We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Certificate of Excellence
East London
1 review
“nice stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Good food. Good service. Nice rooms. But the adress which we have got from easy to book was nor right. The city was nor east london. so we have driven much too far

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank jantine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    114
    35
    13
    2
See reviews for
111
164
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We literally called 30 minutes before we arrived on their doorstep and the service from Crawfords from phone-up to check-out was: impeccable!

Cintsa (formerly Chintsa) East is just far enough out of East London to have that homely, villagey feel yet retain some of that mainstream energy and comfort that we've become familiar with on our travels through South Africa.

To be fair, I picked Crawfords off Google Maps owing to its proximity to the seaside.

On arrival, it was quite literally a large village with lots and lots of thatched houses (belonging to other businesses and residents, I assumed?) and a crazy wandering drive up and down to the reception area (follow the carved, wood arrows and you can't get lost).

We were showed into our room and walked through the frosty glass-paneled front door and immediately looked across the generously sized room through the massive sliding glass door to a beautiful view of the indigenous forest and the Indian Ocean - with our own private veranda to boot.

The room has all the amenities you could wish for a short (or long) stay. Digital safe, A/C, refrigerator, satellite tv, ironing board, workstation, couch, fan, blowdryer - you name it. The only thing wanting in my opinion was wi-fi.

From the room you could walk off your veranda directly to the the beach down a private wood walkway. One could also access the pool and dining area quite easily from the rooms too.

On our night there, power abruptly went out early in the evening leaving us taken aback, albeit briefly. We ventured out to the dining area guided by our lamps and were met by a candlelit restaurant teeming with friendly waitresses.

Dinner was absolutely delicious, (not to mention unexpectedly romantic), and the staff made the best of what would initially have seemed like a bad situation to any traveler. Five stars to the waitresses and kitchen staff for their energy, attention to detail and piping hot (and delectable) menu.

Warmed by our dinner and the vibrant atmosphere, hubby and I stepped out into the breezy night and enjoyed what I can only describe as sensory overload - for city slickers like ourselves: a moonless sky teeming with countless billions of stars sweeping the sky above us, the sound of the night sea crashing on the beach below us and the beautiful wintry wind biting at our bewlidered faces... we could feel nature through every fiber of our being - now that's not something that happens every day to either of us! And we most certainly would not have been able to see or enjoy it as much had power been back at that time. Wonderful!

Breakfast the following morning was yet another adventure - a troop of Vervet monkeys ranging from timid babies to brazen, bigger adults, visited the sunny balcony outside the dining area. We moved tables to simply watch in sheer fascination (while wondering how on earth they had been so well trained as to never dare sneak round and actually enter the dining area) as they grabbed slices of bread from staff before moving on to play elsewhere.

Check-out was simple and quick and as we drove slowly back to the main road, we were absolutely glad we'd chosen Cintsa, and Crawfords as our stopover point.

What I particularly enjoyed in addition were the extended meal as well as check in/out times.

Their rates are great value for money and we were thrilled with the level of attention and service we received on our brief stay - not too much, and not too little, just perfect!

There are of course a few suggestions here and there as to what could be improved upon, but these are few and far between such as the layout of the bathroom towels vs loo brush, the T.V. remote whose volume button is kinda kooky, and the bathroom window maybe requiring a little curtain perhaps? (its frosted, but maybe that's my paranoia talking)

One can clearly see that care and effort has gone into the design and content of the rooms. And although you won't spot fancy designer decor lying around, it certainly left us more than happy.

Crawfords is a well-rounded venue accommodating individual travelers, couples and families.

An absolute must, and an absolute bargain if you're looking for a beachfront hideaway in the East London area without having to be in the city itself.

Room Tip: Nothing beats the upper floor for a killer sea view, but the convenience of a beach walk direct from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urijnaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Overall, this lodge is very nice - the location is fantastic, the buildings are beautiful, the staff is very friendly. The beach is one of the best I have seen in South Africa! I can highly recommend this place for a few days of relaxing.

But there are a few things to improve also:
The food is quite repetitive - its good, but it tends to be similar every day. And we also disliked the many warning signs which tell you what and what not to do around the whole lodge.

But most of our complaints go to the room (703) - so please note this applies only to the room we stayed in (room 703). The bathroom door does not have handles on the inside and is difficult to close. And there was mold in the bathroom. In some nights there was a very loud noise from the bathroom, like a pump. It woke us up several times. And the floor carpets in the room smelled so horrid that we put them on the terrace. And last, the toilet brush was broken.

Room Tip: I would not recommend room 703, see above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortsel, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for one night on our trip through South Africa, early April, heading for Durban...
What a surprise to find this hidden place, down a steep hillroad towards the beach.
It is a little difficult to find, though, and as you're almost there, don't hesitate: it is indeed down that steep and narrow access-slope!
Once arrived, we were pleased to discover this nice cottage-style lodge, with spacious flats, most of them with stunning views and a balcony-deck to sit outside.
The bathrooms (at least ours) are minimal , though... hidden in/behind a wardrobe, not spacious at all!
Friendly (family-)staff, buffet diners and breakfast; good value for money.
Private path further down, with access to a very nice beach.
Would have liked to stay one day/night more, but our schedule didn't allow! Distances in South Africa are large!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I can not rave about Crawford's enough, not only are they my first choice for any holiday but it is my only choice! Their service goes beyond my requirements and they did an AMAZING job with my wedding! Staff is very helpfull and best of all friendly! They catered to my every wish without any questions. This place is magical with endless beaches and views one can only dream off!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Had a great time...Everything about this place, from the location to the friendly staff, was just top class... Will definitely be back!!!

Thanks for a great holiday

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Having been all over South Africa in several B&B, Crawfords was the least favourable!

The location is great, however rooms and furniture are worn out and need a fresh up.

When we arrive we were given a room without any seaview and with a big window where everybody could look directly in our room. Bath was tiny and mediocre!

After discussion with the staff another, better, but far smaller room (with seaview) was granted to us.

Service and attention of the staff was average and nothing special. So was breakfast. Also the wifi is only available in the bar, which is below average for a four star ressort.

Hotel could do much better if rooms would be refurbished and renewed, staff would be trained and service and especially food would be upgraded!

Note: For business I travel appr. 150 days abroard and though have a good inside in tourism/hotel industry.

Would NOT recommend the Crawford's again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wagnerlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.1 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
301 reviews
22.3 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
404 reviews
8.9 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
2.5 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
10.5 mi away
Areena Riverside Resort
Areena Riverside Resort
#1 of 45 in East London
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crawford's Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crawford's Beach Lodge

Property: Crawford's Beach Lodge
Address: 42 Steenbras Drive | Chintsa East, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crawford's Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crawford's Beach Lodge offers barefoot luxury and elegant thatched accommodation for the most discerning of traveller and conference organizer, who is looking for fun, sun and relaxation. Crawford's Beach Lodge is nestled in the middle of the beautiful Chintsa Bay on the Wild Coast, surrounded by rolling hills, lush tropical beach forests and the warm Indian Ocean. The perfect venue for your honeymoon or even for the more adventurous, wanting to explore the many beautiful treasures the Wild Coast has to offer. Our location is also a malaria free area. We are approximately 42km from East London, the surfside city famous for its Nahoon Reef. Treat yourself and the special person in your life to a romantic getaway. We also offer Spa Treatments at our Senses Spa, with a great ocean view. Stay in a luxury thatched rooms, relax on the deck while you sip on champagne watching the sun go down over the shimmering ocean. Come and share our slice of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crawford's Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crawford`s Beach Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing