beautiful backpacker that has a lot to offer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blownfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi there!

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with others on TripAdvisor - we really do appreciate all feedback on our backpackers.

I'm glad you were able to take full advantage of our free activities (and wine!) and appreciated how much there is to do around here - Chintsa really is an awesome spot to experience South Africa!

The road down to Buccaneers is dirt road (with those famous Eastern Cape potholes!) but small cars are fine to go down there - there is no need for 4x4. In fact, I drive down it often in my little Yaris and have had no problems with flat tires. There are definitely worse roads in the Eastern Cape but they tend to be part of the experience along the Wild Coast - worth following to find those peaceful gems at the end of the road!

As far as bar prices go I am a little surprised at your comment - our prices are very competitive in comparison to other local spots. But thank you - I know that price is really important when travelling and I will pass your thoughts on to management.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in SA and that you will stay with us again next time!

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Bucceneers is a fantastic place!
Awesome location, you cant get much better.
Fantastic accommodation, comfy,, clean, nice bedding, a really good shower with hot water even though it was busy. Our room was quiet even though we had neighbours.
Lots to see and do, there are plently of free activies and some that you would need to pay for.
We had dinner, it was really delicious and good value for money. There is an awesome vibey bar, great beach, bucceneers is paradise.
The staff are really friendly, helpful and just a delight! Booking was easy, I love this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi there!

It's great to receive such an awesome review - thank you for taking the time to share your positive thoughts on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a double room with shared bathroom. So we were in a bungalow quite a walk from the reception/bar restaurant & communal kitchen. The only problem with this was it was on a very steep hill and heavy backpacks isn't a great combination. The path/roads are not lit up at night and have many pot holes so it is pretty dangerous. The double room was great but the kitchen was very poorly equipped. The kettle was not electric & had to be heated on the gas stove. But as non smokers we didn't have a light for it so we borrowed some from the communal kitchen. We came prepared knowing there were no shops near by but the couple we were sharing the bungalow with didn't so had to use the restaurant on site. The gas oven kept going out so we ended up having to take our food up to the communal kitchen.
If your looking for a quite couple of drinks in the bar. This is probably not the place for you.. It seems a bit of a party place for locals so being so far away from the bar was a bonus.
The view from our bungalow was gorgeous beaches and the sea. Perfect :)
as for the staff we didn't have much dealings with them as we only stayed over night.

Room Tip: The view from the bungalows are beautiful but the hike to them is not so great especially in the dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Buccaneers on TripAdvisor, I'm glad you enjoyed your room and our perfect view! :)

Buccaneers is indeed spread over a large property which has often earned us the name "Backpackers Village" - this mean that some guests rooms and some of our cottages are situated a few minutes walk from reception (and up our hill!). Some guests see this as a positive as it allows them to escape into the tranquility of the property if and when they want to as well as the option to be a part of the activity when they want to be.

I'm glad that you were happy with your room. Our kitchens do try to provide all the basic necessities, including matches for the gas stove but these do often go missing. Thank you for bringing up the issue with the stove - I will pass your concerns on the management who will check the facilities asap.

I hope that you will consider us for your next stay in Chintsa,

Kind regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Buccaneers quickly grew to become one of my favorite spots in the world. The view is amazing, the staff is amazing, the overall atmosphere of this place is simply magical. Bucs is a great place to stay even if you are not a backpacker. I recommend staying here with your family and friends, or significant other- even solos will enjoy their time here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryCianciolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor - I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us, we agree that Buccaneers is a magical place - somewhere to really fall in love with.

Hope to have you with us again soon!

Kind regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

What a great place that offers everything, all in close proximity, yet in a rustic, off-the-beaten track (read bumpy road) near East london. We were two families, booking two separate spaces the day before arrival. The Price family and staff are friendly, courteous and keen to make sure that guests enjoy their stay. The setting on the mouth of the chintsa river, with the wide open beach ahead, is incredible - there are sand dunes to slide down, waves to surf on, water to swim in, leaky canoes to paddle in, horses to ride on, cycle paths to explore, bird hides, and lots more. A lively place, there is bands and troubadours for party animals, but you can also escape to your own quiet spot (tip- stay down the other side from the bar area). a treat, real eastern cape paradise.

Room Tip: rooms down towards the beach are quieter, away from the bar area. also, the dirt road into buccaneer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetheard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Buccaneers on TripAdvisor, I'm really glad that you had a good stay with us and I will pass your compliments onto our staff and management.

We hope to see you again here soon!

Kind regards,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here in a double room in one of the cottages for 3 nights and shared a bathroom with the guests from the dorm upstairs. Facilities were clean but quite basic. The door to our bedroom didn't lock and one of the power points in the room did not work.

The service was good as was the breakfast and the traditional south African braii night.

Could be a little noisy at times but that's to be expected when you have a dorm upstairs from you.

It was quite difficult to get to place and wished we'd had a 4WD as the road was bumpy and quite steep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CintsaSunshine, Public Relations Manager at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review our backpackers on TripAdvisor - your feedback is really appreciated as we use it to improve the experience that we provide to future guests.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed the food that was served and found our staff helpful.

We have had comments over the last few months about our budget double or twin rooms only being able to lock from the inside with a latch - we are in the process of upgrading all of our rooms and are seriously considering upgrading these rooms to a better locking system as it has proved to concern several guests.

I will also ensure that the power points are all checked asap.

Our road has been damaged by the recent rains and is in need of some work - it is an expensive job and we are planning to service the road before high season at the end of the year. It is accessible with 2x4 and does not require a 4x4 but I would recommend for guests to take it slowly (and take the opportunity to enjoy the view!).

Thanks again for your comments, I hope you will stay again with us soon,

April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.9 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
293 reviews
23.1 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
391 reviews
9.6 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arendsnes Holiday and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers

Property: Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Address: | Cintsa West, Chintsa 5217, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chintsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buccaneers, set in beautiful indigenous gardens with magnificent views of the Cintsa Bay and lagoon, has been a haven for travelers for the last 17 years. With its great location and wide range of accommodation offering from camping to en-suite rooms and facilities like a swimming pool, free canoes, volleyball court & (of course) the beach right on its doorstep. Buccaneers has been Fair Trade certified and is intricately involved in local community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneers Lodge And Backpackers
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing