We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful area and great spot to camp for a few days. Enjoyed the beach, kayak, and pool. This area of coast has 18 km of beach walking opportunity. We wanted to do the bike tour and surfing lesson, but the trips didn't have enough people to go.

Room Tip: We camped- plenty of room to spread out. Communal kitchen was well stocked for self catering and br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneersCintsa, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our campsite.
Thanks for the great review
It is quite lovely, with lots of nature about and has quick and easy access to our beautiful beach. We hope to have you back soon in the future.
Best regards - the buccs Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had the best weekend together and it will be a memorial time and place for many years to come!
Nothing but praises from point of reservation to returning home!
Thumbs up to Michelle & Shaun for their great service and warm laughs!
The ambiance is so relaxing, the whole facility well maintained and clean, the food and beverages are excellent!
And to top it all- it did not cost us an arm or a leg!
KEEP IT UP!

Room Tip: Camping site is AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneersCintsa, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

wow what a wonderful review you have written for us on your recent stay at buccaneers.
Thank you.
shaun and Michelle are just amazing and i will make sure to let them know your comments.
I see this as the start to great new friendship! as we will for sure see you again in the future.
all the best - the Buccs Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Definitely recommendable! Good atmosphere, beautiful location, nice canoeing, nice surf :) ! Unfortunately wifi wasn't for free and drive way was not very "small car friendly" - deep potholes and high bumbs on the road which we barely couldn't pass.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KatrinMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneersCintsa, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review of your stay at buccaneers. we love to hear about your stay and find the comments helpful to improve future guests stays.
We are VERY pleased to say that we have recently upgraded our entry road and are in the process of re-doing our internal roads - so hopefully we will be seeing happier cars in the future. We hope to see you again someday in the future at buccaneers, and enjoy your future travels. cheers
the Buccs team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A lovely spot! We really enjoyed the great views from our en-suite double room. The beach is superb with miles of lovely sand and hardly a soul in sight! A bit windy some days. Buccaneers was a great place to stay - we came on the Baz Bus - in this remote part of the world. We did find the hill a bit steep up to the bar and eating area but I'm sure it helped to keep us fit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneersCintsa, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

thanks for your lovely review of buccaneers.!..and goodness yes is the hill steep,, but great things await you at the top.. and help to make the delicious meals and great beer as little more guilt free... we hope to see you again at buccaneers in the future. kind regards -the buccs team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I always want to visit new places, but Buccaneers is one of those that you just keep coming back to. After our disastrous experience at Sugar Shack, we phoned Buccaneers & were so relieved that they had space for us over the busy Christmas period. It was bustling but there was still lots of space for our big tent amongst the trees. The staff are great & always encouraging you to participate in volleyball & the like. We met aquaintances there who went for the Xmas dinner & said it was fabulous. Security is not wonderful. Met a homeless guy who likes to help himself to the communal fridge, but he offered no resistance when asked to leave. Still, would be nice if it weren't up to the campers to evict unwanted guests.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneersCintsa, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

thanks for your lovely review of buccs.. and for your honest comment about the food going from the camp site. It is so important for us to hear such things to try and keep on top of each problem.. The guy in question lives next door on a neighboring farm, and is a family member of some of our staff....and has, on occasion, been known to come round looking for food...he is totally harmless, and we are aware of this...and have our security guards on the look out for him to send him home when they see him on the property. We do tho apologize for the inconvenience to your stay!

we hope too have you back again this coming year! so if you choose buccs for your next holiday, be sure to book in advance... have a great year and see you again soon.
kind regards
Sal and the buccs team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I would ask maybe for other rooms than the shared cottages. They were smelly and the blankets smelled intensively. this is mainly due to the lack of air and increase humidity in the rooms. This needs to change!

However, the area and the place itself with the social area is amazing. Excellent view, great service & food as well as an amazing bar!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CintsaSunshine, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

hi thanks you so much for your honest review of your stay at Buccaneers. We are pleased that in general, you enjoyed your stay with us, and have noted your complaints, and will definitely look into your issues with the damp and musty rooms... if possible, would there be a way to let me know what room/cottage you where in, so i can best rectify the situation ?
we hope you have further good travels in south Africa. take care. sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Buccaneers is one of the places where you always would go back to. It is a place where one feels at home and where one could easily spend a week or more. The dorm was clean and comfortable and the view over the lagoon and the beach was stunning. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. They have great activities on offer and also let everyone know about them not like other places. All in all one can say that it is more like a hotel than a backpacker. I wish I had had more time and could have stayed more than 2 nights!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CintsaSunshine, Owner at Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

thank you fro your wonderful review of your stay at buccaneers recently. We really enjoyed having you here, and KNOW that we will see you again sometime in the future. happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.9 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
313 reviews
23.1 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
418 reviews
16.1 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
16.1 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers

Address: | Cintsa West, Chintsa 5217, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chintsa
Price Range: £8 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buccaneers, set in beautiful indigenous gardens with magnificent views of the Cintsa Bay and lagoon, has been a haven for travelers for the last 17 years. With its great location and wide range of accommodation offering from camping to en-suite rooms and facilities like a swimming pool, free canoes, volleyball court & (of course) the beach right on its doorstep. Buccaneers has been Fair Trade certified and is intricately involved in local community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers Hotel Cintsa
Buccaneers Lodge And Backpackers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing