We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Most beautiful, colourful room with view on the lagune. Very good value for money. Dinner also lovely and cheap. Fun people, lovely staff. 100% perfect!!! Recommendable for couples, families and people travelling alone. Would love to come back here one day!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Nancy S I visited for 3 nights in July and was so impressed with this place.
Meg was great and very welcoming. The food was excellent and abundant and
was clean and attended to.. The beach and lagoon was great and a perfect start
to our backpacking holiday.Our room was stunning and the view great overlooking
the lagoon. Bed was comfortable and warm.All safe parking and loved the experience.
Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nanspans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Amazing room with a view of the lagoon and the ocean from the cottage that we rented. We had one of the new cottages for two people, called Lungi; it was decorated with modern, clean, trendy decor ...

ALL staff-- from Meg at the front desk to various bartenders on site to surf instructors -- were friendly, accommodating, and helpful.

The small bar on site was a great place to talk with other guests and to watch the world cup action. Beers were also cheap here, about $2.70USD for 20oz local brew bottles (after the rand conversion).

Meg also recommended that we see this local micro-brew nearby, about 2 miles away, in Chintsa East. It was phenomenal: Emerald Isle Brewery (most South African beers are weak, like 4% abv, and made by large chains--ugh, so it was great to finally have some good beer from a brew pub!). We plan to return to South Africa and spend many more nights at this lodging in the next few years!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We travelled to chintsa because we heard it was a marvellous place to visit. it was the 1st stop in our trip and we were blown away by the backpackers,service,view,room and food :). we couldn't have chosen a better place to start our trip up the coast than Buccaneers, one of the things that made us not want to leave the place was the food :D haha. we would any day of the week come back to you guys and we wished we could've stayed longer. keep up the great work guys!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jay3991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Its your typical backpackers where service isn't really a priority because everyone is too chilled out to care. We got a warm welcome but our room wasn't ready and were told to head off to the beach while it got cleaned up. This was 3pm and we only got into our room at 4:30 which isn't good enough when you've just driven 8hrs. The dinner "buffet" left us still hungry. We sat around waiting for the office to open in the morning so we could check out. Overall the rooms were neat and the location and the views made up for everything else.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chuku2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I travelled in low season so you have to expect that most places on the backpacker route are going to be quiet. I did however find that the accommodation was excellent, simple but clean. I was lucky enough to stay in one of the cottages which was very comfortable, but also saw the new double rooms which looked exquisite and I think are excellent value for money.
Dinners & breakfast were delicious, great value with very generous portions.
The staff were brilliant, very helpful and interesting to chat to which I think is really important when there aren't a lot of other travellers around. They seemed genuinely interested in socialising with the guests and went out of their way to assist me with getting on activities.
I would highly recommend both the cultural tour and the horse ride (despite not really being a horsey person).
Wouldn't hesitate to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I came to Cintsa because I wanted to do several of the lodge's activities, including the mountain biking and township tour. Sadly, all of the lodge's guides were at the tourism conference in Durban, so none of these signature activities were offered, meaning we had to make our own fun with a few self-guided activities. Considering Cintsa's relative isolation, I feel that it was irresponsible of the BP staff to not inform us of this important detail when we made our reservation. That said, the beach is beautiful, the river is nice for a paddle, the lunch is tasty and the bar gets pretty busy.

One other point to mention- my friend had money stolen from her wallet inside the lodge's safe. Also, while Cintsa is apparently partly community owned, I still found that the Bucc's team was largely split along racial lines between office staff and cleaning/grounds staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dha10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.9 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
334 reviews
16.1 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
265 reviews
23.1 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
0.8 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arendsnes Holiday and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers

Address: | Cintsa West, Chintsa 5217, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chintsa
Price Range: £22 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buccaneers, set in beautiful indigenous gardens with magnificent views of the Cintsa Bay and lagoon, has been a haven for travelers for the last 17 years. With its great location and wide range of accommodation offering from camping to en-suite rooms and facilities like a swimming pool, free canoes, volleyball court & (of course) the beach right on its doorstep. Buccaneers has been Fair Trade certified and is intricately involved in local community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers Hotel Cintsa
Buccaneers Lodge And Backpackers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing